We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Luxury in a quiet upscale neighborhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #47 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Luxury in a quiet upscale neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I first saw the Hilton on my first visit to Amsterdam in 1971 and have been staying here every visit for the past 8 years. I love the quiet and reserved ambiance of the hotel and the service has always been excellent. We book executive rooms which gives us access to the executive lounge on the 10th floor.

The lounge offers an extensive continental breakfast until 10:30 in the morning and in the evening and nice and fairly extensive selection of hors d'oeuvres as well as wine and hard liquors. I belieive the hours for the hors d'oeuvres is 5 pm to 8 pm and the liquor and soft drinks are available until 9:30 or 10. Very liberal policies. I also want to tip my hat to all the staff in the executive lounge for the excellent service. Yes the lounge is a bit small but we only had to wait one time for a table out of 8 mornings and evenings.

We have been fortunate enough on each stay to have rooms facing the canal which is beautiful scenery. While the hotel is located in a residential area, this adds to the charm and serenity. It is a five minute walk to the #16 tram line and a 10 minute walk to the #5 and #24 tram lines. The trams are a very efficient way to travel in Amsterdam and the hotel sells 1 and 3 day tram passes and can charge them to your room.

Over the years i have stayed in many hotels in Amsterdam and the Hilton remains as my favorite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear GeorgeEB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. Thank you so much for your loyalty; it is an honour to be your first choice here in Amsterdam.

We thank you for your kind words towards our team as well, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments to the team.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view to the Amsterdam city and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    736
    229
    83
    38
See reviews for
286
905
127
627
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
406 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is in such pristine condition that it is hard to believe it has been in existence for 40 years or so. Its location is the best in the city, namely int the pleasant residential Old Zuuid quarter, on the very banks of the Amstel Canal, and just a short walk away from the Concert Hall and the great museums (Rijksmuseum, Staedelijk, Van Gogh).
The room we had was large, comfortable, and modern - as was the bathroom. We were just a few doors away from John Lennon & Yoko Ono's room made famous by their press conference while in bed.
There is ample parking available (at a price, as they are obliged to match the horrendous street parking prices the city imposes), and I recommend to leave the car and move around by public transport, as the nearest tram is but two blocks away,
On a lucky day, you may even see some Royal attending a function or having lunch here...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear GranZorro,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you especially liked the location of the Hilton Amsterdam. Thank you for your compliments and we are very pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us.

The Hilton Amsterdam was opened on May 9th, 1962 and is located in “het Apollokwartier”, Amsterdam’s most sophisticated residential area. Its surroundings were designed by the renowned architect Berlage in 1905 and developed in 1917. The area was intended to be the link between the older, existing inner part of the city and the newly developing sites.

The Hilton was designed in 1958 by the Dutch architect Maaskant, and was the first international hotel in the Netherlands. Its structure continued along the same lines of Berlage’s earlier ideas and its characteristic V-shape is significant in that it shows where the two main avenues of Amsterdam meet - the Apollolaan and the Minervalaan.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I had a stay here with my wife on a pleasure trip. As a Hilton Diamond, I received no recognition at all. Was given a small room in a bad location. I guess I've been spoiled by all the other great Hilton's I've stayed in across Europe. I have to agree with other reviewers about the lack of enthusiasm in the staff, they were just there to do a job and go home it seemed. The location didn't bother us too much, a little off the beaten path but very easy to hop on the tram to get into it all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hiflya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear hiflya,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We regret to read that your stay with the Hilton Amsterdam did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay and we take your comments regarding our team members very seriously. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with the team for future development.

All our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to maintain and improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived here after a long flight from the USA in the early evening (8pm). There was no doorman or porter present and we carried our own bags to check in where there was a queue. Check in was efficient once we got to the front (and I'm Hhonors Silver). Dropped the bags and went to the executive lounge where drinks are served until very late.

The room was nicely appointed standard Hilton fare and was very quiet.

Breakfast was taken in the main restaurant overlooking the canal, excellent orange juice! And good English tea available. Buffet was ok but not anything more.

The second night (Saturday) we could not get into the executive lounge it was full, the host was good enough to call the room when a table became free and we had a drink before going for dinner in Robertos. What a mistake service was excellent the food however was very poor and very expensive.

Overall an average Hilton not worthy of its alleged 5star status (never stayed in a 5star with no porter or turndown service!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DealSouthWales1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear dealSouthWales_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that most of our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast offerings and team members. Your compliments will be much appreciated.

With regret we read about your experience at the Roberto’s Restaurant. We take your comments about the quality of the food very seriously and will discuss them within the team to improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The whole staff was extremely helpful, and we found that our stay was the best we have ever experienced, that is from the arrival to the departure. We had ordered and paid for a shuttle bus to take us to the airport. We had packed our suitcases and were ready at noon (the plane didn't leave until 15.55). We wanted to be picked up a little earlier that planned. However, the shuttle bus business was extremely busy that day. Therefore, the hotel sent for a taxi which took us to the airport no charge. This is a kind of service that we appreciate. Kind regards, Jette Windum

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jette Windum,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words towards our team as well. The whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel. At only few minutes’ walk from the hotel a tram station is located from which all other main areas of Amsterdam are easily accessible.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel is very nice in a very nice place.
Has a couple of Tram that would get you right into the City center. It is a 5 minute walk from the Van Gogh museum and a nice park.

It's a bit overpriced, but you get what you pay. The view is always amazing specially if you get a room facing the canal. Lovely Amsterdam

Room Tip: Get room facing canal. Beautiful view. But otherwise is nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioLonghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear MarioLonghi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our facilities and services met your approval.

The location of the Hilton Amsterdam makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Square, Concert Hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all at walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just a few blocks away from the hustle & bustle of the downtown you can retreat to quietness and outstanding service. In the evening enjoy a nightcap on the terrace where the staff are very friendly and attentive.

In the morning we decided to enjoy the wonderful breakfast buffet ... one of the very best we ever had. A nice touch was that the hotel allows the chefs to wander the tables to offer guests special treats ... we chose to have a smoothie and it was wonderful.

The hotel is easily reached by tram from the Central Train station ... so no need to have a car. But if you do the hotel has plenty of parking. We found it easy to access downtown without the need of a car or using the tram ... it was great walking exercise.

Room Tip: go for a junior suite and at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2080Rascal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear 2080Rascal,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We are happy that you particularly enjoyed our breakfast offerings.

Your kind words towards our team members are much appreciated, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments with the team.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#23 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,004 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#84 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#93 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,188 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing