We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, Great staff, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Carlton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Carlton Amsterdam
Ranked #231 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersSilver level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, Great staff, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The location of this hotel was fabulous! The room was in a great location, big terrace and great view but....It was SO NOISY outside around 2:30 or 3:00 every morning when the local bars got out. We could have closed the windows and when we did it was very quiet but our no-smoking room had a pretty bad smoky AC smell and the AC never really worked so we just lived with it. The people in the hotel were very healpful and friendly and we liked the room so much, we just lived with it all. The cafe on first floor was a great place to sit outside and watch the flower market over a coffee or glass of wine,

Room Tip: Get a room on the side or back - ask for quiet, they will help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wadams4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    717
    530
    288
    161
See reviews for
210
849
110
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

The hotel is in a great location by the canals with lots of shops and restaurants close by and the flower market is right on the corner. The rooms are run down and small although the bed was comfortable and the sheets very clean and nice. The bathrooms are tiny and difficult for 1 person let alone 2.

Check in was exceedingly difficult because we'd booked online through a booking website. It took three front desk staff to figure it out while I waited 30 minutes for them to do so. And I had handed them the email confirmation when I got to the desk. Check out was similarly confused.

Breakfast for 15 Euros (if you sign up beforehand at the desk; 20 Euros if you just go in for breakfast) is not worth it. The breakfast room is nice, but the buffet is meager by Dutch standards. With so many cafes around, no reason to stay at the hotel.

The hotel was extremely helpful in arranging a meeting room for us at the last minute -- the room was arranged exactly as requested and we were able to order lunch for our small group via room service. I was quite impressed with this service.

All in all, I would not choose to stay here again but would keep it as an option should other places not be available. The location is hard to beat. Just make sure to take your paperwork with you if you book online. Probably better to book through them directly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarryNight01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
258 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The location of NH Carlton Amsterdam is to deam for: 15 minutes walk to Central Station, 5 minutes walk to Rembrandtplein, 10 minutes walk to Dam Square,15 minutes walk to museums' area, 10 minutes walk to Ice Bar...
And above all is near the splendid Flower market; it is a pleasure to walk daily by it.
Unfortunately the lady at the reception couldn't find our reservation( made one and half month ago); it took us a lot of arguing and we had to open the mail to show her the reservation: finally she found it!!!!!!!!
We got a room on the second floor overlooking the airconditioning and the bthroom was ancient; a sink on a wooden chair and the cold water tap was leaking.
We got another room on the 5th floor with street view and a better bathroom.
The hotel's site states:"The hotel is established in a monumental premises that was built in 1928, to serve as a hotel during the Olympic Games in Amsterdam. In 1985 it was bought by an Italian hotel chain and thoroughly rebuilt for two years, to restore it in its full splendour. They used the most exquisite and modern materials, which is shown by the stunning result. The hotel breaths a typical Italian atmosphere of elegance and refinement."
Unfortunately the rooms look very old, carpets have dirt spots ; the furniture looks secondhand; you have the impression it was purchesed from a garage sale.
We got a room with twinbeds and the matress was sliding on one side.
The cleaning staff is doing a great job but the rooms are too old and worn.
There are free tea and coffee making facilities.
The lobby is nice and Caruso restaurant looks exquisite: the breakfast is abundant and the table linen are elegant and sparkling.
You have to pay for internet and it is very slow.
I think that a good management would restore the rooms and give back the hotel its past glory.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mihaela11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My fiancé and I stayed at the NH Carlton for 3 nights early June - this was our third visit to Amsterdam - and we booked the hotel as a secret deal on travelocity, for circa £200 each for the three nights. Amsterdam is obviously a very expensive city and you don't get much for your money accommodation-wise.... I always spend ages reviewing hotels/ apartments; the key thing for me is to ensure the best value for money. I had worked out from the description that it was either going to be the NH Carlton or the Caransa, and was pleased it turned out to be the Carlton as the reviews of the two hotels seemed to show the Carlton as the quieter of the two.

We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who checked us in quickly and luckily, just before a huge group arrived for check-in. The lobby is as expected, quite grand in an old-skool hotel sort of way, big chandelier etc...... we went to our room to find that, for the first time ever, we had been upgraded and were in a "suite" which had a separate kitchenette area, walk-in cupboard with electronic safe, and usual bathroom with complimentary shampoo etc - the shower is great and thanfully, the shower curtain wasn't overly-affectionate (I hate them! Cringe!). The beds were very comfortable (although as usual in Europe, two singles pushed together), the pillows however were the weirdest I've ever experienced - they were a bit like sleeping on an airbag as they didn't seem to flatten when you put your head on them!! We discovered on leaving that apparently the hotel have four types of pillows to choose from - shame we didn't notice this before as it would have made our respective sleeps that much more comfortable.

This hotel is all about the location - you really are as central as you could ever hope to be, right next to the Flower Market. 15 minutes walk to Central Station, 5 minutes to the canals, 5 minutes to Rembrandplein and 15 minutes to Leidseplein/Museums. Plenty of trams as well although we didn't use them once this time round. Unfortunately, being so central has it's disadvantages in that we were disturbed throughout the night with revellers on their way out of town, groups coming back to the hotel, people leaving the cinema across the road, rubbish/delivery trucks in the morning etc etc.

In terms of other costs, we were offered breakfast at €15 per person which is frankly extortionate - there are plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby where you can get pancakes or english breakfasts with coffee for under €9 per person. Similarly, wi-fi is available in the lobby of the hotel at €9 per day. You also do need to pay the city tax on departure, which was circa €20 for the three nights There is a big bowl of sweets in reception which are free though!

All in all, I would say that this hotel is all about location but you've got to weigh up what that means for you. The hotel is definitely in need of updating, the carpets and curtains look dated and there's that lingering old hotel smell..... so I wouldn't say it's a 4* by today's standards. I feel we got good value for money having received the upgrade, however I'm afraid I don't think I would return as I would probably go for somewhere a bit quieter next time, or pay slightly more to stay somwhere a bit more current. And I would get my pillow changed!

Room Tip: Room not facing the street, or above delivery bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank domlikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I recently stayed here while on a busines trip. The room was clean and airy, the bed was comfortable and from the 5th floor I had a good view.

Check-in was an easy and pleasant experience. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of choice. Situated fairly well although quite a walk into the main centre (this does however, keep you away from the drunken stag parties and their noise, so not necessarily a negative).

I would happily return for a leisure trip.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilHunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely hotel, upgrade to superior, lot of room and quiet. Hotel desk staff were very cooperative. Included breakfast was in a beautiful dining room, better than average for Europe, not as good as in the Orient.. Well located next to the flower marked. Short walking distance to just about everything. This was our second stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biglindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedfordshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

This hotel is situated in a great position right by the flower market and probably almost in the middle of the city that you want to walk around, couldnt have been better. Stayed on the 5th floor and had a lovely room, beds comfy and clean, bathroom was a good size too. We didnt have much of a view as over looked an area in the middle and a multi storey carpark but I didnt go to Amsterdam to sit and look out of the window !! I have stayed in many a hotel in Amsterdam and this was the best I felt but was a little more expensive. I would definately stay here again. We didnt have the breakfast as was expensive and you can get more choice just a few places away for much less and have the choice you wish for. There is an additional tax to pay when leaving the hotel which I think was 5 Euros a night although I cant remember and it was only a few days ago, I didnt take much notice so it wasnt a great deal anyway. The hotel does have a bar but didnt use that either, all in all its worth going to if you want to wander around the city and the staff at reception were very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: Higher floor as streets are busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseabeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#105 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Schiller
NH Amsterdam Schiller
#145 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,267 reviews
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#129 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#101 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,140 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Albus
The Albus
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,691 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Carlton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Carlton Amsterdam

Property: NH Carlton Amsterdam
Address: Vijzelstraat 4, 1017 HK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Carlton Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant NH Carlton Amsterdam hotel is the perfect destination for travelers looking to explore the Dutch capital. Thanks to a prime location in the center of the city, guests have a multitude of recreational and sightseeing activities within their grasp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, NHHotels, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your NH Carlton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Carlton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing