We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would highly recommend!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Mission, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend!”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Beautiful old hotel with a fabulous decor. Very romantic for couples. Arrived after 11 p.m. & Robby was waiting for us to take our bags to our room. He then said if we wanted a drink in the lounge he was prepared to serve us for as long as we liked. The breakfast was outstanding. The best part is the staff who make you feel at home and are very efficient at their jobs. We did have a misunderstanding over the breakfast charge (in hindsight I'm sure it was my fault due to menopause memory problems) and the owner took care of it immediately. The owners of the hotel definitely make you feel like you are important. We stayed 3 nights and had a room overlooking the canal. As the blossoms were just coming out, it was beautiful. The hotel also has an inner courtyard to sit in - which is quite private. We're from westcoast of Canada and this was our first visit to Amsterdam. We felt quite safe and if we make it back again, we'll only be staying at The Toren Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,136
    362
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
259
1,581
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (583)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I booked the Toren in Amsterdam after reading the glowing reviews on tripadvisor and it was worth every penny. We got upgraded because it was our honeymoon and we had the most beautiful room with a huge comfy bed, a whirlpool, it may not have been a huge room but it was so romantic and plush, it was just perfect. The service from the front desk to the porter to the guys in the breakfast room was top notch, the bar is absolutely gorgeous, breakfast was yummy and nothing was too much trouble. The location is fantastic, just a stroll to Dam Square and there's lots of lovely bars for people watching just around the corner. It's a stunning little boutique hotel and if you're dithering over whether to book or not, book now!! We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Let them know if it's a special occasion, we did and got upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuluLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Autralia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

A great example of a small hotel that does things right.. Where this hotel stands out is the attention to detail like the breakfast selection being smaller than other hotels but every item is of top quality. Our room had a robe and safe room with a privacy door, very useful if you forget to close the windows. The nespresso machine in the room was a nice touch. The rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable beds and beautifully themed decor. beautiful views over the canals, fantastic central location. The staff are friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Very very helpful and pleasant staff, great location, good price (100 Euro) for small double room - although didn't get breakfast and interesting room deco. Would strongly recommend for couples

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Primecount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Toren far exceeded our expectations. The location was fantastic - right on a canal and a short walk to the Anne Frank house, the shopping district and canal and/or bicycle tour facilities. The staff is very friendly and speak perfect English as well as several other languages. They recommended 2 different restaurants, both of which turned out to be wonderful. They have a lovely sitting room and bar full of antique furniture and plush seating that overlooks the canal . The same room is artfully converted to a breakfast room in the mornings serving an array of hot and cold delights as well as coffees, teas and cocoas.
We were greeted warmly upon arrival and treated to cocktails in the bar while the staff arranged for a driver to take our car to a lot for storage while we were in Amsterdam. Our room was spectacular. The ceiling was at least 10' high with a gorgeous crystal chandelier and crown molding. Super plush carpeting, beautifully appointed furnishings including two large ornately hand carved wing back wood chairs. The room itself was very large with a winding staircase that led down to a large marble bathroom with a giant jacuzzi tub, separate dual headed shower, his and her sinks, telephone, heated towel racks, boutique toiletries, etc., etc., etc.. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone.

Room Tip: We had the Royal Honeymoon Suite set up with an extra bed for our daughter - still plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alwaystime4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We can't say enough about The Toren --- Everything was wonderful!!! The staff were exceptionally friendly and enormously helpful. The Toren is located is in a very nice area and the facility was beautiful, clean & convenient. The breakfast, which was included in the special rate we booked, was delicious and beyond our expectations. I will definitely refer The Toren to family and friends who visit Amsterdam and will choose The Toren again on repeat visits!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDL1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del Mar Ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I wanted to break the journey from South Africa to California with an overnight stay in a central part of Amsterdam. I found the Toren hotel on line and liked it's proximity to the Anne Frank House, the canals and the historic areas of Amsterdam.
This is a small family run boutique hotel. The reception was most gracious and helpful. A tasteful little bar had views of the street and canal. It also had a warm fire that was particularly welcoming in the evening.
My room was beautifully decorated. The bedroom was long but a little narrow (there was a warning about excess luggage on line). The bathroom was spacious and had a great shower! No balancing shower heads or tripping on soaking floors! The coffee machine actually made a good cup of coffee. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well.
I really liked the helpful, multilingual staff who directed me to points of interest with great enthusiasm and pride of their city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfandef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,264 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,388 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
655 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,656 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing