We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and beyond service!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #46 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Above and beyond service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Well spent 7 days there and from the front desk to the bellman to the restaurant staff 100% exceptional. I felt at home!! First Johnny the breakfast chef... Can't make you feel more at home than him... Always wanted to make us something special to eat so finally one day we said yes and made us special pancakes with berries... Wow!!! He makes everyone feel at home... Then the front desk staff... Goes out of their way with any request you might have... And at Roberto's restaurant at night Giuseppe the waiter...he made us every night have a wonderful experience ...From my special bowl of Parmesan to his smile....rooms are comfortable and great canal area in back with dock... Totally recommend except not in the city center but 20 euro cab ride.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear boti,

Thank you very much for your praising words of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is delightful to read that, during your 7 days stay with us, all Team Members were 100% exceptional. We know from experience how important it is to feel at home.

Your kind words have been shared with all Team Members, including Johnny and Giuseppe. They truly know how to make the difference!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,240
    750
    234
    83
    38
See reviews for
306
932
131
633
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

The setting of the terrace by the canal is fantastic! Very relaxing! Especially service and politeness of the hotel staff at Half moon lounge (especially Sofia)! I strongly suggest it! The prices are above average but this is expected for a bar situated in Hilton hotel ( 2 beers 15€)! Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sotiria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sotiria,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and your recommendation finds me well.

I have personally shared your positivity with the team and especially with Sofia. The theatre set-up of the terrace gives everybody its own unique view of the garden and marina.

I hope to get the chance to welcome you again with us in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

With the great weather you would not find a greater position next to the river. It is also a great position close to Vondelpark. Staff very helpful. Price slightly on the high side. Wifi quite expensive. Close to public transport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pierre F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Pierre,

Thank you for reviewing Hilton Amsterdam.

It is with great pleasure that I reply to your fantastic review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location of our hotel. The accessibility of the hotel is one of its strong points and offers you many opportunities to see the city or its surroundings. I have shared you positive comment with the staff and take your notes about the pricing very seriously.

I hope to welcome you soon with us again.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton hotel during a business trip to Amsterdam. I didn´t have too much time to enjoy their different ammenities, but I certainly would recommend this hotel for anybody on business who needs a quiet place to rest, work from and/or have a meeting. Also, the professionals working at the hotel where always atentive and helpful. Really nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Inmaculada V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Inmaculada,

Thank you for letting us know how we are meeting your expectations.

It is great to hear that our service and facilities were to your liking. One of the hotel strong points is the location. It is situated precisely between the business district and the old city centre which provides our guest with the peace and quiet they need to rest and work but also the buzz of the city just around the corner. I hope we can welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The hotel was very pleasant and the staff were very willing to assist. We were upgraded to a canal view room and were arriving early so I had arranged to drop off the luggage early and before we could book in. However on arrival the room was ready and we were able to check in and put our luggage in the room.

I notice on some reviews there are comments regarding the cost of getting into Amsterdam by Taxi however the 16 & 5 Trams can be picked up just round the corner from the hotel and the trams are €2.8 for a 1 hour ticket or €7.50 for 24 hours of unlimited travel around the city which makes it great value.

The terrace overlooking the canal was great for drinks and to relax but having eaten in the hotel the prices were excessive (€26.50 for breakfast) and the main restaurant and bar were very expensive and were not good value, unless you are on expenses I would suggest you look elsewhere. if you come out of the hotel turn left and left again and cross the main road there is a fantastic cafe/bakers for refreshments or head into Amsterdam to eat.

Other than that the hotel is great and they also offer a fixed price €35 taxi service to the airport. Whilst it is a little out of town this was actually quite nice and with the ease of getting in on the trams (approx 15min on a 16 to Dam Square) it was a better option than being in the centre of things.

I will stay there again in future.

Room Tip: The canal view rooms are nice but the Hotel is in a quiet residential area so it just depends if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Modorator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Modorator,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Amsterdam.

With great detail you describe how you experienced your stay with us. It is with guest like you we can truly improve our services and facilities. I am very glad to hear that you found our location and services convenient. I take your comment regarding the value for money very seriously and have immediately discussed them with team to see how we can improve this matter. I hope to get the chance to welcome you in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level Contributor
194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

What a fabulous hotel!
I was on a tour so we obviously got this at a good rate. I spent 3 extra nights on my own after the tour and the hotel wanted too much money so I found a B&B. But I definitely felt spoiled for sure after being in this luxurious hotel it was hard to settle in the B&B even though it was OK.
I loved my room. The towels are big and soft. I loved the robe and slippers. The hairdryer is in the drawer under the TV. It says so in the bathroom about that.
The rooms have a coffee maker with real cups and saucers, no paper cups! Awesome!
I enjoyed the breakfast: bacon, sausage, eggs, variety of fruit,cold cuts, cheeses, variety of cereals to choose form, biscuits/crackers. The staff serve you orange juice and coffee.
There is an ATM machine across the street.
There is free WIFI in the lobby but not in the rooms. And if you’re like me and didn’t bring a computer device, they do have a business centre with three PCs and a printer.
If you need to use the tram, it’s #16 and the stop is DeLairessestraat (it’s also the name of the street that’s a couple of blocks from the hotel where you need to catch the tram). The tram heads straight for the Dam and Central Station.
The one drawback, the drinks are overpriced. The first night the group got there, it was so nice we went to sit outside overlooking the water. I ordered tea (at 6 Euros) and even asked for more hot water. Go to the store about a 10 minute walk and get some drinks and take back to the room. Cheaper.

Room Tip: Loved the bathrobe and slippers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerKitchener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Traveller,

Thank you for your amazing review of Hilton Amsterdam.

With such great detail you have described you stay with us. I have personally shared you fantastic comments with the team. It is great to hear you experienced a very convenient time with us.
We hope to welcome you again soon with us.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well what can I say about this hotel it's amazing. The staff are so helpful, friendly and professional. Very comfortable beds and rooms. Great location, really lovely area of Amsterdam. 27mins from airport on the train and tram. 10min walk into the museum quarter. Beautifully terrace out the back of the hotel to enjoy a coffee or drink in the eve overlooking the canal. We just loved every minuet of our 3 day stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Hayley,

Many thanks for your fantastic review of Hilton Amsterdam.

I am very happy to hear that you had such a great experience with us. We place high value on quality service and the level of comfort. The location provides you with all the option you might need during you business or city trip.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Wishing you all the best,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,053 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#81 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 845 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing