We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Toren”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Toren in the Royal bridal suite. Although the room is impressive it is a bit "Gothic" and could do with a bit of a revamp, tired black plastic orchids need replacing with something a bit more appealing. There is a roof top garden just outside the room with seating but no proper access, air conditioning and irrigation pipes spoil what could be a nice additional feature to the room.
The stairs down to the impressive bathroom complete with double jacuzzi are steep and narrow, if you are not steady on your feet don't book this room.
The only other bad point is that this room and some others are in an annexe a few houses away from the main hotel so you do feel a little left out.
The reception and other staff are very welcoming and very helpful.
The bed is absolutely huge and very comfortable.
Take an Ipod with you, there are plenty of ipod docks in the room. The television channel choice is pathetic.
Watch out for the people on bikes in Amsterdam, they give way to nobody including pedestrians. You always feel you are going to get slammed into by someone on a bike, very annoying!!!
Take a good map with you, you will get lost otherwise as everywhere looks the same.
It is a beautiful city though and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Talk to the hotel before booking your room and make sure it is suitable for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark503900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed in the Garden Room in celebration of our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Everything about this hotel is first class...from the decor to the pleasant, helpful reception and bar staff. We had breakfast each morning which was excellent value. The Garden Room option is expensive, but very private and luxurious, and fitted with the deepest spa bath we've ever seen (watch you don't drown!) On our anniversary, we were welcomed back to our room with a card, complementary champagne , strawberries and chocolates. The only areas which could be improved would be to provide free DVD players and WiFi in the room .
If your looking to visit Amsterdam as a couple, the Toren Garden Room is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is perfect for a romantic escape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 4TUNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed at the Toren for 4 nights on our first trip to Amsterdam.The hotel is stunning in its uniqueness,it is glamourous,chic and refined all at once.The location is perfect being less than a leisurely ten minute walk through pleasant neighourhoods to Dam Square.We stayed in a deluxe double with views of the Keisergracht,a large comfortable room with jacuzzi bath and the most unbelieveably comfortable bed.Eric and Petra the owners very kindly offered us an upgrade on our final night to the Royal Suite,this must be seen to be believed,a feast of extravagant design with a jacuzzi almost big enough to swim in,and again a delightfully comfortable bed.Breakfast is served in the bar/lounge and is perfect to set you up for your day with a large array of fruit,cereals,meats and cheeses along with a hot buffet.The crowning glory of the Toren though is the staff and their attention to detail,they are ever attentive,helpful and pleasant and you feel you are dealing with friends.We would highly recommend the Toren to anyone who would like to experience the true embodiment of indivuality and great service.Thank you to all at the Toren for making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank onecork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My Fiance and I spent 2 nights at The Toren on our travels through Europe. Very lovely boutique hotel, chic interior and comfortable. We stayed in a junior suite and it was great. Bed was extremely comfortable (I personally like medium firm beds and this was just perfect) The spa bath is huge, very roomy for 2 people and the bathroom came with 2 seperate basins. Shower is reasonably large and water pressure is great. Their toiletries are lovely, I dont usually use hotel shampoos and conditioners but I loved what the Toren had to offer.
Our suite had its own courtyard that ajoins with the rest of the hotel courtyard, very clean, private and comfortable and quite romantic at night. We only ate breakfast there once and wished we had both mornings. Great selection of breads, cold meats, cereal, juice and fresh fruit with yogurt, bacon and eggs. Staff were wonderful, very helpful and polite. A shout out to 'Bas' (pronounced 'Bus') our bartender, great guy to talk to and very professional, he definately made our stay a pleasure. Location was perfect for us, very close to the action (Ann Frank house was just behind us and the flower market was only a 45min stroll away) but far enough away that it was quiet enough to relax and enjoy. Would recommend this hotel for any travellers, we are in our late 20s and there were also older guests in the hotel. Thanks to the staff for making our stay memorable! We will be back!

Room Tip: Couples book a jucuzzi roo, you wont regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bekaboo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Location: perfect - cool neighborhood that does not feel touristy at all. feels very local, very safe. right on canals. perfect for morning jog after long night out on the town. most everything can be walked to from this spot.. or public transportation is close by if you opt out of walking.

Room: fun, funky decor which fits nicely for this town. get a room with a canal view. room is very small, but was expected. housekeeping was spot on, and no complaints. the bed was REALLY comfortable.

Facilities: there is a cool bar / breakfast lounge which we did take advantage of. great to grab a bite in the morning, but at night it was cool to have a place to come back to for a nightcap. Not a party scene, but very relazing and friendly service.

Value: felt like it was a good price point and money well spent.

Hint: take advantage of the hotel's dinner recommendations... they were pretty good.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank morevacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a glorious boutique hotel, situated in a lovely part of central Amsterdam, about 15 minutes walk from the station. The decor is very rich and luxurient and there is a distinct boudoir feeling; this is definitely not the hotel to come to if you like it minimalist. There is a large selection of hot and cold food to choose from at breakfast. We had a large de luxe room with a huge jacuzzi/bath tub in the corner - I was very nervous about slipping in wet feet on the black marble surrounding it and had to watch my footing like a hawk! I've marked sleep quality down because the room was hot, despite the air conditioning being on - probably to do with being in the top of the townhouse in the summer and the luxuriousness of the duvets. This is a very special hotel and the high price we paid reflected this - it's one for the special occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZetaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent four nights in the hotel, with a view of the canal. We stayed in a Deluxe Room in the Hotel Annex, as the small rooms are tiny. The rooms have a definite boudoir feel. The staff is attentive and friendly. Overall a great place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,010 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,823 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $212 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing