We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location vs noise.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #252 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location!!! And great for the price. However in the website picture they photo shop all the bicycles and scooter parked on the side walk making out near impossible to enter and exit the hotel. (Like anywhere in Amsterdam be wary of bicycles) Also there is no noise insulation whatsoever!. There is a loud night club literally feet from the hotel. When we complained they gave us headphones. I am a deep sleeper and can pretty much sleep through anything but the music was soooooo loud our room was vibrating. So I would definitely recommend to get a room not close to the street. The staff here were helpful with checkin and planning out your day. It would be hard to say if I'd stay here again because the location is perfect to navigate the city and walking distance to a lot but it was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in my whole life.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess81286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

848 - 854 of 2,555 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

What a shame this hotel has great potential, but our room with faded carpets a shower that needs updating as could the lighting and décor I felt somewhat shortchanged .Finding a silver fish in the bed was not my idea of company! so the hotel bugged me for the wrong reasons including turning up to breakfast bleary eyed to be told we had not booked it ,and that would be 20 euros, as I booked the evening before it appears this was not communicated!!
The breakfast is not good value as it would cost a minimum of 30 euros for two(discounted)
However this hotel is placed in a great position and that for me is the only redeeming feature but not enough for me to stay again.
Found the front of house staff friendly and helpful enough ,but not sure how happy I would be working in such a lowly lit environment.
Is it me but the pillows were half the size of anywhere else I have stayed ,I would also expect the rooms to be serviced everyday .If this was a cheap hotel I would have lowered the standard of expectation but there are plenty of other hotels to choose from.!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Having been to Amsterdam many times this hotel is brilliant in it's location, staff
were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very clean and comfortable, ideal for a long weekend in this lovely city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This hotel is extremely well placed for central Amsterdam. On top of the flower market makes for a quiet location, with close proximity to shopping and 2 key squares for drinks and eating.
It also benefits from have several trams pass the door so access is good.
Breakfast is unrealistic at €20 but otherwise a good experience.
The staff were very helpful in arranging to see several rooms ahead of selecting the final choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed here for a 4 night break visiting sights. We found the hotel to be efficient, clean and ideally situated for all the sights. The room was quite small but had everything we needed and was clean and quiet. Overall the hotel is not very special but we had no complaints.

Room Tip: We were on 7th floor on the back side and there was some noise from late night revellers on Saturday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Being shouted at by frontline staff at reception desk is not my idea of good service.

Save your money and stay somewhere else!

Although the hotel is in a good location and all ammenities were good quailty, the poor service by one particular staff member runied the entire experience.

I was glad to leave and will not be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Arrived and our double room was a double mattress over two single beds, with two single duvets. I asked if we could get a double duvet and as there was none available the woman upgraded us to a superior room for free. Great customer service. Nice hotel. Good location. Nothing wrong with our stay at all.

Room Tip: Superior room was MUCH nicer than the standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#122 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#148 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,633 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#103 of 373 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#141 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $125 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing