We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #238 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is really situated in a great location if you want to get around. Walking distance from most attractions and a lot of nice restaurants etc in the neighbourhood. The hotel itself is a little dated - could do with a revamp but very comfortable and the staff are fantastic. Very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yellowblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    797
    593
    331
    182
See reviews for
241
953
118
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Now you see I disagree with a lot of the comments below ? I found the hotel charming and the meals although limited were excellent and the staff more than willing to assist where they could. loved the people there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Mr. Warwick,
I would like to thank you for your beautiful comment and for taking your time to share it with all of us.
We always focus all our efforts trying to provide the best quality service and provide the maximum assistance to all our guests in order to guarantee a pleasent stay in our beautiful city.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hbg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a great hotel for visiting Amsterdam. Great location - can walk to everything - the restaurant and staff are wonderful. Room service gets high marks for quick professional service and really good food! Staff are beyond helpful. We stayed on two different occasions and had different rooms each with balconies -- wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyJane381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Ms. Jane,
Thank you very taking your time to share your comments with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoy your entire stay in our hotel. We always try to provide the best possible service to our guests, to ensure they have a great experience during their stay.
I hope you will visit us in the coming future and get the opportunity to welcome you again in our beautifull city.

Kind regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah, Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I stayed there for 5 days. The main advantage is its place. It is near the central station, flower market and many shopping places. It is quite but no much facilities apart from the free internet. The restaurant is weak. Rooms are tide but small. No spa or swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Ramadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Dr. Ramadan,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
As you mention, the location of our hotel is the best in the city as all attractions are no further than 20 minutes walking.
We are constantly working to try to improve our food and beverage offer, so I hope that during your next visit to Amsterdam you will have the opportunity to try our new menu.

We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I was booked for three nights on business but checked out after 1 night. There was no relationship between cost and quality. The hotel is tired, shabby and the Management seem to take no pride in it's presentation. I can't think of any circumstances where I would recommend- shame because they offered me 25% on my next stay :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank GPennNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This is in a good location to get around and see all the sites, right next door to the flower market. The hotel is dated but to use as a base is fine, do take the option of the breakfast as is a great spread of many different options of cold or hot food, great to set you up for a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justkeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Mr. Hamilton,
First of all I want to thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoy our breakfast. We always prepare a really nice buffet full of variety to ensure that all our guests have the opportunity to start the day with energy to visit and enjoy our beautiful city.
We are working in renovations step by step, as you probably could see we have already installed new beds, new 46" flat TV's, new mini-bars and new safes. At this moment we are renovating our guest elevator system, therefore at the end of July we will have the three of them working perfectly to provide the best service.

Sincerely,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a 'Secret Hotel' on lastminute.com - which is meant to guarantee a 4 star hotel. 4 star hotel this is not!

It's very dated, only two smaller than average pillows on the bed (odd!), the mattresses were old and uncomfortable. Although we were in a non-smoking room, the shower curtain stank of stale cigarettes and the room itself was grubby and tired.

On a positive note, the staff were absolutely excellent, very friendly and couldn't do enough to help/advise us about our trip. The location is also really good, so all of the main sights and attractions are within walking distance.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LVT1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are aware of the fact that the hotel is a little dated, therefor we have renewed all matrasses in our rooms and we are planning a renovation for the whole hotel.

I am sorry to hear about the smoking smell in the bathroom, this is unacceptable since we are a non smoking hotel.

It is good to hear that the service we have provided was excellent, this is our main goal and we are doing everyday our utmost best to ket you experience the best service.

We hope to welcome you once again in our beautiful city Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing