We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable, central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER FREE-DOM
Ranked #233 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falmouth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable, central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Very central hotel - right next to the Tulip Market and Rembrandtplein, ten minute walk to Dam Square and fifteen minute walk to Centraal Station. It was on a busy road, but we weren't interrupted by any noise - we did visit in a reasonably quiet month, though. The rooms were comfortable and accommodating - ensuite bathroom, desk, table and chairs, coffee making facilities and mini fridge - although we think the beds were two twins pushed together as we had two seperate covers! The staff were helpful - we got locked out of our room a couple times but each time they gave us a new keycard with no trouble. Don't put your keycard next to anything electronic in your pocket/bag because we think this was the problem! We would have liked to get room service, but we just couldn't justify the prices. Everything you ordered had a five euro service charge added onto it (and the food wasn't that cheap in the first place), so it was over 20 euros for a curry or a burger, and 12 euros for a sandwich. But other than that we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheLouLaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    697
    519
    277
    157
See reviews for
200
824
105
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of feb and it was perfect for what we needed. Really friendly staff and in a fantastic location. They even upgraded our room to superior for free and let us check in 4 hours early. Would stay again and recommend!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timilky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has a central location, good for sightseeing and shopping. We stayed in a superior rooms which was fairly spacious but had a dated decor and bathroom. Same dated atmosphere in the breakfast room, which nevertheless had a certain old world charm. Buffet breakfast was OK, as may be expected at that rate.
Major drawback is that the hotel is situated next to a neighbourhood with noisy bars, which woke us up at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gudrun J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

stayed there for 2 nights and must say the hotel got perfect location from train station took us only 20 minutes walk.receptionist very friendly as we came to the hotel for check in early around 11am but she said the room is ready so we can go upstairs...one minus for the hotel is the equpiment like bed,bathroom etc ..for the 4 stars need refurb for a bit modern style but i stayed there only for a sleep so i dont mind..overall good choice for the price i paid for and recommended to ppl.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fedo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here in Feb for three nights, and I have to say that he hotel was excellent, I haven't a bad thing to say about it.

The staff were very friendly, check-in/out was very quick and straight forward, we had our room upgraded for free!

The Room was great, it was big and was cleaned everyday. It had a safe, mini-bar, TV and dark curtains (perfect for a lie in)

The breakfast was excellent, so much choice, plenty to suit everyone, and you would get a good feed to set you on your way for the day.

The hotel loction is excellent, the flower market is around the corner and Remberant Sq is a 2/3 min walk, loads of places to eat. Trams going past regularly to/from central station and tourist attractions.

Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed for a weekend. It is in a good location within easy reach of,...everything:)
Cleanliness..not too good..as well it was cold and we had a problem with the heating. We paid extra to upgrade as the room we first got was...some sort of problem of course.
After a long day we got back at the hotel..all good until we got in bed. The diff we paid for ..to get a king size bed..bla bla..what do you think? 2 single beds connected between them with like 3-4 sheets....:)) unbelivable.
The good thing is location..and thats about it....

Room Tip: Make sure you get a proper bed for couples and not two singles one next to each other plus...if only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just back from a four day stay at this hotel. First impressions are good and it remained that way for our stay. We needed to book a shuttle to the airport and had to leave it several times as the reception was just too busy with people booking in and leaving. Maybe it was my imagination but every guest seemed to have 20 - 30 questions for the staff who are great. I felt like saying to some of them read the documentation and you might find what you are looking for. Rooms are quite good but a little tired at this stage and could do with some refurbishment as the paint and veneers are worn in places. It is a clean hotel for the most part and is very central to everything. Compared to Dublin Amsterdam is expensive as eating out in a mid range restaurant cost us 110 euro for a meal that was not all that great. We used the hop on hop off bus to get around.

Room Tip: From what I can see all rooms are similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,054 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#56 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing