We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel in cute residential area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #45 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in cute residential area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From the outside the hotel looks quite dated, but it must have been in its prime when Lennon and Ono spent their Honeymoon sitting in their presidential suite. Sadly we did not get upgraded to the presidential suite, but our room was fine. It faced the canal, had a comfortable queen bed, and was very clean and comfortable. We took the train into Central Station and took a taxi to the hotel, which was about 10-15 min ride.

What I liked about the hotel is the staff are so friendly and outgoing. Our breakfast was included and we had access to the Executive lounge. The executive lounge is small and not the greatest compared to most other executive lounges but it was still a nice small space to enjoy a glass of wine in the evenings. The breakfast has the usual Hilton breakfast offerings but what made breakfast a sheer joy was the bright, cheery service of the staff. One morning, the chef walked around offering Prosecco to us. That was an unexpected and welcome surprise, and a great way to start the day.

The hotel is located next to a health club. If you are gold/diamond member, it is free, but I think you may have to pay to use it otherwise. The gym was larger than most hotel gyms and had the usual free weights, machines and bikes/treadmills. Their Finnish spa and sauna were very relaxing and a great way to end a workout.

It is about a five-minute walk to several different trams and buses that go into town. I ended up taking the tram once. The rest of my five day stay, I just walked everywhere - 15 min walk to Van Gogh Museum, 5 min walk to the nearest street full of cute cafes, stores, restaurants, etc. If I go back to Amsterdam, I would definitely stay here again. It is a more quiet location than anything near Central or in the middle of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelandeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear 2travelandeat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a lovely stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and you fully enjoyed all our services and facilities. We are also happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, especially the Roberto’s breakfast team; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The Hilton Hotel was built in 1962 and was designed by the architect Hugh Aart Maaskant, it was the first hotel in the Netherlands brought by an international hotel chain. One side of the hotel is facing a canal and the old Amsterdam. In 1969 John Lennon and Yoko Ono spent their honeymoon in one of the Hilton Amsterdam rooms that has stayed in the same design since and our guests can book their stay or even get married in this historical suite.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    758
    237
    83
    41
See reviews for
310
945
132
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were so glad we chose this Hilton! The staff was the best ever and we are diamond members so this says a lot.
Emily at the front desk was just amazing and so helpful.She always made sure we had anything we needed.
Now if you want the best breakfast in all of Europe you have to try Johnny's blueberry pancakes. His breakfast was the best we had in 5 weeks of travel absolutely amazing!
The executive lounge was always a great place to relax and unwind we really loved our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Pat E,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially our Front Desk agent Emily and our Breakfast Chef Johnny; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Hotel room was OK. Staff was friendly and most helpful. Enjoyed nightcaps at the Half Moon Lounge. Business Center computers were available for guest use. Location close to public transport and walking distance to several quaint restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear George S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is our pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties. This nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren, will make a great place for a business meeting as well as for a friendly reunion. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the Noorder Amstel canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Great service and rooms from the Hilton staff outside of expensive parking and problems navigating in to the town area, if you plan to use bicycles be carefull as the local ride without respect for tourists, it is best to use the trams or taxi once you get the map figured. The wax museum is a must for sure and good value, and of course chine town is a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs. Thank you for your kind words towards our team members; we will definitely share them with the team.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. The Staff was very unfriendly. Charge for internet was 25.00 per night which I found excessive. You could use Wifi in lobby for free but one evening unbeknownst to the hotel guests they hosted a private party in the Lobby and there was no where for the hotel guests to sit or relax or use Wifi. No accomodations were made. The room was fine and adequate size by European standards. I am a New Yorker used to fine hotels, 5 star doesnt mean "attitude" which is what I found here. No one was friendly. When I asked for local directions at the desk I was instructed to ask the Concierge. Really? We dined in their restaurant "Robertos", our main course was not what we ordered. Also, the location was a bit out of the way, albiet quiet. I visit Amsterdam often & would definitely look for an alternative next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Lori K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We regret to read that your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience caused to you we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

The experience you had due to our team member attitude has been discussed very seriously with the whole team to avoid this from happening again in the future.

We would like to inform you that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam; however your comments will be reviewed within our team for future pricing decisions.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that, inspite of this experience, we may welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Last stayed at the Hilton ca 15 years ago. Didn't like it then because it's far from everything. Returned recently for a conference, and no improvement, in fact got worse. Room still had a mid-90s, soulless business hotel feel. Ordered room service and asked for chips instead of fries - room services subquently charged me extra for the chips and didn't deliver fries. Chips had a lovely long hair in it. (To be fair, the friendly staff at reception removed the room service charge the next day).

What really got me was the € 6 snickers from the minibar. Sure, its a 5* hotel and all, but I hate feeling ripped off - and that is precisely the memory I take away from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwh_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear mwh_17,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations and for any inconvenience caused to you we would like to offer our sincere apologies.

Please rest assured we have discussed the experience you had with our Room Service with the team in order to prevent this for recurring in the future.

All our rooms and hallways were refurbished in 2008/2009 and we were sorry to hear that the interior design is not to your liking, however, taste is personal.

We would like to inform you that our prices are conform prices of similar properties in Amsterdam; however we do take your comments very seriously and have discussed them within our team for future pricing decisions.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope that, despite of this experience, welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Montana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On combination work/play stays in Amsterdam, and after trying other properties, we always seem happier at the Amsterdam Hilton. The quiet neighborhood makes for peaceful walks, learning experiences from the neighborhood art or information displays on the green in front of the hotel, and ease in using public transportation. A simple walk to the tram and less than 3 Euros will get you to Centraal Station, which is the end of the line, after stops near the museums and Dam Square. A day pass allows you to go any where just getting on and off the trams at conveniently located stops. Taxis to and from the airport are reasonable and always seem to be readily available.
The staff is professional and genuinely seem to welcome returning guests with a quality that is believable. Executive Lounge is still what it should be--a quiet respite for the business person where one can start or finish the day in peace. Other properties seem to cater to tourist groups who turn the lounge into a loud, party bar where they make meals out of the appetizer or tea offerings and avail themselves profusely on the "free" alcohol.
The Hilton's Executive Lounge staff are professional concierges and hopefully, tourists who demand "servants" will continue to stay closer to the city center.

Room Tip: Canal views are nice but not necessary for an enjoyable stay. Junior suites are quite a bit larger t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montanacouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Montanacouple,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you found our rooms comfortable and the Hilton Amsterdam is your favourite hotel in Amsterdam. It is our pleasure to read your positive comments about or services and facilities and that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, especially the Executive Lounge team; we will definitely share all your positive comments with them.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in your next Amsterdam visit.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,081 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#96 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hilton EMEA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing