We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #252 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

You always get a great welcome at the NH Carlton. Great location in the heart of everything. Good value, no complaints. Nice to get room at the top floor with a balcony for city views. Nice to have the option of food in the hotel or room service. Nice touch having sweets at reception for guests to help themselves too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BernieByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

Location was good, quite easy to find after arriving at the train station - about a 20 minute walk. Check-in was fine, friendly staff at front desk.

Our room wasn't made up which was a let down and when we asked, we were told it was too late. Only a small thing, but it does reflect on the hotel.

Love the city, hopefuly will be back again soon!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Footy_Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very exellent position and services. I've been there many times for business trip. Easy to reach and close to the center. Good rooms and breakfast. Very efficient front desk and good free wifi internet connection.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabrizio I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay though our room was quite cramped and the sliding doors to the wardrobe and shelves were a nuisance. The tea tray had to be put on the floor in order to plug in the kettle. No plug by the shelve. breakfast was fine apart from cooked breakfast. Scrambled eggs and bacon usually cold and tired. Why not have cooked food near the kitchen? Would make more sense. We think the hotel is good value and hope to come again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Judith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As mentioned in the other reviews, this hotel has seen better days. However, when we arrived, we noted that the management had exerted efforts in refurbishing it. As we checked in, we were greeted by extremely courteous and efficient staff. The lobby was busy, without any of the extras (flower arrangements, plush sofas, etc) often seen in five-star hotels, but it was clean and welcoming nonetheless.

The room itself was quaint and and old-fashioned, with doors opening to a small balcony. It was definitely old, but clean. Overall a nice change from all the impersonal, cold hotel rooms usually provided in business hotels.

The internet when I went there worked fine in the lobby, it was a bit difficult though to change passwords every so often as the free internet has a time limit. This was a change from France, where the wifi was available for free in the room and also had a 3-day expiration. I must admit though that I just used the internet for surfing (no actual data downloading).

One of the best aspects of the hotel is the staff. They were extremely friendly and accommodating. They were ready with helpful information for tourists like us and could always be counted on to help with all sorts of questions. Overall, my experience with the hotel was good.

Finally, the real drawing power of the hotel is its location. Still unbeatable!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lissinmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is not new. It has a good position on Amsterdam close to old city.
The room are poor and not very very clean, sign that must to renew immediatly.
I stayed only 1 night and I choose the hotel for position.
The overal aspect are not quite good,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihaiBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

A nice enough, if slightly dated hotel. Staff friendly, location pretty good (although there are better).

However - and it's a big however - the free wifi is incredibly slow - 70 minutes to download a 39MB file on Saturday night. If you need to work - doing anything other than simple text emails - this is going to be a problem. (Earlier in the week I had been at the Luxer hotel, where the same file downloaded in less than a minute...)

The other problem was the stuffy room. Opening the windows on the street side means noise and car horns until 5am on Saturday night/Sunday morning. Aircon didn't appear to be working at all.

Room Tip: Away from the street at all costs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tquinlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,009 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#150 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,633 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#91 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#101 of 373 in Amsterdam
146 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,721 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#86 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#98 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $125 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing