We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, rooms ok for Amterdam standards” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #243 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woerden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location, rooms ok for Amterdam standards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights for an international meeting and arrived there with the car as I live in the Netherlands. The parking was hard to find (in the crowded city center) and very small but as not many visitors will arrive by car this not be an issue for most people.

The staff was friendly and check-inn procedure went smoothly. The rooms are OK for Amsterdam standards but are probably below the expected quality of the more 'demanding' traveler. The breakfast was just OK although on both occasions nobody was present to offer any coffee or tea (in one case they were loudly arguing in the kitchen.

The location of the hotel is of course really great with almost all major attractions on walking distance. Pricing is also quite reasonable for the location.

With regards of my final rating I am a little bit in doubt between 3 and 4 stars but as most tourists/visitors will approciate the great location of the hotel and its amenities I have given it 4 out of 5 stars

Room Tip: Be aware that the may be some noise as you are in the middle of the city. On one side of the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwinsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    757
    565
    318
    176
See reviews for
228
898
115
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

An great hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. I stayed here late February for 4 nights. Emailed in advance asking for a room on an upper floor and was given a double room on the top floor with a balcony. The room was clean and spacious. Towels and cosmetic products were changed each day. TV was a bit dated but who wants to watch television when in Amsterdam.

Staff were very friendly (on a particularly wet day they gave me an umbrella to borrow) and will assist in getting about the city and organising tickets etc.

A 50 Euro deposit is required and don't forget city tax will be deducted from this.

Only issue I did have was that rooms need a bit of updating and soundproofing, and I would have liked the room a bit warmer - this did not stop me getting a good night's sleep though.

Wifi is free and very easy to connect to.

Plenty of places to eat in the area, Dam square is 10 mins walk away, central train station 20 mins. Trams run to and from the station to the hotel (Muntsplein), although I would only use these if you have luggage or particularly tired or have difficulty in walking, everything is easy to get to on foot.

A standard room is more than adequate, however, upgrade for a view over the canals.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors were quieter and less likely to be disturbed by noise from the nightlife in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very central hotel - right next to the Tulip Market and Rembrandtplein, ten minute walk to Dam Square and fifteen minute walk to Centraal Station. It was on a busy road, but we weren't interrupted by any noise - we did visit in a reasonably quiet month, though. The rooms were comfortable and accommodating - ensuite bathroom, desk, table and chairs, coffee making facilities and mini fridge - although we think the beds were two twins pushed together as we had two seperate covers! The staff were helpful - we got locked out of our room a couple times but each time they gave us a new keycard with no trouble. Don't put your keycard next to anything electronic in your pocket/bag because we think this was the problem! We would have liked to get room service, but we just couldn't justify the prices. Everything you ordered had a five euro service charge added onto it (and the food wasn't that cheap in the first place), so it was over 20 euros for a curry or a burger, and 12 euros for a sandwich. But other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLouLaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of feb and it was perfect for what we needed. Really friendly staff and in a fantastic location. They even upgraded our room to superior for free and let us check in 4 hours early. Would stay again and recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timilky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has a central location, good for sightseeing and shopping. We stayed in a superior rooms which was fairly spacious but had a dated decor and bathroom. Same dated atmosphere in the breakfast room, which nevertheless had a certain old world charm. Buffet breakfast was OK, as may be expected at that rate.
Major drawback is that the hotel is situated next to a neighbourhood with noisy bars, which woke us up at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudrun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

stayed there for 2 nights and must say the hotel got perfect location from train station took us only 20 minutes walk.receptionist very friendly as we came to the hotel for check in early around 11am but she said the room is ready so we can go upstairs...one minus for the hotel is the equpiment like bed,bathroom etc ..for the 4 stars need refurb for a bit modern style but i stayed there only for a sleep so i dont mind..overall good choice for the price i paid for and recommended to ppl.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here in Feb for three nights, and I have to say that he hotel was excellent, I haven't a bad thing to say about it.

The staff were very friendly, check-in/out was very quick and straight forward, we had our room upgraded for free!

The Room was great, it was big and was cleaned everyday. It had a safe, mini-bar, TV and dark curtains (perfect for a lie in)

The breakfast was excellent, so much choice, plenty to suit everyone, and you would get a good feed to set you on your way for the day.

The hotel loction is excellent, the flower market is around the corner and Remberant Sq is a 2/3 min walk, loads of places to eat. Trams going past regularly to/from central station and tourist attractions.

Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#115 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, NHHotels, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing