We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, a great place to stay”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Outstanding service, excellent venue just outside of the hustle and bustle of town, fabulous garden area for a quiet drink...excellence conference facilities and great food...absolutely somewhere I would come back to! Loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Elizabeth D,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to see that our services and facilities met your approval especially the location of the Hilton Amsterdam, the Half Moon Lounge terrace and our conference facilities. Thank you for your kind compliments towards our staff as well, with pleasure I will share all your positive comments to the team!

The Half Moon Lounge offers you a perfect place to enjoy a chilled local beer or feast on local specialties in this nautical-style Amsterdam bar, based on designs by Ralph Lauren. During the summer months we also operate our garden terrace overlooking the canal.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 3,043 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night but wish we could've been here longer!! The hotel was fabulous!! We arrived to extremely friendly, helpful bellhops who opened the door to our cab and offered to take all of our bags up to our room for us. They even took my heavy purse for me which was a huge relief after a day of traveling! We checked in and were given a map of the city, given an upgraded room overlooking the water and access to the executive lounge as we were Hilton gold members.

After getting settled into our beautiful hotel room, we decided to take a walk around the city. Since it was raining the doorman offered us an umbrella!

We walked around the city for several hours exploring the sites in Amsterdam! When we returned, we were warmly welcomed back to the hotel. We went to the executive lounge for a refreshing drink and a snack! The food was amazing, the ambiance was incredible and the view was phenomenal! We returned to our room to relax and had plush robes and slippers waiting for us!

There was an amazing workout facility and complimentary access to bicycles if you wanted to ride around the city like the locals do! :)

The next morning upon checkout, as we needed to arrive at the airport early, a bellhop grabbed our bags and a cab came within 5 minutes to take us to the airport!! I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this fabulous hotel!!! If you are ever in the area I recommend staying in this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Adrienne J,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you liked the location of the Hilton Amsterdam, the Health Club and the Executive Lounge with a 360o view over the city of Amsterdam.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our service staff especially the Doormen team. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and I am sure they will very much appreciate your comments.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Great location, south of the main city in a beautiful residential area that is much more relaxing than more touristy parts of the city. The neighborhood was quiet, but there were a few classy restaurants and shops nearby (mostly locals). We walked everywhere from our hotel--museums, Anne Frank House, central station, etc. This hotel was a splurge for us, but was well worth the rest and satisfaction we received from the excellent service. Wonderful mattress and pillows. Oh-- and book a room with the breakfast it is a full-on brunch buffet, again with top quality service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Claire D,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you particularly liked the location of the Hilton Amsterdam, our breakfast offerings and the comfort of our beds.

Thank you for your kind words concerning our service team. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and I am sure they will very much appreciate your comments.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 7.00 – 10.30 on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here last week. Our arrival at 9 a.m. from New York meant that few rooms were made up, yet the front desk made sure we were given one almost immediately - much appreciated, as we both extremely tired. This attention to our needs and wishes was a constant factor throughout our stay. The hotel lobby is beautiful, our room was simple and tasteful, the breakfast (typical of every Hilton we've stayed in around the world) excellent. And Apollolaan must be one of the most beautiful boulevards in the city, with the museums (which was our reason for coming) and the famous Concertgebouw only a short walk away. We will certainly stay here on our next trip to Amsterdam, and will encourage our friends to do so as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Craig S,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that our services and facilities met your approval and you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that the Front Desk team was able to accommodate your shortly after your early arrival and thank you for your kind words concerning our rooms design and breakfast offerings. With pleasure we will share all your positive comments to the team!

The Hilton Amsterdam location makes it a great starting point to visit many of the main attractions the city has to offer. It is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are all walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I am one 1 visit from Gold status with the Hilton and so I stay there frequently but this one is disappointing.

The room was very hot and the air conditioning could not cope with cooling the room down even though the temperature outside was only 18c. This impacted our sleeping. We told the reception but it was not addressed.

I looked at the breakfast but chose not to purchase at 19 euro per person as it looked poor.

The bed was very good due to the large size. Otherwise it was functionable. Location was very good and close to the sites via the number 5 tram. On a positive note the terrace overlooking the canal was a delight.

Jason Eaton

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Jason Eaton,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

All of our guest feedback is of true importance to us as it allows us to improve constantly the level of service we offer to all our guests.

With regret we read that the air conditioning did not meet with your expectations. We have looked into the matter a have a recorder intervention on behalf of our team that afternoon. Nonetheless, we regret it did not resolute the problem as it did not meet your needs during the night. The matter will be discussed further within our teams to pin point a solution for the future.

Our breakfast is served every morning in our award winning restaurant Roberto’s from 7.00 – 10.30 on weekdays and 7.00 – 11.00 on weekends. The buffet includes an extensive selection of hot and cold items with local, regional and international options. Upon your arrival you were offered a promotional offer of Euro 19.00 versus the regular charge of Euro 27.00 for our full Breakfast.

We are delighted to read that our bedding, Half Moon Lounge terrace facing the canal and the hotel’s location fully met your approval.

Please note that a HHonors Gold member, you will be entitled additional amenities such us Executive lounge access, with 360’ degree view of the city of Amsterdam, and complimentary in-room internet.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

i stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in may this year. overall condition and maintenance is ok, but the staff is terrible. i found them exceptionally rude. verify your credit card charge after you checkout. these people charged me for the breakfast that i didn't have. also the bed in my room was squeaky and not at all comfortable.

Room Tip: there are plenty of good (and cheaper) options in the neighborhood
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahesh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, Director of Operations at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Mahesh M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We sincerely regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

Concerning your breakfast, from our records we see that you were offered a breakfast promotion for the duration of your 3 night stay. The charge was posted nightly and as your account was settled the evening prior to your departure it was unfortunately not on your account at that moment. Please note that this has been discussed with the front desk team as it should have been mentioned that evening.

Thank you for your comment concerning your bed which we will promptly review within our housekeeping team.

Our team takes great pride in service delivery and are accustomed in receiving positive feedback from our guests in merit to their efforts. We therefore take your feedback very seriously and would be very much grateful if you could share with us more details concerning your experience. Please be so kind to share with me your comments at amshi.operations@hilton.com and I will personally reply.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and sincerely hope to able to welcome you back in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Vieri Biticchi
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Hugely pleasant stay in a room with wonderful views. The beds were really good. We have rented a boat and left from the hotel's lovely terrace for a tour through the Amsterdam canals. An unforgettable experience. Next day, we visited the nearby Cornelis Schuyt and PC Hoofd streets in the Southern part of Amsterdam, which was great. The Rijksmuseum and Stedelijk Museum are also nearby. At the hotel, we asked for a parking pass. Otherwise, parking would have been quite expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear C J,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review of Hilton Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read you had a great stay with us. We are glad that you particularly enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the views from your room.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. These attractions are indeed all walking distance from the hotel. Only a few minute walk from the hotel a tram station is located from which you can comfortably access other main areas of Amsterdam.

Thank you for choosing the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#29 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#146 of 373 in Amsterdam
75 reviews
Centrum
Room Mate Aitana
Room Mate Aitana
#33 of 373 in Amsterdam
3,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $182 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing