We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“City Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Great place to stay. Hotel is located very nice, staff is very friendly! We really enjoed the stay for a long weekend. All attractions of the city could be reached quite easily. The rooms are very nice, ask for a room with view to the canal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Thomas R,

What a great review here on TripAdvisor!

It is a delight to read that you enjoyed your long weekend stay and your kind words about our Team Members are highly appreciated.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,478
    844
    263
    95
    42
See reviews for
377
1,086
141
731
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having stayed there several times already this was just as good a stay as always. Convenient parking, quiet location yet easily connected by tram or bicycles (!), lovely staff, nice upgrade to the executive floor and my favourite the Half Moon Bar, a cozy reminder of the original bar from 1962 complete with fire place and the original chairs. The GM, Roberto Payer, has managed to put together a great team and makes sure that the hotel retains its unique character just like when it was the place for the bed-in by John Lennon and Yoko Ono.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor and canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnookie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Schnookie19,

Thank you for regularly staying at Hilton Amsterdam. Valuable guests like you are highly appreciated.

It is a delight to read that you like the unique character of the hotel and that the Half Moon Lounge is your favorite.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as last year if not better! Having stayed last year we were upgraded to a suite plus adjoining double room. Perfect! Staff in the business lounge were as lovely as last year and went out of their way to be helpful. We ate in main restaurant for breakfast on outlast stay and every one there was fantastic! Johnny the head chef made our sone the best pancakes ever, and the took both children on a tour of the kitchens. We were then given boxes to fill from the breakfast bar and take as our picnic lunch. So lovely. The hotel is the perfect place to stay. The tram stop is just behind the hotel, and it takes 15 minutes to get into the city centre, stopping at many sights on the way. It means you are staying so close to the city but without all the noise. Lovely to ride back on at the end of the day and watch the world go by. We stay in many Hiltons and this is one of the best in every respect! Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlewis1575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. jlewis1575,

It was lovely to find your extensive review here on TripAdvisor.

We hope that you enjoyed the upgrade to one of our suites. Our Team Members in both the Executive Lounge and Roberto’s Restaurant are truly magnificent and create lasting memories. For example by preparing a picnic box for you.

We hope that we may welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Check in went smoothly despite a sour person behind the counter at reception..!
The room was fine and had coffee/tea making facilities that we like to use. The hotel appeared to be quite full but we werent disturbed by noise inside or outside.
We did not have breakfast included and found the price for breakfast too expensive so we ate elsewhere. There are some lovely shops, restaurants a few minutes walk away across the bridge.
The tram stop isnt far away either and was very efficient for going into the city centre.
We really liked the location and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. TSOslo,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to describe your stay with us here in TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that your check in went smoothly and that you weren’t disturbed by any noise. Oud Zuid is indeed a perfect neighborhood for exclusive shopping and eating out.

We hope that Hilton Amsterdam will be your first choice again when returning to Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel was great. We were traveling with a dog, they put a dog bed and bowls out for the dog. As others have said it was not in the heart of the city, but there are taxi stands just across the street. There are great restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very helpful. I would recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Ms. Amy V,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that you and your dog had a great time. We believe that your dog should be treated as one of our valuable guests as well.

Your recommendation is highly appreciated and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Yes, breakfast was my favourite part of our stay! Nice orange juice and a lot of hot and cold choice. Rooms are maybe a bit dated, but clean and the size is ok. Staff is friendly and will always advise where you should go!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ms. Maya G,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

The breakfast team at Roberto’s Restaurant is honored that the breakfast was the favorite part of your stay. We are pleased to read that all Team Members were friendly to you. They take great pride in delivering exceptional service to our guests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Hilton Amsterdam, a Jewel not to be missed !
Whilst staying in the City of Diamonds, Hilton Amsterdam is a must !
Located in a lovely and quiet area, one really can find peace and
serenity whilst enjoying fantastic views of the city.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and offer all amenities you
would expect from a 5* hotel.
Staff is absolutely friendly and caters to any of your needs. And with a smile !
That smile follows you all the way from reception, passing through the
delightful bar and even at the executive lounge, which is on the top
floor of the hotel.
And yes, something you should not miss at all whilst on the premises:
The Wow Breakfast.
It is a real feast ! Indulge yourself to the Chef's daily arrangements
for fresh dishes, including the 'one and only' fruits and pancakes. He
really knows what he is talking about ...
Truly a memorable stay, to be repeated again and again !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbobxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. dbobxl,

What a beautiful review of Hilton Amsterdam!

It is with great satisfaction that we have read your words ‘a Jewel not to be missed’. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you have found peace and serenity whilst enjoying fantastic views of the city.

Our Team Members are the true gem within our hotel and look after our guests with a smile.

We hope that you will return to our hotel and enjoy more pancakes at Roberto’s Restaurant during breakfast.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#25 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#88 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing