We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing! We will definitely be back!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing! We will definitely be back!”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Spent our wedding night in one of the special suites of this hotel (just a few houses down from the building with the reception). Larger rooms there, same vibe, just brilliant. Service in advance, during and after the stay there was sublime. The best hotel service we have received so far in hotel stays in general.

Kind enthusiastic staff making suggestions for things we had not thought of or were unaware of. Spectacular reception area and bar, all rich Rococo style. We got suite 406, with an equally spectacular Rococo style finish of the room: gold ornaments on the ceiling, a beautiful chandelier, fire place area, sitting area by the windows, antique desk next to the entrance. Lot of 'walking around' space. Wonderful king size bed which has the matrass as it should be: ONE large matrass rather than 2 x 1 pers matrasses with the break in the middle (don't understand why other hotels still do that). So Great!

Then downstairs... yes, split level. A bathroom beyond imagination. Upon entrance, against the right side 2 beautiful spacious sinks, to the left first a walk in shower with multiple showers, next to it a large jacuzzi and behind the back wall of the jacuzzi the toilet. The bathroom alone is just as big as some of the hotel rooms we stayed in in the past, excellent!

Concluding: the experience at Hotel the Toren really finished off an already magical day in style, actually extended 'Our Day' to the day after as well.

Extra compliments for the breakfast with champagne and all the dishes prepared for us, brought by room service. We spent an hour on the breakfast and still only finished half ;-)

A big thank you to everyone involved at The Toren, you really made the stay unforgettable for us and we cannot wait to return!

Recommended to everyone who would like to stay in Amsterdam in a luxurious environment. Located at the canal De Keizersgracht, in the Jordaan (one of the hot spots in Amsterdam), with everything right around the corner (the Dam, Anne Frank House, Flower Market etc) in the shadow of the Westerkerk.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msvoboda1179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,117
    361
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
256
1,567
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (580)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

gorgeous hotel, very helpful staff..wonderful bed. staff were very helpful with all questions and recommendations

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davina12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The Toren was OK. Although the room did overlook the canal, it was small, uncomfortable (beds, pillows), and overpriced. The staff was nice. They gave us directions to the police station after my wallet, cash and passport were pick pocketed on the #14 tram. They assisted me with some replacement cash becasuse most of Amsterdam does not accept American Visa cerdit cards. They recommended an over priced restaurant that refused to serve tap water with an $80 meal (example see Tempoe DoeLoe - as recommended by Toren staff). Once again, the Toren is OK - Amsterdam is not.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheZinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stayed in this hotel recently (16-20th july 2011) with my fiance. The hotel was absolutley stunning. I couldn't get over the size of the room plus we had a hot-tub which had lights that changed colours and a shower room with a power shower and a shower with a big head.The decore in the room was beautiful and there was everything in the room that we needed ie hair dryer,coffee machine tea etc. The lighting in the room was vey nice they had spot lights on the celling over the bathroom area and a chandiler above the bed. The veiw from the room was gorgeous as it over looked the canal. The hotel staff very extremly nice and friendly and would have done anything to make your stay more comfortable. They made us feel very welcomed in the hotel and helped us out with information when we needed it.The hotel also has a bar with gorgeous decore in it also. I could not fault this hotel at all apart from a little outside noise which was not from inside the hotel itself and it was def not a problem as we both enjoyed our stay here and were very sad to leave and we would def recommend anyone to stay there if they were travelling to Amsterdam. Fantastic hotel. :) :) :)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kittykat1984_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E Sussex
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The Toren is a fin de siècle boutique hotel that provides a level of comfort and service rarely encountered since Edwardian days. It is in a prime location making it easy to wander in to the Dam or the Jordaan. Service was very friendly and extremely helpful. I had sketched a full-on programme for our five day visit, and reception facilitated everything I wanted to do perfectly, from pick-up at the airport, bikes, boats, tickets, restaurants, bars, taxis etc. A wonderful long weekend celebrating our Pearl Wedding Anniversary made extra special by the attentiveness of the Toren. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Take a deluxe or luxury room. Very comfortable beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckyBroSnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

I stayed at the Toren for 2 nights in early July. I was excited to check in and see the rooms, because from the pictures the rooms seemed pretty unique. In actuality, seeing the rooms first hand was much better. Everything was very well decorated and the big fluffy bed was extremely comfortable. My favorite part was the bathroom with all the marble and a lot of space for a small building. All of the staff were very friendly and gave us some good tips on nearby restaurants. Although I did not have breakfast in the hotel, we did get some drinks at the bar at night. The bar area was also one of my favorite rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marketmiami1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Having read other reviews, I can agree that the uncollected rubbish around the canals was a bit surprising and disappointing, as we have never encountered the situation in Amsterdam previously. Perhaps there is some industrial action?
However, this in no way affected the sultry fun of the Toren. Better to stay in luxury when there is rubbish in the streets than in a hovel, I'd say.
The rooms are small- no doubt. We were upgraded to a canal deluxe and although we had to shuffle around the room with suitcases, it in no way affected the magic of the giilts, crimsons and blacks of the room. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate and served in a simply gorgeous room which owes more to Moulin Rouge than Van Gough. Sumptuous, splendid and a lot of fun. Reception staff were smiling, fun, helpful and a good introduction to the experience. A great place for a little fantasy for the real world.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fresiandaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,236 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#13 of 368 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,373 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,067 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing