We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #241 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed at Jolly Carlton at the last night when we were at Amsterdam.

The room is clean, it has nice and elegant office desk, a big walk in closet and quite big bath room... The window is not facing the main street, so it is very quiet.
The front desk gentlemen are very friendly and helpful.

This four star hotel is much much better than the five star hotel Nh Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends for sure.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravelkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    756
    565
    318
    176
See reviews for
228
897
115
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

We booked the NH Jolly Carlton in Amsterdam as one of the secret hotels on Lastminute. We paid £200 for 3 nights which wasn't bad.

The hotel is in a good location. Only 3 tram stops away from the Central station, and right next to the flowers markets. It's easy to get around the city.

The hotel itself was ok but nothing special. The room had a funny smell, the air-conditioning was really loud, the beds were hard, the mini-bar fridge was filthy and there were minimal toiletries left. The decor was ok though and have to say I liked the pillows (even the extra one we requested that was delivered with no pillowcase!).

After all of those complaints I would have to say I was still satisfied that we got what we paid for! The staff were friendly although not that helpful when it came to recommending good places to go.

Stay here if you can get a good deal, if not go elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2009

This hotel is superb in every sence. Looks a bit shabby on the outside but inside is immaculate, restaurant is good and resonable plus the rooms are very clean and fresh.
Location of hotel is fantastic: 100m to the left of the hotel there is a floating flower market and DAM SQUARE is less than a 5 minute walk (to the left of the hotel, past the flower stall and straight down) Just by the flower market there is a lovely cafe where you'll find the true taste of local food!! Opposite the hotel is a local cinema and if you take a walk down the road opposite the hotel(next to the cinema) you'll find an abudance of local and internation restaurants. ANNE FRANKS house is a must and the sight seeing boats are easy enough to jump on and off so to are the trams. We were lucky enough to stumble apon a zoo and the hard rockcafe whilst jumpimg the trams. The staff can tell you every thing Plus the shopping is fantastic!! I'd definatly go back to the NH CARLTON and do it all again!!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SIDM17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2009

We stayed here recently. We found the hotel on the Aer Lingus website as one of the 'top secret hotels' so we got it for a really good rate. We didn't opt for b&b so I don't know what the hotel food is like. The hotel is right beside the flower market on a busy road. Our room was at the back of the hotel. The service was excellent from the second we arrived. The reception staff could not have been nicer. The hotel is really nice (the lobby etc) but our room was a bit of a let down. The decor was a bit dated and the bathroom was really small, but it was clean and comfortable. We had a double room (really it was two single beds pushed together and covered with one sheet). If travelling form the airport to the hotel, take a train into the central station (will cost aprox €4.50 each for a one way ticket). We took a taxi from central station to the hotel even though we knew it wasnt that far but we had bags and were really tired from the early start that morning. The taxi driver quoted us €15 but the fare only came to €12.50. Just check the fare with the driver before you get into the taxi. The hotel is really central (about 10min walk from Dam Square). There was a lot of noise from the street outside our room (and we were on the 3rd floor) at night (people spilling out from bars etc.) It sounded like our room windows were wide open even though they were shut. Rooms servcied daily ( bed made / towels changed etc). Tip: If you walk out the main entrance and turn right and then take the next right turn, there are a lot of nice restaurants on that street.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoeshopgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

Great location for walking and catching the trams. Bed was good, furniture in decent shape, plenty of hot water and a full bathtub (!). Food: Italian restaurant in hotel is good if a bit pricey; there's a great Asian takeout across the street and the V&D store 1/2 block away has huge lunch operation. Staff pleasant and multi-lingual. Only drawbacks: the windows let the unseasonable cold right through (the heater could knock down most of that), and the high-speed internet requires purchasing a separate code from the desk and is not fast. Would definitely stay again, as the price was good for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

Booked hotel via Lastminute.com. Was a bit worried after seeing some of the reviews but shouldn't have. Had an amazing time despite the freezing weather and the hotel and staff added to this. All staff from front of house to cleaning staff were extremely pleasant and couldn't do enough for us!! Even though we were not guaranteed a specific room, we sent an email two days before arrival and got exactly what we requested- without having to pay any extra. I would have no hesitation returning to the Jolly Carlton and hope to do so in the near future. A wonderful hotel in an excellent location, with superb staff - what more could you ask for.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

I was extremly disapointed with the standard of our rooms, upon entering the gorgeous lobby we had high expectations of what our rooms would look like. Apart from the bathroom it was more like a cheap b+b room than a suposedly 4 star experiance. Not only were the rooms unpleasing to the eye but there was a horrible lingering smell of stale smoke. If you go 4star you expect it to be of good quality and quite a high standard. If I was going back to Amsterdam I would choose a different hotel. On the plus side it is in a good location and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor quality of rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,305 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, NHHotels, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing