We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best experiences” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hilton Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25% Off
Ranked #48 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Arlington, United States
1 review
“One of our best experiences”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

From check in to check out everything was exceptional - concierge made great recommendations - canal view room is worth the extra expense - highly recommend the lounge with fireplace as a place to relax and have a nice drink. Not in the center of everything but a great escape from the chaos and easily accessible to tourist sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Triste B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mrs. Triste B,

Thank you very much for describing your stay at Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true delight to read that everything was exceptional from check in to check out. Always feel free to ask our concierge for their recommendations, because they would be more than happy to assist you to make the best of your time in Amsterdam.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    734
    229
    84
    38
See reviews for
287
903
127
626
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed two nights at this hotel. Though not in the center of Amsterdam, I would recommend this hotel. It is situated in a quiet part in the south of Amsterdam. A short ride on the tram gets you to Leidse square and the Dam.
Breakfast in the clubroom is okay. This is the less crowded clubroom I ever encountered in the Hilton group. Very relaxed, also for evening drinks and fingerfood.
The coffeeshop (no drugs!) in the lobby is excellent. Great coffee and barrista.
In the room we got a present every day on a nice display (fresh strawberries, macarons).
There is a great terrace by the waterside in the backyard.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john_op_vakantie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Mr. john_op_vakantie,

What a wonderful review of Hilton Amsterdam!

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed the daily refreshments. Our Garden Terrace is indeed beautifully located besides the Noorder Amstelkanaal.

Our barista and the rest of our Team Members are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen
Level Contributor
155 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. We were impressed by the great service, cleanliness and the convenient setting. They had a great restaurant, Roberto's, where we had a buffet breakfast each morning. We also had two Italian dinners and enjoyed the dinners both nights. Very polite service and friendly attitude, as well as delicious dinners.

This is not an inexpensive hotel but we appreciated the friendliness of the staff and their very helpful attitudes. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: View of the canal is wonderful and worth the price of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corkiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Ms. corkiek,

It is a delight that you have taken the time to describe your experiences at Hilton Amsterdam.

Your kind words about our service, cleanliness and Roberto’s Restaurant fill us with pride and help us to spread the light and warmth of hospitality.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Very good hotel and excellent staff. But spend the extra for a junior suite which we really enjoyed. It's not in the centre but tram is nearby and frequent. There is a garden terrace by the canal which is a great place for food and drinks if the sun shines; a nice feature for a city hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Stephen A,

Thank you very much for staying with us and describing your experience here on TripAdvisor.

It is delightful to read that you enjoyed your Junior Suite. The Garden Terrace is indeed a great place for food and drinks, especially during the summer months.

We hope to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

In a big and busy city like Amsterdam the windows should be sound-proof. At the Amsterdam Hilton they are not so you enjoy the street sounds.

The staff that I met could not care less. Poor service and on the bill were unjustified amounts, adding up substantially. I called my Dutch mobile phone to check if it worked. Did not answer it. Price: Over € 3,60 plus a lot mystery amounts of the mini bar.

A receptionist who did not speak Dutch (in Amsterdam?) said: ‘At the Hilton we don’t argue about a few euro’s.’

The rooms are okay but price/quality is far below level.

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Simon H,

Thank you for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

We are to sorry to read that you experienced the noise from the streets. Would you be so kind to send us a direct e-mail with the information regarding your stay with us to operations.amsterdam@hilton.com, so that we can update your guest profile. With this information on file, we would be able to assign you a quiet canal view room upon if availability permits.

We hope that, despite this experience, we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Things I liked:
Friendly, helpful staff;
A bit out of the city (but not too far), so no noisy drunks;
Just a short walk to a tram stop into the city (the hotel sells tickets at a slight mark up - but don't bother as you can buy tickets on the tram)
The hotel rents bicycles at reasonable rates

Things I didn't like so much:
Breakfast ridiculously priced - so we self-catered, but..;
The fridge is full of junk food and drinks and if you move them to make space for your stuff, it racks up on your bill. The hotel was good about correcting this, but its a darned nuisance - feels like the hotel is more interested in $$ than the convenience of guests.
The decor in our room was tired and dated.
Wireless internet in the rooms is charged at extortionate rates. I still can't believe there are places that do this. Wireless in the foyer is free.

Overall, it's an adequate hotel, but not quite the style one normally associates with the Hilton brand name. This seems to have escaped management, who try a bit of the price gouging one more usually associates with classier places.

John Lennon fans can go to the 9th floor and gawk at the door of the Presidential suite (902) where he had his bed-in with Yoko Ono in 1969.

Room Tip: A room at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal would probably be better than the front (where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbit83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear rabbit83,

Thank you very much for your extensive review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that you liked our friendly, helpful staff.

Your comment regarding pricing is one that we take seriously. I would like to inform you that Our range of different breakfast offers are available as of €20,-. ISSIMO coffee bar, open on weekdays as of 7 AM, offers a variety of breakfast items but also a breakfast menu which includes coffee, croissant and fresh fruit juice or fruit salad for only €8,-.
Our minibar indeed register the products used to increase efficiency upon checkout. For the inconvenience this has caused you, we would like to offer our apologies.

I wish you are well and hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed at the hotel over Easter weekend and loved my time there! I have stayed at this hotel before and always find the staff friendly and welcoming. I received an upgrade on check in, it was gratefully appreciated :) the staff at Reception were warm and offered advice on how to get to see the city’s main sites and in the Executive Lounge they even welcomed us even though we were a little late for breakfast and kept the food out a little longer for us.

Great hotel, lovely quiet location backing onto a canal and we enjoyed coffee the following morning on the terrace!

Would definitely recommend this property!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Sally,

Thank you for your review and recommendation of Hilton Amsterdam!

I really appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge the team and their services. We strive for the best personal and attentive service and I am happy you perceived it that way. Indeed the Executive Lounge has a stunning 360⁰ panoramic view of the City of Amsterdam; A very nice place to enjoy canapés and drinks whilst looking over the city.

I hope to get the chance to meet you during your next visit.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,999 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#90 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing