We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessentially Hilton!”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Another feather in the Hilton chain’s cap, the Hilton Amsterdam is undoubtedly one of the finest hotels I’ve resided in. Right from excellent service, to luxurious rooms, to modern furnishings, to a great breakfast, this hotel ticks all the boxes in my checklist. I stayed at the Hilton for two days as I was travelling on business, and the staff was very resourceful in helping me find my way around the city. Room service was prompt and the housekeeping was top-notch. I left my room utterly messy and came back to a clean and tidy one! Although not centrally located, there are a few shops in and around the hotel and a museum a few minutes away. This is one experience I’m going to cherish for a long time to come.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexandraPthology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear AlexandraPthology,

Thank you very much for leaving a review of our hotel here on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted with your words describing Hilton Amsterdam as one of the finest hotels you have resided in. I have learned that you will cherish your experience with us for a long time, because of our Team Members, who have provided excellent service. I will personally share your kind words with them.

Season’s Greetings and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel in 2014.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 2,973 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

Admittedly I am a little biased as the Hilton is my favourite chain. The Hilton Amsterdam offer precisely what one comes to expect from an "average" Hilton. Clean, well-maintained, well equipped and with an atmosphere of luxury. As a gold card member one enjoys both free internet, free lounge access and free breakfast. I expect to come by again next time travels take me to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DepecheBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Bo M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam, all our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our hotel well-maintained and well-equipped and that you were able to benefit from the Executive Lounge access with complimentary internet and breakfast.

Thank you for choosing Hilton Amsterdam and for your loyalty, we hope to welcome you back in the near future next time your travels bring you to Amsterdam.

Season’s Greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Loved this hotel. It is just far enough that you do not feel like you are downtown are downtown in the middle of the redlight/coffeehouse district. This is more genuine feeling Amsterdam. The rooms are very nice, staff very friendly. A grocery store very nearby, quick walk to public transit. over all great place.

PROS:
far enough out of city center but not to far. 1 hour walk, 10 minute tram ride
stores close by. 2-4 minute walk
nice rooms, with nice casual views
very clean.
excellent staff, very friendly.

Cons:
i really don't have any. I like this place alot.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clyde_Betts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Clyde Betts,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

We were very glad to hear that our services and facilities met your approval and that you enjoyed your time with us. It is our pleasure to hear that you found the hotel very clean and that you enjoyed the views from the bedrooms. Thank you for your compliments regarding our Team Members, we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Season’s Greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have just returned from a long weekend at the Amsterdam Hilton. The hotel was fantastic and the staff amongst the best I have ever encountered. They manage they balance between efficiency, formality and personal attention perfectly. Due to an overrun of a large conference, my room was upgraded. The promotional breakfast offer was excellent value. My request for a late check-out was immediately approved.
The Hilton is about 10 mins away from the museum area. Perfectly placed fro exploration. The concierge service is very helpful and saved us both money and long queues. Nothing was too much trouble. This is an unreserved recommendation.

Room Tip: Request a canal side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Bridget E,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay for a long weekend at Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our Team Members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them. It is a delight to hear they found the balance between formality and personal attention.

Indeed you are correct about the location of Hilton Amsterdam, it is a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, and many more beautiful city sights.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your loyalty. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Season’s greetings.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We keep on returning to this Hilton in Amsterdam, profesional reception, clean rooms, very cosy bar downstairs, recommend to upgrade to an executive room with lounge access, beautiful lounge on top floor with views over Amsterdam.

Pitty though that Hilton still maintains Wifi against payment, nowadays Internet access should be free everywhere.

Bit outside of Amsterdam city centre though but if you know Amsterdam and if weather allows you can have a nice walk via old south and Vondelpark to go to the centre.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fabienne1504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Fabienne1504,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are so pleased that you choose the Hilton Amsterdam for all your Amsterdam visits and we hope you will continue visiting us on your future trips as well.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Please be aware that free WiFi internet is available in all public areas in the hotel, but we will take your advice into consideration for future development.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and for your loyalty. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is the famous Hilton where John Lennon and Yoko Ono spent their honeymoon (Pic attached of the room), Excellent location in upscale part of Amsterdam but its a tram ride from the walkable tram station (Emmstraat) to Centraal Station from where all the action begins i.e City tour etc. Breakfast if excellent spread and Hilton is thoughtful to provide umbrellas since it was raining in November. Great place to stay and will stay again.

Room Tip: Choose Canal Facing room but I could not get it though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lssrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Issrinivas

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is our pleasure to know that you enjoyed the breakfast and the umbrellas.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall, exclusive shopping streets and many more beautiful city sights. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. We also offer bicycle rental so you can explore the city the traditional Dutch way.

Thank you for your loyalty and for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

They charged me twice after looking in my account and they should return the money back , can you take care of that please . Also on checking in there was only one room reserved although I asked for 2 rooms and the confirmation email stated that clearly but it was not on their system and 2nd room was charged more

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mohamed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear Mohamed E,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We regret that there has been a misunderstanding with your reservation and apologise for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We have looked into the matter and it seems that you have been correctly charged for the two rooms. One room appeared to have been charged more due to use of the minibar and both rooms were charged city tax as per the city policy of charging 5.5% city tax per room per night.

We hope this clarifies your query and that we may look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you have any further questions please do not hesitate to contact the hotel on operations.amsterdam@hilton.com.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,535 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $169 - $537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing