We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fancy international hotel but far from centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #49 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
170 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fancy international hotel but far from centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The Hilton is a modern chain hotel at a nice location next to a canal, with its own boat landing pier. There is a lawn close to the canal, thus the hotel is often used for weddings.

On the tenth (top) floor there is a fancy lounge with views all around. In summer, the doors are open and tables are put outside. The lounge has a decent snack selection (hot and cold) and drinks in the evening and also serves breakfast; however, the food selection at the main breakfast room was far bigger.

Service is generally good, though at some times indifferent to the point of unfriendly. I was asked to leave the breakfast room for wearing flip flops (and jeans), but when I refused they gave in. It was possibly because of a large wedding group whose people were very formally dressed, but I thought it was inappropriate by staff. Once, when we came back at night, the front door was locked and we were interrogated like criminals before being let in, even though we had our room keys.

Hotel guests have access to the excellent gym which is adjacent to the hotel and connected by a internal foot path. There are also bikes for rent.

The only main drawback is the location - it's a little far to walk to the city centre, even though there are tram stops not far from the hotel entrance.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Luciferito,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that most of our facilities and services met your approval.

For your and our safety and security we lock the front entrance as of 12pm and ask our guests for identification. We are sorry if you felt like being interrogated. Your comments will of course be shared with the team for improvement. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during the breakfast. There is no dress code for breakfast and we apologize for our team member’s comment.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    793
    244
    87
    42
See reviews for
328
998
135
675
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Morang
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We visited this hotel on our Europe trip. This Hotel catered to all our needs. And was very clean. We would recommend this hotel. A bit of a distance to the main part of town. The staff were more than helpful making our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathySouthMorang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear KathySouthMorang,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. It is a pleasure to hear that the Hilton Amsterdam was able to cater to all your needs.

We thank you for your kind words towards our team as well, with pleasure we will share all your positive comments with the team.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was disappointing in several regards. Although the temperatures were quite warm, and the hotel was advertised as having air conditioning, it appeared to be unavailable. We complained to management and nothing changed. It seems that they turn it off to save money. We had difficulty
sleeping. Our room was also not up to the usual Hilton standards in its furnishing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear DZ7,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

We would like to offer our apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay and for the inconvenience you experienced due to the room temperature. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed on to our maintenance team to avoid this from happening again in the future.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gartringen, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here regularly on recent business trips and have enjoyed the stays. The check-in staff are excellent, always acknowledge your hhonors status and go the extra mile to make you feel appreciated (that's what loyalty programmes are all about, isn't it?). I've been fortunate to get room upgrades on most occasions. The rooms are nice, large, well equipped (good work desk area), modern, with a good flat screen TV.

The one time I was in a Junior Suite I was actually disappointed as it had a connecting door to the adjacent room. And, as bad luck would have it, my neighbor must have been hard of hearing. The noise level was so loud I felt we were in the same room. Extremely disappointing for a suite.

The executive lounge on the top floor provides stunning views over Amsterdam and is decently stocked. Breakfast options are a far cry from those in the main restaurant (which has a great breakfast buffet), so it's down to choosing the exclusivity of Exec floor vs nice/big breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Thomas S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and have been enjoying staying at the Hilton Amsterdam. We are glad that our facilities and services met your approval and you find our rooms comfortable and fitting your needs.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Front Desk team, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

With regret we read that your experience in the Junior Suite did not meet your expectations and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced because of the guest next door.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360 view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and mostly thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALVERN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just returned from Amsterdam where we had a wonderful time , the hotel was way above our expectations. Every aspect of the hotel is perfection, the staff in particular were so friendly and attentive. I have stayed at Hilton hotels in various locations but this one was special. we were on the canal side, so pretty. The hotel is located in a leafy suburb quiet but within a short trip on the tram to the centre, we used the number 16 to travel to one side of the city and No 5 to see the opposite areas. We were treated to the opera Madame Butterfly being performed in the hotels gardens right under our window and the stars quite amazing , we cannot wait to return.
Carol & John Harwood

Room Tip: Get a room up high and on the canal side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAURAmalvern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear LAURAmalvern,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities met your approval. We are happy that you enjoyed the Madame Butterfly performance that was held in our garden during our stay.

Thank you for your kind words towards our team members; we will share all your positive comments with them. The whole team takes great pride in service delivery and will appreciate your compliments.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. By taking tram 16, the city centre is just a short ride away.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year, returning to Amsterdam where we used to live.
The location is excellent - a short walk to the No 5 tram to the centre and the museums.
The rooms are good, and we ended up staying in an Executive room - only being upgraded following a complaing about a very bad attitude and poor service at reception on arrival - they were rude to my wife, unwelcoming, allowed someone to jump the busy queue in from of us and generally unhelpful leaving a bad impression upon arrival.
The food is good, but breakfast was very busy and they didn't seem to have enough waiting staff to cope with the numbers. The breakfast buffet ran low and was slow to be replenished. In general the staff seemed stressed.
We are considering not going back and trying somewhere different after 5 years of a loyal, annual stay.

Room Tip: High floor rooms over-looking the canals and the city. Despite being told there weren't any inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tri4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Tri4life,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam this time did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay, especially during the check-in and breakfast. Please rest assured this has seriously been discussed with the team members responsible to avoid this from happening again in the future.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests. We are very sorry that this experience makes you doubt the Hilton Amsterdam and please be assured that this is not our normal level of service.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about the rooms of Hilton Amsterdam and the location, but most importantly your loyalty. We hope you will give us a chance to redeem ourselves next year.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we truly do hope to welcome you back next year.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is our 2nd time at the Hilton. We were given the option of Canal or city view and chose canal.
The hotel and rooms were immaculate.
We hired bikes and cycled round the city.
We also asked if we could visit the John and Yoko suite and it was no problem the conceirge took us up, and let us take photos.
Breakfast was really good and the chef made us delicious pouched eggs.
Will stay here again

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view or city view the rooms are higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dynamite155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear dynamite155,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our facilities and services met your approval.

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our breakfast offerings, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them, especially the chefs.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we appreciate your loyalty very much. We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing