We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District to your Saves list
Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #104 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited Amsterdam with our two sons for three nights recently and this was our first stay in the Mercure. The staff were extremely professional, friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is in a very quiet and attractive part of the city. Breakfast was excellent and hiring bikes from the hotel very easy and highly recommended. While our sons shared a reasonably sized room unfortunately my wife and I shared what I can only describe as probably the smallest hotel room we have ever experienced ! Otherwise we would highly recommend this hotel for location and service.

Room Tip: Check the size of the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guest,

May I begin by thanking you for your four star review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and therefore your feedback is of great value to us. Please allow me to express my apologies regarding your dissatisfaction about the room size. However, we love to hear your praises about our competent staff and ideal location.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We hope the experience will not alter your confidence in Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer and that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Not in the immediate center of Amsterdam, but 10 minutes walking distance from the Munt tower/flower market. The hotel is situated in between little streets and beautifully decorated, your room will surprise you, really it's not one of those standard hotel rooms, good taste. You think in between little street, noise...no, nothing we got a very quiet room, slept wonderfully on the firm beds and great pillows.
You can easily reach it with a lot of trams going down the Vijzelgracht, from there it's a 3 minute walk to the hotel.
Last but not least the internet is free and very very fast! You sometimes have those hotels that give you an internet connection for free and a paid option if you want to surf faster, not here, you straight get the fast one for free!!

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room, they're all very nicely decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your 'surprisingly great' review. It is with much please to notice your satisfaction !
We truly appreciate your supporting comments.

We would love to be your hosts again in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect: you can easily reach any point of Amsterdam, while leaving from this place. The customer experience is excellent, here: the staff left me with a very good impression. the rooms are quite big and the beds are very comfortable. The food is very tasty. I will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Howard,

Thank you for writing this excellent review on TripAdvisor. Your words regarding our staff and other facilities do us good !

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Level Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Easy to reach from the Central train station via the Metro. Once you have found your bearings most tourist areas are within an easy walk. 5 minutes to the Rijks museum, 15 minutes to Ann Franks House and a similar walk to the centre. There are restaurants and places for breakfast within a couple of minutes.
We booked a standard room which while small felt bigger thanks to the very high ceilings. It came with a shower only. It was fine for our needs and very clean. As usual we booked well in advance and got a much better price. 3 nights at only a fraction more than the walk in price for 1 night.
I've had more comfortable beds, newer towels and quieter doors (other reviewers are correct they close with a slam so if you are a light sleeper be warned)! However, I would stay again and if you are happy with the brand you will know what to expect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank strolling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

I am delighted to read your extensive review on TripAdvisor, may I thank you for that.
It was a pleasure serving you, and we look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The hotel is great, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We were even upgraded to a better room because we were on our honeymoon! The staff was wonderful and helpful but the location is not the best. The area is residential, so it´s super quiet and very nice to walk around, but it´s far from the main tourist spots and dining aeras, so you end up taking taxis all the time of walking a lot to get back to the hotel. We are a young couple that loves walking around the cities, but unfortunately we think this hotel is unconveniently located for that purpose.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Memilandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments regarding you stay at Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer very much. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. However, it is with regret to notice your dissatisfaction regarding our location.

Thank you for you open and honest feedback, and we wish to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I loved this hotel! Situated on a quiet street about 5 minutes from the main road and tram stop, it is quiet and cosy. The staff are friendly and helpful! I absolutely adore the complimentary use of the Nespresso machine at the lobby until 10 am! A real wake-up drink!

The room we stayed in was an upgraded room I think (we are Accor members) so it had its own nespresso machine too! The bed was big and really comfortable!

Another plus was the sumptuous breakfast! Plenty of cold cuts and hearty breads! Coffee and many kinds of tea plus freshly-squeezed orange juice right in front of your eyes!

There are many good restaurants and eateries near the hotel. I had horse meat steak at a little restaurant on the street leading to the hotel! From the outside, it didn't look like many people were at the restaurant but inside, it was a cosy little place and the proprietor was very friendly and offered an english menu seeing as we were not able to speak Dutch.

There's also a wonderful supermarket, Albert Hejn (spelled something like that) about 10 minutes walk away.

The only downside of the hotel is that the shower area in the bathroom doesn't have a door or a dividing partition so it can get kind of wet. The plumbing was a little noisy too if you didn't adjust the flush button just right!

I would love to go back again! I miss you Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walemapbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Even though your stay was quit a while ago, you took the time to write an excellent review on TripAdvisor. I would like to express my appreciation and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hotel was very clean and organised. Sited only 15 mins walk from Dam square, which was easy to walk to. Staff at the hotel very helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble. Room very good and clean

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureArthurFrommer, General Manager at Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Keith,

Thank you very much for posting a 4star review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel ! It is always a pleasure to recieve positive feedback.

May we be your hosts again in the future?

Kind regards,

Francis A. Windt, General Manager
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Fommer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#20 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District

Address: Noorderstraat 46, 1017 TV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#89 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming boutique Hotel Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District is a located close to the Prinsengracht in the Canal Dsitrict. Completely non smoking. This hidden gem is set in a quiet street in the very heart of the city centre of Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants, museums and other places of interest are within walking distance. The Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh- and Stedelijk Museum are nearby. The hotel offers 93 design rooms as well as a Dutch bar, breakfast restaurant and limited private outdoor (paid) parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Amsterdam Centre Canal District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Amsterdam Arthur Frommer Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam Arthur Frommer

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#