We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“We loved the location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #233 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“We loved the location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great 3-4 star hotel with incredible breakfast buffet included. Free internet. Beds,linens,towels, shower wonderful. Service was great. Perfect just perfect. We are going back next year. You can walk to absolutely everything. On tram route too.

Room Tip: Perfect location and great staff and food
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pookeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    697
    519
    277
    157
See reviews for
200
824
105
290
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in nh carlton from 27th of december till 11th of january this the first time righting a review for nh carlton without rating it excellent as usually this is my favorite hotel i had a bad experience with the house keeper the first week which is the first time i had any issue with this hotel they didn't change the towels for 7 days although i throw them in the floor several time and when i came back to room they just took it from the floor and put it again in the rail towel!!!! Thats happened 5 times and there was an obvious make up stain in the towels and i didn't complain as am not that kind of customer who like to complain on the 8th day i was really upset and throw all the towels again and the bed sheet which they didn't change also for 7 night on saturday i came back late at night and i was drunk so i slept with my make up on and the bed sheet was full with make up stains which they only change it up down and it remains for several days without changing them!!!!! So after 8 night i throw the bed sheets and the towels again and left the room at 10 am and when i came back at 11 pm so tired i found that they didn't even make the room all the towels on the ground and the bed sheet off!!!! Its not a nice thing in a 4 star hotel when u came tired and just want to go your bed and found the room in that situation!!! This time i went to reception and complain to give them credits all the receptionist were so friendly and helpful one lady came with me to the room she feel shocked when interning my room and see it in that condition specially when i mention that no one change any thing for 8 night!!! She immediately went and bring me a clean bed sheets and offer to help but i did it by My self as that wasn't her fault she told me that she gonna wrote a letter to the house keeping company the second day i found a sorry letter from the manager with a reduction of one night of breakfast and since then the rest of my stay were perfect and i didn't have any problem with the house keeping, on the check out i paid in cash and the rest from the nh credit point which i had that what i usually did if i have much credit but the receptionist on check out have no idea what am talking about and ask me how does that work!!! Which she should know i usually paid with credits without any problem and its just took a second this time its almost took 1 hour but other than this 2 issues my stay was good all of the hotel staff were so helpful and friendly i will choose nh carlton again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaLaL_ShaNe3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

A group of us went to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. I contacted the hotel in advance to arrange some champagne in the room on arrival, book a table in the restaurant and a 40th helium balloon. The hotel were fantastic. Everything was carried out as planned, they upgraded our room and even gave my wife a birthday card. The food in the bar/restaurant was really nice although the menu is limited. Nothing was too much trouble, the reception booked tickets for the pizza cruise and sorted out a taxi within minutes when the one I booked myself failed to turn up. All bar staff were friendly, I must mention Rachid who again went the extra mile. A good choice at breakfast. Fantastic location. Would recommend. Thank you for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we were given a basic room, no view but was functionally but smelt of cigarette smoke. Finding such a good deal we thought we could bare it for 2 nights, until our friends had a look! They went down stairs with us and ask to be moved which was no problem at all and got moved to the 7th floor and what a difference the room was!
Breakfast was very good no complaints, staff very helpful. They booked us a taxi for the morning and the taxi driver has to come in to collect u - we found out why! There was another taxi driver trying from outside the reception window to lear us outside. Speaking to staff at reception they contacted the firm Within seconds the taxi boss was here and things were sorted and the illegal taxi driver was sent packing! It would of cost us twice the price to get to the airport! So thank you staff at NH Carlton!! Would I stay there again? Yes I would!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The location is the best thing about this hotel, it was very central and was walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was an ok size and although some of the furnishings were a little worn it was clean. There was some noise at night from the tram and the revellers but this is to be expected in this district. The room was a little chilly at times and the duvets are not the thickest considering it was winter but fortunately it wasn't too cold while we were there. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel and fortunately found plenty of nice places nearby that weren't too expensive. We did have the rib eye sandwich in the hotel restaurant one night and it was simple but delicious. I would stay again as the price was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunflowerjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

First off I have to say that I've stayed in complete dives and had to pay more money for the privilege than I did for our two nights stay at the NH Carlton. Granted our stay was midweek in rainy January but I'm still amazed at how little it cost for our twin room. Location was superb, a brisk 15 minute walk from Central Station and a 15 minute walk to the Museums or in our case The Paradiso. Check in was quick, pleasant and efficient (in my experience not always the case with NH hotels). We stayed on the fourth floor facing the street which I always find fun, in fact watching people down below I find a lot more entertaining than the telly. With the window open, it was a little noisy but then I like the sound of trams and Amsterdam life. With the double glazed window shut we heard no noise at all. Decor wise, it's not too sharp and probably could do with a freshen up but we found it perfectly adequate. Bathroom was good, clean with a powerful shower. My only real gripe was the pillow which as per norm was the size of a cushion and a lot less comfortable. We would definitely stay here if the price was as good as on this occasion. I've stayed at a lot of NH hotels and found the standards vary a lot but this one was one of the better.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor for the chance of a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClumsyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have just returned from 3 nights at the Carlton,the location of the hotel is perfect.
Although we had requested a double bed we had been allocated twin beds, our room was "upgraded" , we had a double bed, but if the room we had was an upgrade, I dread to think what we were due to stay in.
Overall the staff were friendly, and thank goodness it was one of the few positives.
In the lift going up there is an advert stating you can get rooms in nh hotels for 30 euro's per person, it seems the car parking at 40 euros a night is more expensive than a room!
When we complained we were told it was clearly shown on the web site, I have checked it says paid for service with no indicate of price.
When our room was made up each day, tea bags were not always refreshed, and when they were only 2 tea bags of the breakfast tea, no milk. The toiletries were not always replaced and the bed spread was left scrunched up on the side left in a heap.
Access to wifi ..... well I gave up in the end.
The pillows were lumpy
The rooms decor was tired and dated, as was the bathroom.
I will not be returning the whole experience was a disappointment

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcb08121995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#139 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,247 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#140 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#98 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,054 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#56 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,662 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, NHHotels, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing