We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #240 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excellent service and great location!!! Checkin/ checkout went fast. All staff was very helpful and kind. The rooms were clean and tidy. Possible to store luggage after checkout. Location was just the best. Would choose this hotel again for our next stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ingjerd Minken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    835
    627
    355
    201
See reviews for
258
1,006
128
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Good hotel, clean with friendly staff, in a prime location. Even got room upgraded free of charge on arrival. Didn't have any meals in hotel so cannot comment on food. Yeah, lovely place, lovely people. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Took the train from the airport to Amsterdam Central.Very easy to use and communication is no prob as everyone speaks english.Then short taxi ride to hotel.The NHCarlton is in a good position for exploring the city.We experienced a quick and efficient check in and the staff were welcoming.Our room(614) faced the street and it was light and airy and pleasantly quiet.This hotel may need one or two refurbishments but it is immaculately clean and real quality.I would call it 'well loved',the cleaning staff do a great job.Slept well as beds super.Bathroom had powerful hairdrier and magnifying makeup mirror .Large walk-in power shower and plenty hot water.Some rooms do have a bath.Trams and bikes (to hire)are everywhere and the lack of cars is a real pleasure.Lots of places to eat nearby,most international cuisines.The best break we have taken for a long time.The Dutch people are so friendly and laid back.We would certainly stay at this hotel again.We took a taxi back to the airport which was advertised in hotel lobby-very reasonable 45 euros for the four of us.

Room Tip: Room 614 faces street.Large room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose9865y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a very well located hotel in the centre of the city everything is within walking distance. If you want to use the tram you have the stops called Spui and Munt located on the Rokin less than 2 mins walk. If using trams recommend a day ticket eur 7.60 valid for 24hrs from time of using the ticket for the first time.Hotel is very comfortable medium size rooms back rooms are less noisy but did not have a problem with front rooms Check out is mid day. If you plan to take breakfast order on checkin as it will save eur 5 per day normal cost eur 20 per head.Plenty of cafe's in area for breakfast. For the cost nice hotel friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A short description of my stay in NH Carlton would be " i got what i paid for", but i did not want to use these words as a headline with the idea that such a headline may give the impression that this is a cheap hotel. Actually, i was looking for a hotel for me and my colleagues, which would be close to attractive places in Amsterdam, and which is clean and comfortable. And NH Carlton was exactly such a hotel. Rooms were clean, and not noisy. At least my room on the seventh floor had none of the noise in the street. Moreover, it has a small balcony where i can have a cup of coffee and enjoy the view of the city rooftops in spite of the cold weather. The hotel also has a good breakfast and there is free coffee and tea in the rooms. Free wi-fi is available both in the rooms and the lobby. We were a group of 15 people who were all businessmen and none of us had any complaints from the hotel. The staff was friendly, check-in and check out was fast enough. And finally, about the location of the hotel, all i can say that you can find almost everything around the hotel or in a 10-15 minutes walking distance. Restaurants, bars, shopping places are nearby. To sum up, i enjoyed my stay in NH Carlton, it is not a five star luxury hotel but you got everything you need for in an Amsterdam visit. I advise this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Koray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Arrived Thursday evening, worked out the tram, although we did later find out we could have walked it, check in was good, guy on reception was lovely. Room was on the 7th floor, it was quite small, but very clean and with a little balcony with great views, it had everything we needed. Walked for miles on the Friday eventually ending up in Rembrandt Square, only to find out that evening it was a 2 minute walk away. Location was great, flower market next door was amazing, loved the bar across the road, all in all a top weekend. We actually preferred the area around the hotel to Dam Square, was certainly a lot cheaper

Room Tip: 7th floor had great views
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is ideal. Middle of the city surrounded by most of the attractions. Everything is at a walking distance. Just do not worry, come out of the hotel and walk down to your desired place. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are nice and comfortable. Nice bars, restaurants, night clubs and what not nearby this hotel. We had a very nice stay in this hotel and it is really worth recommending.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripexpert562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#152 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,526 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#121 of 367 in Amsterdam
954 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#95 of 367 in Amsterdam
878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#124 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,546 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#208 of 367 in Amsterdam
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#96 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing