We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my 3rd stay in nh carlton!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #237 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“my 3rd stay in nh carlton!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

please note that all my reviews pased on deluxe room i never booked a standard room once so i have no idea about them, the hotel manager was so kind and helpfull and gave me agood offer for adeluxe room cuz this was my 3rd long stay in nh carlton i stayed 27 night in nh carlton the room was huge and clean the location is the best all the staff was friendly and helpfull and am sure next time i will stay there thanks alot for all the staff and for the hotel manager Marcel Wijnberger.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaLaL_ShaNe3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NHCarltonAmsterdam, General Manager at NH Carlton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Dear Dalal_sha,

Thank you again for staying with us, hope to meet you again soon.

regards Marcel Wijnberger
General-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    797
    594
    331
    182
See reviews for
242
953
118
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

When we arrived there was some discussion amongst the reception staff... the room we were allocated was essentially just off the lobby, which seemed strange. It became clear to us that this room wasn't intended to be a bedroom. The bed was one that pulled down from the wall - it wasn't very comfortable. We suspect it was some sort of business meeting room that could double as a bedroom if needed. We were staying for 2 nights and so we went down to reception to see if we could change rooms. They told us they were fully booked but we could change rooms the nexrt day. The next morning we went back and asked again. The receptionist tried to tell us that it was too late to change rooms, being after 11am (they hadn't mentioned this the night before). Eventually (after pushing the point) we got given another room. The new room was absolutely fine, and if we had been given a room like that in the first place it would have been a much more enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

We stayed at the Carlton for one night, as part of a tour. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, I figured it was good to be there for only one night. The complaints about noise had me worried enough to purchase earplugs. Then, we arrived only to find that the Dutch team had won the Futbol (soccer) final; and there was "partying" galore!! I was dreading the night. So, I was surprised and happy to see that the hotel had invested in what appears to be fairly new double pane windows. With the low hum from the fan (it didn't work like air conditioning) and the new windows, we didn't hear any noise, and slept soundly. We really enjoyed our canal cruise-all the humpback bridges, houseboats, etc.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This is a nice hotel with pretty helpful staff. Everyone smiles and is cordial. There's a nice lobby and restaurant on lobby level as well. Late at night the front doors are locked and you have to intercom to the front desk clerk with name and room number in order to gain access. If you're inviting "late night" guest you'll need to be prepared to provide them this information or go down and let them in yourself. :-)

The hallways could use a little updating but hey, this isn't meant to be a permanent residence so it was fine. It's not dirty, it doesn't smell..it could just use some updating. I stayed in room 441. I think the air conditioner was broken so it was a bit warm a few times, but it wasn't so bad considering the fact that Amsterdam is one of the VERY few places in the world where you can function a day or so without air in mid August. I could have requested attention and I have confidence that they would have fixed the issue or moved my room but it wasn't that serious.

The room was actually spacious and modern overall (despite the older style TV) and the bathroom was spacious and updated. The soaking tub was nice. Clean room, clean bathroom, no insects, rodents, problems, hallway noises, etc.

I would say that this hotel is expensive. There's no doubt, especially for special events. Whew!! I'm sure most people would expect more for the $$ but it's still a reliable place by all means. For a hotel this expensive I think they need FREE WIFI THROUGHOUT THE HOTEL, BOTTOM LINE!! It's 10.70 Euro for 24 hours of access in the room, however you can only use that code for your laptop. It won't work for a mobile device if you want that wifi capability as well. They offer free (easy, fast) wifi in 30 minute blocks in the lobby and they are very generous with those access codes, however it can be a pain to go to the lobby to connect your handheld device/phone, etc. to wifi each time. It's 2011 AND WIFI SHOULD BE FREE, FREE, FREE....in every hotel, especially one that's over 200 Euro/night.

Good hotel choice. Walk to tram stop (a few blocks), grocery store, various restaurants, bars, pubs, etc. I'd stay here again without a doubt, but I'd beg for a better price too!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

my wife and i have just spent 2 nights at this hotel,though we didnt eat there,everything else was superb,we got an upgranded room,as our wasnt ready,all the staff were great,from desk to cleaners,always had a smile,and would help at every chance if needed,we will def return

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Typically Priceline doesn't let me down, but I felt a little underwhelmed when I requested a 4-star hotel in Amsterdam for three nights and ended up with the NH Carlton. I live by TripAdvisor ratings and the ratings weren't stellar for this hotel. I see why.

It's not that it's a terrible place, it's just not 4-star quality. I've stayed in several other 4-star hotels in Amsterdam and this place was 3 at best. Bed was rock hard, room was hot and air conditioning ran all night but barely cooled the room. Shower curtain barely hung low enough to keep water off the floor of the bathroom. Bed linens and pillowcases had faint stains on them. Overall the room felt very drab and dated.

I wouldn't be too excited about staying here again, although I would if push came to shove. When you use Priceline as much as I do, sometimes you run into the occasional underwhelming hotel - and this was it for me on this particular business trip.

At least the location was pretty good, just a short walk to the nearest tram stop (Keizersgracht‎, the 4, 16, 24, and 25 run here). Don't miss the fantastic Spanish restaurant nearby the hotel. Walk out the front door, cross Vijzelstraat, and go straight down the adjacent alleyway (Reguliersdwarsstraat). The restaurant is called Castillo and the tapas are out of this world. Best meal I'd had in Amsterdam to that point.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acegt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zenica, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

I've been to the NH hotels before and there are NH Hotels and NH hotels... To be on the safe side, make sure you always check the reviews.
The location is great! But my exuberance ends there.
It is a rather expensive but average hotel. The breakfast is charged 20 EUR extra. I was familiar with the rate and it was OK, but if you are not in a rush, I would suggest eating similar food at more decent prices in one of the nearby restaurants.
The room I was in was on the top floor and in a serious need of refurbishment. The bed linen was clean, so were the towels, but the carpet has definitely seen better days. Decades ago. It all looked a bit shabby; the curtains, carpet, little yellow chair in the corner, improvised shower cabin in the bathroom...
The staff at the reception desk was very kind and helpful.
Overall, I'd advise you to browse a bit more. Amsterdam is an expensive city, but I am sure you can get more for the price that you'd pay at NH Carlton.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnbiasedChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#151 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#63 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#119 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#95 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing