We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice hotel & good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #46 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    758
    237
    83
    41
See reviews for
310
945
132
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
kendall Park, NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I recently had the pleasure of visiting this very comfortable Hilton which I found to be in a very quiet neighborhood in Amsterdam.
Our upgraded room was ready upon our arrival, the view was wonderful I have no negatives to mention at all
The tram from Amsterdam Zud is easy to find and the ride into the city was very easy also.
I would like to thank the manager for the chocolate eggs on Easter Sunday (nice touch)
I would have no hesitations to visit this hotel in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Mr Ron B.

Thank you for you kind words regarding your last stay with the Hilton Amsterdam!

It makes me happy that the upgraded room was to your satisfaction and that the view of Amsterdam pleased you as well. The tram lines 5, 16 and 24, which depart just behind the hotel, take you to the main attractions of the town including Museum district, Dam Square and much more. Did you know that our concierge provides a 24H ticket? With the OV card you can travel in all tram and metro lines, no hassle buying a 1H ticket every time, just one card for the whole day! Current price is only €8,-.

I hope to welcome you again in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody that is visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is bright and airy with a friendly atmosphere from the start. The rooms were spacious, clean with a modern feeling. We were fortunate to have a room over looking the canal and great views of Amsterdam. The hotel staff could not have been more friendly. They made us feel very relaxed and welcome from the receptionist to the bar staff. The bar staff even remembered our drinks from one day to the next - very impressed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mrs / Mr BRM73

Warm greetings from Hilton Amsterdam!

I would like to thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us. I am very happy to hear that the hotel is to your liking and that the great view of Amsterdam satisfied you. In your writing you mention the friendly and helpful hotel staff; I have personally passed on you positive comments regarding their effort to deliver 5 star services to the team, especially to the Half Moon Lounge from which the team members take pride in knowing the preferences of their guests. They are honoured to hear that their effort is acknowledged.

In the coming weeks the weather forecast predicts lovely weather and the best way to enjoy the sunshine is on our Garden Terrace where you can experience the same quality service you so appreciated during your last stay.

We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

My wife and I were guests at the Hilton Amsterdam from 19 – 22 April. This is an exceptionally busy weekend, due to Easter and the peak tulip season.

I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and stay at Hilton properties all over the world. I'm rarely disappointed with Hilton properties, but this one "raised the bar"--we had a wonderful stay. Although the property is beautiful, it was the actions of the team members that made our time in the hotel so memorable.

From the front desk to the concierge to the Executive Lounge; the bar, Roberto’s at breakfast, and also the lady that does the turn-down service---everyone was cheerful, friendly, efficient, and very helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Live-On-The-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mr and Mrs Live-on-the-Road,

Thank you for sharing your experience in the Hilton Amsterdam again, I was already happy to answer to you the first time and seeing that you are willing to share it with fellow travellers make me even more proud.

Do you already know that the Hilton Amsterdam has the John & Yoko honeymoon suite in which in 1969 John Lennon and Yoko Ono had their famous bed in peace moment or about our suite inspired by the ‘Sterrennacht’ by Vincent van Gogh?

We hope this reply finds you well and that we can welcome you and your wife again in the near future to experience everything else the Hilton Amsterdam and the City of Amsterdam have to offer.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ingleby barwick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

its all you would expect from a hotel chain like the hilton , we were given an excecutive suite which was a bonus . as a watch out the mini bar prices are riddiculas so its best to buy your own snacks . but overall staff were great and the room was lovely , however the shower was not very powerful . centrally located about a mile from the centre

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ms. shirley442,

Your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

We’re delighted to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade to the Executive Suite.
Please rest assured, your feedback regarding the pressure in the shower has been communicated to our Engineering Team.

The kind words you have shared regarding our Team Members have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent one night here before our Rhine river cruise began. The hotel is modern and comfortable. Everyone we dealt with on the staff was friendly and exceptionally helpful. We had room service bring dinner (which was delicious) and the buffet breakfast in the morning. We had many questions which were all fully answered to make our brief time in Amsterdam the best visit possible.

It's on a quiet canal and walking distance to several museums, including the Van Gogh museum.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purselady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Ms. purselady 1,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Hilton Amsterdam before your Rhine river cruise and for describing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that you have found all our Team Members to be friendly and exceptionally helpful. They take great pride in providing excellent service.

We all hope to meet you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Arlington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

From check in to check out everything was exceptional - concierge made great recommendations - canal view room is worth the extra expense - highly recommend the lounge with fireplace as a place to relax and have a nice drink. Not in the center of everything but a great escape from the chaos and easily accessible to tourist sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Triste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mrs. Triste B,

Thank you very much for describing your stay at Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true delight to read that everything was exceptional from check in to check out. Always feel free to ask our concierge for their recommendations, because they would be more than happy to assist you to make the best of your time in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 977 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#97 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing