We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Unique hotel in a fab location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unique hotel in a fab location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We fell in love with this hotel. The location is great - it's in a safe, quiet area that's accessible to the main attractions. It's also really unique - the decor is sultry and a tad on the saucy side (I love the photos in the hallway and in the lounge area - if they don't bring a smile to your face I'm not sure what will !!). The lounge is really cosy and perfect for a pre or post dinner drink. We had a standard double room in the main building which was more than adequate in size for our 4 night stay. Have to mention the bed and the pillows, they were amazingly comfortable - we never slept so well. The staff are really helpful - nothing seems too much trouble. I had difficulty booking a particular restaurant so I emailed the reception and they sorted it out for me. We having nothing negative to say - (well other than it rained pretty much constantly when we were in Amsterdam but you can't blame The Toren for the weather!).

So if you want a hotel that has a saucy smile and a twinkle in its eye then you won't be disappointed with this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziQu14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,904
    328
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
219
1,408
159
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We have no reason that the hotel is not an authentic canal house from a former grand era.. However the area was littered with household rubbish, the canals were filthy and the cyclists prepared to run us down-we felt physically threatened until I used an umbrella to ward them off! You have difficulty presenting a premium property whether in Amsterdam or Cairo if you are surrounded by uncollected rubbish and filth.
The staff at reception were excellent, but the room was small (we arranged a larger canal view room) and dark. Day after day many of the bath towels in the room were frayed at the edges- just not up to the mark.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GoldCoastOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

this is really nice place. of course the rooms are bit small and make sure you request to stay in the main building and you wont get to enjoy the bar. really enjoy the burlesque feel of the place and the location is amazing. prob not the best value for money but worth the treat if you are in the mood to spend a little extra money

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tadwook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
74 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed 3 nights with 2 children in separte beds in the Bridal Suite - a very large bedroom with a downstairs bathroom. The kids loved the huge jacuzzi, although the narrow stairs down are not for the frail (needs another handrail). Plus a makeshift balcony for drinks on the roof accessible by climbing through the window ! The hotel breakfast is better value (extra $12 per adult) than anything around and the lounge and rooms are fascinatingly decorated. Good reception service, easy to get the car parked via their B Smart service.

Die Toren has an enormous variety of good restaurants close by, such as Prego. The Boathouse Canal Cruises start just around the corner (better than going to the station). In all the hotel offered a great room wiith lots of space and great location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Baidun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Those of you who use Trip Advisor to help you select hotels are unhappily familiar with these typical types of review: the "we didn't get treated exactly like we wanted, so this hotel is terrible" review, the "something extraordinarily horrible happened not ever experienced by any other guest, so this hotel is terrible" review, and on the other end of the spectrum, the "this is absolutely the greatest place in the entire universe, even though we haven't traveled everywhere, but this hotel is extraordinary" review.  

My review of Hotel Toren isn't any of these review types, but this hotel IS extraordinary. 

Yes, the location is excellent: overlooking Keisergracht canal, a short walk from the Anne Frank House, Nieuw Kerke, the Jordaan neighborhood with terrific restaurants and shopping, and a key tram line. 

Yes, the web site photos of the rooms, the breakfast area, the garden, and the lounge can be depended on: luxurious, comfortable, inviting, and  beautifully appointed.

Yes, the breakfast is delicious and generous, and the bar is well-stocked with top drawer bottles, good wines, and tasty snacks.

But the key to why the Hotel Toren is extraordinary is the PEOPLE who work there, from the owners to the reception team to the bartenders, waiters, bellmen, and, maid staff.  

One expects the reception staff to be knowledgeable about the city, local restaurants, and inside information about local events...and the reception staff's ability to tune into our interests quickly was amazing - their dining suggestions were perfect and their help with our itinerary was spot on.

One expects good service from staff at meals and in the bar, but this team had the right mix of attentiveness, skill, and unobtrusiveness, to make our experience very comfortable.

Most of all, the Hotel Toren staff was KIND...not a term one usually applies to hotel staff.  

When I was injured in a fluke accident my first day ( I tripped on the street, sprained my ankle and broke my wrist), the owners and staff helped clean me up, get me to a hospital, find a wheelchair to use during my stay...every day, they anticipated my needs for ice for my ankle, taxis to get around, a helping hand to go up and down stairs, to carry myq wheelchair through the lobby...all without a grumble. They did it out of kindness and concern, as one would have for a friend or family member.  My wife and I have stayed at good hotels and B & Bs, and we have stayed at great ones...but never have we experienced a hotel staff that was so human, so capable, and so kind.

That is why the Hotel Toren is extraordinary. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hmh1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We absolutely loved this place! The front desk clerks and concierge were very helpful with suggesting places to visit and restaurants. They upgraded us for free to the royal suite which is HUGE. We even ordered room service late at night and they searched everywhere to get us pizza and ice cream! Top people in a top boutique hotel. Beautiful area. Very centrally located. We walked everywhere we needed to go with no problems. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: You can probably upgrade for free if the room is available in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jskadamany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coaster
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Euro-chic is the decor with its black and purple fabrics and gorgeous chandeliers. A great way to start your stay in Amsterdam; a city with design oozing from its window fronts. We had a smallish but delightful room with a very clean bathroom with a roomy tub. Air conditioner was in great working order and we appreciated the stream lined in room coffee machine. We used the stairs even though the elevator was available. Be careful you might miss it because its designed to look like a room door! The bar and reception staff was very attentive and breakfast was was good. A lovely canal right out the front door, close to great restaurants and just around the corner from the Anne Frank House. After a night out, it was wonderful to see the hotel lights glimmer from across the canal as we headed in for the evening. Have a drink in the garden patio; lovely at night. You can walk from the train station if its a nice day in 20 minutes. If you have alot of luggage take a cab and safe your feet. Excellent location. Be ready to walk cobblestones ladies.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favor and order tickets to Anne Frank's house over the internet and save yourself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenadmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,284 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing