We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #46 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great hotel, a bit far from the city center. It was difficult to get something to eat at night nearby. The wi-fi should be free in this kind of hotels.
Great view, lovely decoration and great room service. A bell boy was kind enough to show us the John & Yoko honeymoon suite. Amazing experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLR172014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. MLR172014,

Thank you very much for leaving your review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is a great delight to learn that you had a great stay with us and that seeing the John & Yoko Suite was an amazing experience.

Thank you for your feedback concerning Wi-Fi. Please be advised that as of this year we are offering complimentary internet in all public areas.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,260
    758
    238
    83
    41
See reviews for
310
947
132
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Playa de Gandia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I had a pleasant weekend stay at the Hotel and enjoyed one of
the best meals at Roberto's Italian Restaurant of the Hotel.
The staff hotel is very competent and polite. I would like
to mention the excellent attention I have received from
Estefania in charge of the Executive Lounge and from
George in the reception.desk.
I recommend this Hotel without any doubt and I hope
to repeat my stay as soon as possible.
Herrera

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Haherrera,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to describe how you experienced your stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

It is a delight to read that your meal at Roberto’s Restaurant was one of the best meals you enjoyed.
Your kind words have been shared with all our Team Members and especially with Stefania and Jorge.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel as soon as possible as well.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week and I can honestly say the staff at the Hilton are the best hotel staff we gave come across. From check in to bar staff to restaurant staff , to door and conceiarge staff. They make this hotel special in every way. Our overall stay was a pleasure. The breakfast staff are amazing and so is the buffet 10 out of 10 there.
The only reason I haven't given the hotel a 5 is I can't get my head round €8.50 fo a pint of Heineken and €23 for a club sandwich sorry about this.
Great stay would go back 100%

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrianGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr. BrianGreen,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

For every single one of our Team Members it is a true delight to read that they have made your stay with us special. Being mentioned as ‘the best hotel staff ever’ fills them with great pride and joy.

We, at Hilton Amsterdam, are already looking forward to your next visit to Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have stayed there on numerous occasions (usually work related). The hotel is nice, especially the bar area, with the amazing fireplace (not to miss on wintry evening!!) Good location if you want to escape the very crazy center. All in all a lovely hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Mal R,

Thank you for staying with us more regularly, it is highly appreciated.

The fireplaces, both in Roberto’s Restaurant and the Half Moon Lounge, certainly create a warm atmosphere on winter evenings. For the spring and summer periods we have a selection of perfectly located terraces. You could for example, enjoy spring in our garden, with terraces overlooking the water. Or experience the feeling of spring with an Italian lunch or dinner on Roberto’s Terrazza.
In our River Dining restaurant we serve seafood dishes on the waterfront under our Italian ‘Gazebo’ at the marina.

We hope to welcome you back as a guest of Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Amsterdam Hilton is a truly first-rate hotel. Customer service was impeccable: from Nico and Martijn at Concierge, to Arjan and Carlos at breakfast. And breakfast was impressive, with gourmet eggs and pancakes to order, made to look as picturesque as a Vermeer. For a businessperson, my room was everything desirable: modern, with plenty of laptop desk space and outlets, a good strong shower, heavenly duvets, and the bonus of a delightful view of the canal. A number of reviewers speak to the location, but to the Dutch, this is the posh part of town: the Upper East Side of New York, the Georgetown of Washington. I walked a civilized 15-20 minutes to the train station (Amsterdam Zuid). There’s a bustling shopping street even closer by, with grocery shopping (Albert Heijn) and all of the necessities. The next time my business travels take me through Amsterdam, I’ve decided that I’ll definitely return to the Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I_am_a_Washingtonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Ms. I_am_a_Washingtonian,

What a kind words about Hilton Amsterdam!

Your special mention of Nico and Martijn at Concierge and Arjen and Carlos at breakfast in Roberto’s Restaurant has been shared with them.

With our close proximity to Museum Square, with world renowned museum like the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Stedelijk Museum, it is a true honor that our breakfast was conceived as picturesque as a Vermeer.

That your room was everything desirable for a businessperson is also great feedback and we are looking forward to your next business travels that take you through Amsterdam.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place definitely deserves a five star rating. Beautiful decor, internal and exterior. My room was very well appointed. The wood trim and closet is such an upscale, classy touch. The bathroom with a real tub! I took a luxuriating bath and relaxed for an hour. The restaurant on the canal is a serene and picturesque setting. This is a great place for couples. I wish I could say more about the hotels location, but I was in Amsterdam on business. Didn't see much.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mr. DandyMT,

What a wonderful pictures to support your review of Hilton Amsterdam!

We would like to thank you for staying with us and rating us with 5 stars. A relaxing bath can be a real treat. Did you also enjoy our Peter Thomas Roth bathroom amenities, which have been carefully selected?

We hope that you have the chance to visit Amsterdam on a leisure trip and that we will be your first choice on that occasion.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Hotel was not located near the city center....had to walk 20 minutes to reach the city center. Hotel had bikes but did not have child seats for bikes. The restaurant for dinner was excellent...great service and delicious food. Concierge staff was helpful and very attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Aiden0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Mr. Aiden0126,

Thank you very much for also having taken the time to describe your experience with us here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that your dinner in Roberto’s Restaurant was excellent, both in service and food. Our concierge Team Members are honored that you particularly mention them.

Your comment regarding the child seats for our hotel bikes is a great tip and will be examined for future implementation.

We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hilton Amsterdam in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,085 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#97 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing