We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel-Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel-Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hats off to the hilton Amsterdam. My partner and I stayed here for two days awaiting a cruise. This hotel is out of the main city but the transportation is fantastic. Got a tran pass for two days for 12E. I am a Hilton Diamond member and was able to upgrade to a water view for free. They also had free breakfast everyday for Diamond members and an Executive lounge for drinks and happy hour. The rooms were nice, clean with spa brand ammentities. The front desk was very helpful with travel, trading in money and setting up reservations. We had a wonderful time

Room Tip: Ask for a water view with a high floor. Very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguy1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear travelguy1907,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you and your partner had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 07.00 – 10.30 hrs on weekdays and 07.00 – 11.00 hrs on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,196
    736
    229
    83
    38
See reviews for
287
905
128
627
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a typical Hilton Hotel. All the great amenities and as always, comfortable rooms...

For business travelers, this could be a great location. Its removed from all the action. The downside for vacation/holiday travelers is that this is far from everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Ryan P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We are glad to see that you found our rooms comfortable and they fit to your needs.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved staying at the Hilton Amsterdam Hotel. Although it is not right downtown, the museum district and other downtown attractions are easily walkable. You can also take the excellent tram system which runs frequently from just about anywhere in the city. The hotel staff was very friendly and eager to please.

The hotel is located in a high-end neighbourhood on one of the canals. We were upgraded to a junior suite. It had plenty of room, an espresso/coffee maker, mini fridge, living room area and a hugh balcony overlooking the city. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Being on the canal side or the city side of the hotel are both great. It's in a quiet neighbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Margaret K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. It is a pleasure to hear that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

We thank you for your kind words towards our team as well, with pleasure we will share them with the team.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is clean and attentive staff. Early check ins are allowed to use the VIP area where they will receive a VIP treatment. The rooms are small but the service compensate for this. I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudolf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Rudolf R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice hotel. Staff were pleasant. Room was decent. Location is great, quiet, but only a short tram ride to town centre. Decent selection at breakfast buffet. Bathrooms and bedroom were clean and tidy. Shame the wifi is only free in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Nadeem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Nadeem S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words to our team members, we will surely share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Just returned from a family break. The room was excellent (Junior Suite), large enough for a family of three to relax without falling over each other. It's in a lovely quiet suburban area but ideally located in terms of getting about on the trams. Whilst there our little boy was poorly, the hotel staff were wonderful and made it seem as if nothing was a problem. Would happily recommend.

Room Tip: It's worth the upgrade price for a suite and use of the Exec Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Margaret H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you and your family had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments regarding our team members, we will definitely share all you positive comments with them.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Hilton is a modern chain hotel at a nice location next to a canal, with its own boat landing pier. There is a lawn close to the canal, thus the hotel is often used for weddings.

On the tenth (top) floor there is a fancy lounge with views all around. In summer, the doors are open and tables are put outside. The lounge has a decent snack selection (hot and cold) and drinks in the evening and also serves breakfast; however, the food selection at the main breakfast room was far bigger.

Service is generally good, though at some times indifferent to the point of unfriendly. I was asked to leave the breakfast room for wearing flip flops (and jeans), but when I refused they gave in. It was possibly because of a large wedding group whose people were very formally dressed, but I thought it was inappropriate by staff. Once, when we came back at night, the front door was locked and we were interrogated like criminals before being let in, even though we had our room keys.

Hotel guests have access to the excellent gym which is adjacent to the hotel and connected by a internal foot path. There are also bikes for rent.

The only main drawback is the location - it's a little far to walk to the city centre, even though there are tram stops not far from the hotel entrance.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Luciferito,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that most of our facilities and services met your approval.

For your and our safety and security we lock the front entrance as of 12pm and ask our guests for identification. We are sorry if you felt like being interrogated. Your comments will of course be shared with the team for improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the breakfast. There is no dress code for breakfast and we apologize for our team member’s comment.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,007 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#96 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing