We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for a few days on business and enjoyed my stay.
Pros: Great location on a canal with nice gardens . Room overlooked Amsterdam and location was convenient to walk into town without being in the middle of all the hustle and bustle. Rooms were well appointed. Gym was attached to hotel and looked like it has a lot of decent workout facilities although I never had the chance to use them. Food served at conferences was good

Cons: Beds were very hard surprising given the trend to softer 'heavenly' type beds by the major chains. Front desk was overwhelmed at times and did not answer the phone when I rang down.

Room Tip: Get a room on the upper floors with a view facing the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Chriw,

Thank you for taking the time to review Hilton Amsterdam!

It is fantastic to hear you enjoyed your last stay with us. We are proud of the hotel's location, located just between the business district and the old town it provides our guests with everything they need.

Your comment regarding the beds and the Front Desk are taken into account and shared within the team. All our beds have super toppers to increase comfort and to find the right balance between support and softness. I hope we can make your next stay more comfortable.

Wishing you all the best from Amsterdam,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    844
    263
    95
    42
See reviews for
377
1,086
141
731
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed there two nights a week or so ago. Very nice. Service was outstanding. Beautiful views of the canal. Room was clean and pretty good. Location is a little far from the nightlife but taxis or the tram is easily available. The tram can easily take you to the museum area and central Amsterdam. More of a business hotel but I had a great experience. However be prepared to drop some Euros if you want food or drink.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jman4801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Jman,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities. I have immediately shared your positive comments with the Team and they were happy to hear that their efforts paid off. Our gift shop sells 24H public transport access tickets, which are very convenient for city exploration.

I hope we may welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my family. We arrived at the hotel at 7:30am fully expecting to just be able to drop off our stuff pending a 3pm check-in. We were very surprised and happy when our two rooms were ready for us immediately. We had lovely canal view rooms, which appeared to have been renovated fairly recently. Excellent and free wi-fi was easy to access and had good bandwidth. Our rate included breakfast, which was excellent. It included an excellent buffet selection coupled with made-to-order french toast and eggs. The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, but just a 10 minute walk to the museum area and close to the tram. If you looking for a hotel in Amsterdam, you can't go wrong with Hilton!

Room Tip: Canal-view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Harvlaw

Thank you for your detailed review about Hilton Amsterdam.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our excellent service and that you found our location convenient. Indeed, we offer free Wi-Fi in all of our public area’s including bar and restaurant.

Your positive comments have been shared with the breakfast team and they were pleased to hear that their efforts are acknowledged.

For your next visit I would highly recommend to take an afternoon stroll through the Vondelpark which is located just behind the hotel.

I hope we may welcome you again with us soon.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was a very nice hotel that had very clean rooms and excellent service. We had a problem with our room but this was quickly dealt with by a very helpful team of staff. The italian restaurant was also exquisite, and there was a large array of food at breakfast. The only downside of this hotel is that it is not located in the very centre of the city, but I did not find this a problem and in fact quite the opposite. The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located in is very quiet and family friendly, with the voldenpark round the corner through which you can walk to the centre of the city. The museum area is also in close proximity. There is also a tram which passes very close to the hotel which can take you all around amsterdam. Although you are not right in the centre of the city this can be an advantage as Amsterdam is a very noisy and busy city and sometimes this can be overwhelming. All in all a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the garden not the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Nicola,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed the excellent service and the location. It is very convenient to take tram 16 towards the city centre. It departs right behind the hotel as you mentioned.

I have personally shared your recommendations regarding Roberto’s Restaurant with the team and I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Level Contributor
287 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is my second review of this hotel. My last review was over a year ago. Still the same great service. I like the location of the quiet upscale residential neighborhood. Stayed in a junior suite on the club level and had access to the Executive Lounge. The hotel is located on a canal and there are a number of excellent restaurants within a short walking distance of the hotel. I have reviewed these. Check in was easy as was check out. The concierge staff is excellent at making reservations for restaurants, providing directions to museums, etc. You have the option of having breakfast on the executive level or in the downstairs restaurant. We opted for the restaurant as you have more options. They have an excellent buffet with cold meats and fish, cheeses, bacon, eggs, sausages, breads, cereals, yogurts, etc. If you can't find what you want, they will make it for you. My wife had poached eggs most mornings and we stayed 8 nights at this Hilton. When in Amsterdam, this is my "Go To" hotel. The tram stops are close to the hotel and it was enjoyable riding the trams around Amsterdam. Tram cards can be purchased in the gift shop at the hotel or you can purchase online passes that cover transportation as well as entrance fees to museums.

Room Tip: I absolutely recommend booking a junior suite with a balcony. Be sure to ask for one with a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Plasmid,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam again. It is because of guest like you we can keep improving our services and facilities.

Your detailed comments about your stay find me very well. I am pleased to hear that all of our staff contributed to make you stay as comfortable as possible. I have personally shared your positive comments with them. Our concierge and its team are one of the best in Amsterdam and I am pleased you also experienced it that way.

I look forward to welcome you again in Hilton Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
169 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

We enjoyed the hotel and everything was good. Well kept older hotel with spacious rooms. It is a little out of the town center, but close to the train. There is a great roof top lounge that has some nice views and it does sit on a canal that is very nice. We would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravelfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Lovetotravelfamily,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am happy to hear to you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the Executive Lounge. On the 10th floor you have a fantastic 360⁰ panoramic view of the city of Amsterdam.

The hotel is indeed located in the most upscale area of Amsterdam ‘Oud-Zuid’, which is just outside the somewhat busy city centre. Multiple trams depart close to the hotel and take you into the old city centre in 10 minutes. All the major museums are within walking distance in about 10 minutes as well.

Your positive review works as great motivation for the team to continue the high quality service you expect from us.

I hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Excellent hotel with the best mattress and view of the city. Great service. Loved the views. Stayed 4 days and loved it.

The only catch is that it is a distant away from the city and you are not really near any restaurant. It was my first trip to Amsterdam and I did get a little lost trying to figure out how to get to the city.

Room Tip: Ask for one on a high floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anu_Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Anu_Singapore,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is with great pleasure that I have shared your positive review with our Team Members.

The hotel is located in a more quiet residential area of the city and is surrounded by many restaurants and bars. Our concierge will be more than happy to point you in the right direction during you next visit.

It is with the help of guests like you we can keep improving our services and facilities. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are meeting your expectations and I hope we may look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#88 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing