We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We booked a 2 night stay here. After a long, tedious ferry ride from the UK we were looking forward to checking in and doing nothing for a few hours. When we arrived, our room was not yet ready and we were told it would be an hour wait. An hour came and went and we still had no room. Thankfully, Daan at the checkin desk finally got it all sorted out in an apologetic and competent manner. When we went down for breakfast the next morning I wanted to be angry. After all, we had lost almost 2 hours of our lives waiting for our room the previous day. I have to say, the breakfast room staff were so kind, friendly and helpful I found it difficult not to find my mood uplifted. Rarely have we found such genuinely kind and helpful people on our travels. From the lovely hostess showing us to our table, to Johnny, the awesome breakfast chef, to the lads clearing away the dishes, everyone was wonderful. We found ourselves leaving the hotel these 2 mornings, lighter of spirit and with a smile on our faces. Our heartfelt thanks to Johnny and all of the breakfast staff for helping to make our stay terrific!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clocarzichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. clocarzichi,

Thank you very much for the nice picture to support your review.

It is wonderful to read that the breakfast team at Roberto’s Restaurant helped to make your stay terrific. Your words of appraisal have been received with great pride by the entire team, including Johnny.

We are sorry to read that we did not have a room ready for you at arrival and would like to apologize for the inconvenience this has caused you. Daan has been thanked for his efforts.

We hope that we will be able to create smiles on your faces again in the near future here at Hilton Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    749
    234
    83
    38
See reviews for
303
930
131
632
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel is within easy walking distance of the museum district and is in a quite leafy area just outside of the hustle and bustle of the city. Arrived just after 14:00 checkin, and where told our room would not be ready for 90 minutes or so which was a big disappointment as we were tired and in need of some relaxation. The Reception staff were extremely busy, but also very helpful and friendly. Once the wait exceeded the 90 minutes, and the room was still not available we were upgraded to an 8th floor room with magnificant views over the city and a free evening meal in Roberto's Resturant, which was excellent.

The room was certainly large enough, clean and very comfortable, a large bathroom, plenty of cupboard space and everything we needed close at hand. Housekeeping toured the hotel in the evening offering complimentary water, tea and coffee refills and a turndown service if required. The only downside is the lack of free internet in the room, it is available in the public areas, but we found it slow.

Breakfast was the highlight of the stay. Johnny Wills, the Breakfast Chef, and his team, made us feel part of the family from the moment we walked in, they couldn't do enough for us, producing excellent, high quality food from the kitchens in moments, attentive service, and still had time to make sure everything was fine when the Resturant was full. Johnny even adapted a pancake recipe to cover my dietary requirements, and they where absolutely delicious. Breakfast will never be the same again!

All the staff were really friendly, genuinely seeming to care and go out of their way to be helpful. Dann on Reception deserves a special mention for sorting out our room and being super helpful. Next time we are in Amsterdam this place will be top of the list of places to stay.

We were in Amsterdam during the recent "Nuclear Summit" and some of the delegates stayed in the hotel. At times it seemed over run with Dutch Police and Security, but it was never really obtrusive and never got in our way. Be aware that parking is expensive, but so is parking everywhere else in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Rooms high up at the rear of the hotel offer fantastic views of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Chrisclough,

What a delight to find your extensive review here on TripAdvisor!

We would like to thank you very much for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry to read that your room was not ready for you when you arrived. And I hope that I understand correctly that we managed to solve this situation to your fullest satisfaction.

We have shared your wonderful comments with the entire team and thanked Johnny and Daan for being helpful and make you feel part of the family.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for the birthday of my (future) parent's in law. From the moment we arrived it was a great experience with a warm welcome, excellent service and a beautiful room. Every single team member was really nice and friendly. It was a stay to remember and if any special occasions are coming up I will definetely choose to stay at the Hilton Amsterdam again. Well done to the entire team!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Ms. Nicolette C,

What a great pleasure to read your kind words about Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor.

First of all, we would like to take the opportunity to congratulate you on your intended marriage.

It is a real delight to read that with a warm welcome and nice and friendly Team Members, we managed to contribute to a great experience.

We hope that many special occasions will come and every single time we will be ready to welcome you.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

I stayed there for company conference all the week. Nice rooms, even if a little worn, spacey, clean and light bathroom. Good breakfast and excellent lunches during conference. Staff professional, a little stiff, but that’s can be. The only problem – chairs in conference rooms.. My back was aching even week after. Looked nice, but already after 1 hour it was hard to stay seating… and it was 5 days 8 hours a day…
But if I would go just to stay over without conference – that’s the place to stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Definitely river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krzysioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mr./Ms. Krzysioc,

Thank you very much for your review of Hilton Amsterdam here on TripAdvisor, which is highly appreciated.

It is delightful to read that you liked our rooms and that the breakfast and lunches served to you during your conference were to your taste.

We are sorry that the chairs in our conference rooms were not comfortable for you and for the inconvenience this has caused you we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Excellently located if you prefer to be out of the real hustle and bustle of the city. The hotel is to the south of Amsterdam in a residential and consular district. The hotel staff could not have been more welcoming and the Executive floor was very comfortable. The only criticism would be the incredibly hard bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Ms. Sarah B,

It is with great pride that we have read your review here on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed located away from the hustle and bustle of the city in the quiet residential area ‘Oud-Zuid’. Did you know that the PC Hooftstraat is perfect for exclusive shopping?

Your kind words about our welcoming Team Members have been shared with the entire team. And I can assure you, they are already looking forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Took my partner here end of feb 2014 for 2 nights great hotel located outside the main attractions but well worth it highly recommend hoping to return with more couples the end of this year and stay longer cant wait Amsterdam is a beautiful city

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor member,

It is a delight that you have taken the time to leave a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

Amsterdam truly is a beautiful city with many great museum and parks to visit. Also shopping is a wonderful activity when you are in Amsterdam. On your next visit our concierges would be more than happy to show you the hidden gems that are worthy of a visit.

Our team at Hilton Amsterdam is already looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Way too expensive hotel for the value you get. I was there for a business conference, so luckily my compay paid for the stay. Nevertheless, I would recommend other chains of hotels where you can have an even more comfortable stay for a lower price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Xavier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Mr. Xavier G,

Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

As already expressed in a personal writing to you, we are sorry to read that our services and facilities did not entirely meet with your approval. For any inconvenience this has caused you, we offer our sincere apologies.

We would like to thank you again for letting us know how we are meeting your expectations and we hope that, in spite of this experience, we may look forward to welcoming you with us again the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,041 reviews
Vondelpark
No photo provided
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing