We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a city centre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #240 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Debating whether to give this a 3 or 4 rating, as realistically, it is somewhere in between. One of the big plus points is the location. Most attractions are within walking distance and there is a tram stop close by. When we arrived, we were able to check in early and have the room straight away. The room itself was fairly typical of a lot of city centre hotels, quite small, but comfortable enough for a short break. The bed was comfortable, with duvets instead of blankets. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided, as well as shower gel/shampoo etc. Flat screen tv on the wall has a couple of English TV channels, including BBC1. A big downside is the fact there was no safe in the room, and although nothing went missing from our room we felt uncomfortable leaving our valuables. The carpet was also quite stained and threadbare. Our room was on the 5th floor facing away from the front of the hotel, so it was quite quiet, but there was nothing to look at except other hotel rooms. The lifts were very slow and one of them broke down while we were there. We did not eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the food, but the menus in the room looked expensive. There are lots of good and cheap places to eat in the area. We asked if we could check out late as our flight was not until the evening, but they wanted 12€ an hour for the room, so we left our luggage in their luggage room instead.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Becknaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,488)
There are newer reviews for NH Carlton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 2,489 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed for two nights here. It was a mixed experience .......

The positives :

1) Generally highly responsive to e mails before our arrival. Three out of four e mails we sent were responded to on same date, for the fourth I had to send a reminder , which was a bit of a let down

2) We had requested a quiet room on the upper floor, and the lady at the check in was very very accommodating and helped us to get a fantastically quiet room, particularly as we had landed on King's DAY when there were hordes of partying people on the roads late into the night

3) Clean hotel with good towels, hair dryer, mini bar, tea coffee making facilities

4) Excellent and most convenient location for trams, distance from Centraal station ( 20 minutes walk ), can walk to Rijksmuseum, close enough to canal bus stop too

5) Free wifi ..... though could have been faster

6) Very comfortable beds

Negatives

1) Room is small, bathroom is small

2) No hangars in the room, had to remind again after asking for some

3) Clothes you wish to hang in the wardrobe have to hang over the tea /coffee kettle as there is no other space

4) No safe in the room

5) AC not really effective

6) Understaffed front office, so check in and help in reception slow

7) Main lifts did not work most of the time when we were there, there was one staff lift most people used which meant long waits and overcrowding


There is an Italian restaurant which does not appear to have much custom, we did not try. Nor did we try the breakfast as there are much cheaper options available just outside the hotel.

I would not rate it as four star, but yes a good three star option from overall convenience point of view ........... but then , it is overpriced for a three star

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for rooms in the central part of the hotel on an upper floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamjiRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Hotel is a perfect option for a great stay in Amsterdam ,Located in the best central location alowing 10-15 minute walk to almost every significant place in the city , The hotel it self very clean , The staff are very kind and helfull the rooms are clean staffed very well (towels , bath soaps etc.) and very comfortable , The breakfast buffet has many options and very tasty including Gluten Free Products , the dining room is beautifull , the only problem are the lifts a very long wait every time you need to use them as only 1/3 was working .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pavel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your kind review.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are aware of the fact that the elevators are not working properly at the moment. The renovation is scheduled for the 2nd of June.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in the NH Carlton Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The excuse for our wardrobe falling apart, airconditioning not working properly and 2 of 3 lifts not working (during 4 days) was lack of attention due to a refurbishment programme. Young front desk staff demonstrated embarrasment and defiance in equal measure. Great location, but not 4*. Hotel seriously lacking effective management and attention to detail.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

excellent location. very helpful staff. breakfast has good choice. good clean room. nice to have a kettle and fridge. all staff spoke perfect English. good clean bathroom with gorgous smelling body lotion and soap



  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Beverley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us.
I am glad to hear that you enjoy your stay in NH Carlton, we always do our maximum effort to try to make your stay as much pleasent as we can.
We hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
NH Carlton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very good location in the city centre.
The hotel looks old. Interiors and rooms need some renovation. Only one out of three lifts was working. A/C did not work either. Check in/out time was terrible. Breakfast was average. Room was clean.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Karol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.
We are working at this moment in different kind of renovations. From one side we have changed several items in the rooms like Beds, TV's, Mini-bars, and also we are busy with the renovation of the elevator's system. For that reason, we have one elevator out of order during the proccess of the renovation. I really apologize for all inconvenience this has created during your stay.
The A/C is working in perfect condition at this moment so if during your stay was not working should be an sporadic problem.
I hope you will give us an oportunity to welcome you again in our hotel to show you all the improvements we are doing to provide better service and guarantee a pleasent stay to all our guests.
Yours sincerely,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
NH Carlton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The location is good. You can walk from central station to your hotel and also to some other tourist attractions like museums and parks.Just beside the hotel is a big flower market and souvenier shops. Its a walking distance to Rembrant plein and here you can fine a variety of restaurant - Indonesian, Indian osv.
In our room we have a separate tea kitchen in which you can make your own tea or coffee.
There is a free wifi so you can always be online while in the hotel.
The rooms is clean and tidy with soap and shower gel everyday( also coffe and tea).
The only problem is that if you have a room on the first floor then its a little bit noisy specially when a new bus of tourist arrives late in the evening or early morning.

Room Tip: Never select first floor..you can hear the noise from ground floor and street. There is a massage c...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel M, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

I would like to thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us.
I am glad to hear that overall you have had a nice stay in our hotel. We are located in the heart of Amsterdam and it is true that sometimes the street is too noisy, for that reason we have double glass windows in all our rooms, but sometimes it is not enough.
I hope you will come back to our hotel in your next visit to Amsterdam, we will ensure to provide with a room in a higher floor.

Yours sincerely,
Daniel Méndez
Hotel Director
NH Carlton Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#149 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,584 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#118 of 371 in Amsterdam
985 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#97 of 371 in Amsterdam
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#152 of 371 in Amsterdam
85 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#134 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,630 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $142 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing