We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“good enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #47 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale
2 reviews
“good enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

what you expect from hilton...major shortcoming was NO FOOD AFTER 10.30 ..when the weather is gorgeous and you can sit outside, not even room service can deliver anything decent...BIG MISTAKE..THE ITALIAN RESTAURANT WAS GREAT


  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank mgbdomus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Mgbdomus,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to hear that most of our services and facilities met your approval and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words towards our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant.

Enjoy fine Italian dining in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant at the Hilton Amsterdam hotel. The Roberto’s Restaurant is using high quality products as well as wines from Italy. The Italian cuisine offers classic but modern and inspirational dishes from Italy. Bring the family for lunch on Sunday and in good weather, dine on the heated terrace.

We would like to apologize for the experience you had with the Room Service department. This has seriously been discussed with the team for future developments.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    762
    239
    84
    41
See reviews for
311
953
133
643
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

What did we enjoy:
Location: 25 mins from City Center by tram - 5 mins walk to the tram, which runs very frequently. The area is a leafy suburb and very quiet - compared to city center - for us this was good news.
Room: very good - spacious, clean, everything we needed - good view over the canal and city south.
Lounge / Bar: with canal views, brilliant alfresco dining - great food - smaller meals are available, well presented as one would expect from the Hilton.
Facilities: we could find everything we needed - including advice !
Staff: in general were excellent - efficient and friendly .....but.......

Our only disappointment was the service we received from one waitron - I want to make it clear that we are not commenting on the person involved - he served us on two occasions - once on the canal lounge and once at breakfast - we noticed that he struggled with the very basics of service - not understanding what was required. After breakfast I asked the 'supervisor' if he was 'under training' and yes, it was only his 2nd week - I asked if he had completed his basic training with the Hilton and was surprised to hear that, no, he had not been on any training courses - just pushed out onto the floor !
I feel very sorry for this young guy, starting out on his career, to be put into a 4/5 star hotel and told 'see what you can do'. Surely the Hilton should prepare their staff for service before letting them enter service ? - I suggested this to the 'supervisor' who commented ' yes - that would be a very good idea'
I would not expect the Hilton to subject a new employee to the rigors of service without the necessary training - would appreciate a response from Hilton.
I

Room Tip: Canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiarainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Kiarainn,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that most of our services and facilities met your approval. Thank you for your kind words toward our team members; we will share all your positive comments with the team.

We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during breakfast. We take your comments regarding the breakfast service level very seriously. Thank you for your feedback regarding our breakfast team member. We would like to inform you that all our team members follow the required training and courses and we will make sure that the training of this particular team member will be reinforced.

All guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we offer to all our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the
near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Not suitable for a 4 stars hotel, services are poor, executives is not at its level and personal is of poor quality professionalism. You get only 'sorry' anytime but no compensation in exchange. Lounges are at top of the hotel and no ventilation is ensure. Very hot and very bussy became at 18,00 pm. Ex L do not ensure food as in other Hiltons . EX L is not worth.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Neacsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Neacsa B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay. We take your comments regarding the service level very seriously and have discussed them within our team to prevent this from reoccurring in the future.

Our Executive Lounge is a perfect place to work and relax providing a breathtaking 360o view of the city of Amsterdam and also offers private check-in and check-out services as well as drinks and hot and cold snacks for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Every feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to constantly improve the level of service we provide to our guests.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be able to welcome you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I took my mother to Amsterdam for her birthday weekend and we decided to stay at the Hilton as we love this part of the city (upmarket, quiet residential area). We were not disappointed. The tram stop is only a 5-10 minute walk away (5 or 24 from Apollolaan) which takes you straight into the centre. All the staff we interacted with were friendly and helpful. The terrace at the back of the hotel is a lovely place to relax and dine or just enjoy an evening drink. The peace and tranquility as you overlook the canal is wonderful. The rooms are clean and well laid out. We had a canal view room which was perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mozartonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Mozartonholiday,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all our facilities and services met your approval.

We are also happy that you enjoyed our Garden Terrace with its wonderful view to the Noorder Amstel canal. It is indeed the ideal place to quietly relax, have a business meeting or a reunion with a friend, our extensive menu ensures that there is something for everyone.

We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members, the whole team takes great pride in service delivery and we will gladly share your compliments with them.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Excellent hotel for a short stay. The reception and rooms are very clean and well laid out. The staff could not be more helpful. The hotel is a short tram trip from the city centre, the surrounding area is very nice & quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Douglas G,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind words towards Hilton Amsterdam team. With pleasure we will share all your positive comments to them!

The Hilton Amsterdam location makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel is great though expensive. A very short tram or walk to central Amsterdam (which for the record is too busy to stay in anyway). Rooms are very good and outside terrace is a charming place to have a relaxing drink. I'd definitely stay here again but try and negotiate a cheaper deal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manofkent1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Manofkent1963,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our services and facilities and you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our rooms and our Garden terrace facing the beautiful Noorder Amstel canal.

The Hilton Amsterdam is the perfect location for sightseeing. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

On a hot summers day last week, stepping into the Hilton Amsterdam was like walking into an oasis of calm. Naturally, the rooms are good (it's a Hilton) and staff are attentive (but, internet too expensive). Lunch on the terrace overlooking the canal was excellent and a walk to Leidseplein through the park (as suggested by the concierge) gave access to Amsterdam at its best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPDxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear GPDxb,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are happy to read how much you enjoyed staying with us and that our services and facilities fully met your approval. We thank you for your kind words towards our staff as well, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments to the team.

Concerning your comment on the internet charge please be advised that we are now offering free internet access in all public areas.

Our Garden Terrace with its wonderful view to the Noorder Amstel canal is the ideal place to quietly relax, have a business meeting or a reunion with a friend. An extensive appetizer and beverage menu ensures that there is something for everyone.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#22 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,088 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#76 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#19 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#99 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Odigeo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing