We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, quick service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vapiano

Vapiano
Ranked #924 of 3,725 Restaurants in Amsterdam
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
111 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

The concept is simple: You get a card when you enter the restaurant and go to different stations to order pizza, pasta, desserts, etc. The cooks swipe your card as they cook your food fresh for you. We ate here on a Friday night and the crowd wasn't too large. We got our pizza and pastas fairly quickly. The cheesecake was kinda tasteless though. The restrooms were clean and maintained. The cashier and chefs were all very nice, and the restaurant itself was one of the cleanest we ate at while in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank deebeeinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    224
    95
    39
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool place with delicious Italian food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have eaten at this place two times. Back in 2011, and again last month. Next time we are visiting Amsterdam we will definitely return to this place. It is like restaurant edition of IKEA. You get the food really quick, you are looking at the chef while he is cocking it, and the whole place is really cool. The food may be one of the best Italian dishes we have ever eaten ! And the food is cheap as well. The location is also nice. Close to the central station, building is the same as the bibliotheca.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A new way to eat fir everyone!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stumbled on this place whilst out for a walk. It's absolutely huge over two floors. It has a great view of the harbour on your left and you look into the library on your right. You are given a card and you proceed upstairs where the chefs make your food as you order. A selection if salads and antipasti , pizzas and pastas. You swipe card each time you order. The same at the bar. Very friendly and helpful staff. Full bar including cocktails . Very reasonably priced. You can sit outside at ground or upper level.i had a small Cesar which was huge and delicious and the same with my spaghetti . My glass of prosecco was served in a white wine glass full to the top . Fantastic value. It's a 5min. Walk from Amsterdam central station. It's really worth checking out. Apparently there is one in NYC. Enjoy .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annie_champagne2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Value for money but rude personnel and poor service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I generally like the Vapiano concept, but both restaurants in Amsterdam need urgently some customer service improvements. Some employees (actually many of them) are super rude and way too far from being customer oriented. The food is good and definitely value for money, but dirty plates and glasses remain on the tables for ever, after the guests have left. No one bothers to clean a table even when they are not that busy and this is not anyway an excuse. Although I've been coming to Vapiano for a very long time as I live in Amsterdam, I never got used to that annoying and extremely loud sound when throwing the empty bottles in the bin. How customer friendly is that?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manolo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sweet Italian for great quality/value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Vapiano near the Amsterdam Central Station is a great place to eat well for reasonable money, considering the high prices of good restaurants in Amsterdam.

Fresh herbs, fresh pasta, quality ingredients, a pretty decent regular menu with good dishes (anti-pasti, salads, pizzas, great prices and 2 or 3 different dishes of pizza and pasta now and then, are the key to make this young restaurant a hit and shouldn't miss for me.

The staff is also friendly, which helps the experience, and it's full of young people there, given that it's also the public Amsterdam library building.

It even has nice a view to the canal.

Although this is a fast food restaurant, it really doesn't seem that fast neither it seems to fit in that category, which makes me wonder what happened if most fast food chains had the quality of this Vapiano.

PS - I also recommend everyone to ask for some bread slices in a plate and dip them in an olive oil and balsamic vinegar mix (if you like a bit of spicy, just use some of the olive oil with malaguetas in it, it's great)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SamuelCord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vapiano also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vapiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing