We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton is Hilton but not ideal location”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #39 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Great service, very clean, comfortable etc (a Hilton is a Hilton) yet the location was not great, which is why I gave it a 4 rather than 5 stars rating. My husband stayed there for business and I joined him, otherwise we would have booked the Marriott which is more central.

Relatively close to the Van Gogh and Rijk museums - about 20 / 30 minutes walk, or 2 stations away on Tram 5.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Ms. LondonTraveller848,

Thank you for the review of Hilton Amsterdam that you have left here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed the service, cleanliness and comfort of our hotel. The location of our hotel is indeed in a quiet residential area within a 10 minute walk from Museumplein with its Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum and away from the hustle and bustle of the old city center.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,939)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,467 - 1,473 of 2,940 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

They woke me to find out how the room was when I paid for an extra night just to sleep when I got there. They charged 25 Euros a day for internet access and the Gym was almost 20 Euros to use. Ridiculous policies just to soak dumb Americans I think. Nice location but bad hotel and inconsiderate staff. Oh and TV didn't work.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
4  Thank Renee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Ms. Renee B,

Thank you for taking the time here on TripAdvisor to let us know how we are meeting your expectations.

As expressed in a writing to you, we are sorry to see that not all our services and facilities had your approval, and for the inconvenience this has caused you, we offer our sincere apologies.

We would like to also take this opportunity to apologize for waking you up by calling the room to check if everything was up to your expectations.

Thank you for your feedback concerning free internet, please be advised that as of this year we are offering complimentary internet in all public areas and we will take your suggestion of free internet in our guest rooms into account.

The fitness/health club is not owned or managed by Hilton but by an external company. Your comments about the pricing of the fitness will be discussed with them.

We place great value on your opinion and hope that, in spite of this experience, we may look forward to welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
Cluster General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent service from all staff and on a par with the Four Seasons brand. Really friendly and very very helpful. Food was really excellent too and in the restaurant, they cannot do enough for you, especially at breakfast! Roberto's: had dinner twice there and I can honestly say that I did not have better food anywhere else in Amsterdam. Its so good a large number of Dutch locals eat there. A real treat.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the canal, it is worth it. Bahrooms are a bit small but if you do not...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Ms. Jacqueline B,

It so nice to read that you compare Hilton Amsterdam with Four Seasons hotels and that you have taken the time to share your opinion here on TripAdvisor is highly appreciated.

Roberto’s Restaurant is indeed one of our food and beverage outlets which is visited by many locals as well. This is because we only use the highest quality of products and strive to offer classic yet modern and inspirational recipes from Italy.

Thank you again for your warm words and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you for your conferences in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I stayed here for one night. The property is a 15 min walk from Amsterdam Zuid and then another 15 min or so into the main city centre. The staff here were superb - welcoming, friendly and helpful (from reception, restaurant, Exec Lounge through to concierge).

I had been upgraded to a Junior Suite as a Diamond HHonors member (this was a reward booking), which was much appreciated - the view over the city from the floor-to-ceiling windows was superb. The room itself was well-appointed and I was particularly grateful to find a UK plug socket at the desk, given I had forgotten to bring my adaptor! I was also impressed with the Bluetooth Bose speaker that I was able to pair my phone to - this is something I'd love to see rolled out across the Hilton brand.

The Executive Lounge had a reasonable mix of light snacks and again some fabulous views.

The breakfast in Roberto's restaurant was a definite highlight - the staff were incredibly attentive and my made to order omlette was spot-on. I particularly liked the way the pancakes were served table-side from a trolley by the chef - the presentation was mouth-watering!

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDIflyer_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Mr. alanjr_uk,

Thank you for posting the pictures of your stay to support your review of our hotel.

It is a delight to read that the upgrade to a Junior Suite was much appreciated. That the Bose Bluetooth speaker impressed you is also great feedback to receive, as we continue to invest in the services and products we offer.

Our Roberto’s breakfast team cannot be more proud of your kind words and the breakfast chef is looking forward to cook more of the famous mouth-watering pancakes for you.

We are looking forward to your next stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

very nice and helpfull people looking after you. excellent bar service. rooms are good and quiet. very good to rest and spend time with family. good location with good choice of restaurants around. close to city center. you have to watch the bike riders, cars, and trains all interacting with people. needs to be alert, follow signs and respect traffic lights. hotel employees will help you if required.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Lidio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Mr. Lidio F,

Thank you for writing about your experiences here on TripAdvisor as well.

As already replied in a personal writing to you we have shared your positive comments with our Team Members who take great pride in delivering exceptional service.

Indeed, as you mentioned, crossing Amsterdam can be challenging with bikes and trams coming from directions you don’t even expect them to come from.

We hope that our Team Members at Hilton Amsterdam can safely guide you through Amsterdam again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

A very nice stay indeed! I liked the neighbourhood. Luxurious and beautiful architecture; a 10 min walk to the Rijksmuseum.
The service was very professional. The amenities are 5*. The rooms are confortable and have a nice view.
Parking is available in front of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank alfred1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Mr. alfred1208,

Thank you very much for describing your experiences at Hilton Amsterdam.

We are grateful for your kind words and happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. That you mention the service to be very professional is a nice compliment, which has been shared with our Team Members.

We wish to be your first choice again for your next visit to Amsterdam and will be ready to welcome you back on that occasion.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I recently stayed in the Hilton Amsterdam hotel for several nights for a business trip. While it is a lovely hotel, it is REALLY overpriced!!

ROOMS - Rooms are nice, comfortable and spacious but mini bar is very expensive - €6 for a very small packet of pringle crisps. Nice view of Amsterdam from the room however and the bathroom is very spacious.

FOOD - As I was attending a conference, all food was provided via event catering which was very nice. However on my check out day I was very surprised to see that Breakfast cost €35! I went to get a sandwich in the bar which was €25! I opted for chips, however a colleague of mine ordered a sandwich, which came 30 minutes later with items that she had requested they do not include in it. 30 minutes later the correct sandwich came. Prices are too expensive for what arrived!!

LOCATION - There is a nearby tram which can be taken into the city centre. Alternatively there are several gentleman that work at the hotel which can call you a taxi. There are no amenities nearby which is limiting when you need a few snacks to keep you going in the hotel - it's the expensive mini bar or food!

GYM - was disappointed that a hotel like this does not have a swimming pool but there is a gym which is basic but does the job. The staff are really nice here.

SERVICE - The staff are lovely and really go to extra lengths to help you.

OVERALL EXPERIENCE - Comfortable stay but wouldn't be returning here if my firm wasn't paying for the costs. Unfortunately it is not value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneylover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Disneylover 33,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

It is a delight to read that you mention our Team Members to be lovely and that they have went the extra mile to help you.

We place great value on your opinion and take your comments regarding the value for price paid very seriously and will discuss them for future developments.

We hope that we may look forward to welcoming you again to Hilton Amsterdam in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,511 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $149 - $663 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing