We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$533
$459
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$415
$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Amsterdam Centre(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$238
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Avenue Hotel(Amsterdam)
$363
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$332
$299
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$905
$558
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Couture(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$440
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$469
$434
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,160)
Filter reviews
3,161 results
Traveler rating
1,747
958
301
108
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,747
958
301
108
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungejohn lennonhalf moon loungediamond memberonocanal viewcity centreresidential areaminute walkquiet locationjunior suitetop floorwonderful hotelvan gogh museumtram stopmuseum quarterpublic transport
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,857 - 1,862 of 3,161 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Hilton Amsterdam is a nice businessman's hotel. However, it is several blocks from the nearest tram in a residential neighborhood. Consider, instead, the Doubletree on the harbor. While the Hilton's Italian, yes Italian, restaurant is very good, it is also very expensive. There are no other restaurants within several blocks.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoySandlapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear RoySandlapper,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential but exclusive South of Amsterdam. It is surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport including a trip of approximately 10 minutes.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is ok located, a little far away from the visited places in Amsterdam, but the hotel is great. Old styled, in front of the canal. The front desk staff are NOT polite at all. Breakfast can be crowded so you might wait a few minutes.
The hotel is great... just the staff could be better trained to be in the Hilton Standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear HoffaChicago,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your comment of being a great hotel, nonetheless we sincerely regret to read about your experience with the Front Desk Staff.

Excellent guest service delivery is our key priority and we therefore would very much appreciate additional information on your experience to enable us to review the matter with our team.

You can kindly reach us at operations.amsterdam@hilton.com .

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Ever since we sold our house in Amsterdam we made the iconic Hilton there our second home. And everytime, this time again, arriving is like coming home. Sure, some things take you back to the sixties. .. the rooms are relatively small. But there always events that make you feel you are part of "it" certainly the past week with the royal ceremonies and liberation day. And then: the people, Nico in the congierge office, Stefania in the executive lounge. A great location, 15 minutes walk from the museums or from south railway station. Departure brings instant nostalgia, only compensated by the knowledge that the next destination is home. Thank you Roberto and team!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert_bos53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear robert_bos53,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a true pleasure to read that the Hilton Amsterdam has become a second home for you.
Thank you for your kind words regarding Nico and Stefania as it is the aim of our team members to strive for quality and service excellence. We will definitely share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam makes a perfect base for exploring all Amsterdam has to offer. It is located in the residential South surrounded by many attractions such as Museum Plein, Vondel Park, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. The tram station is a couple minute walk from the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we sincerely look forward into welcoming you back in your home away from home.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the nicest Hiltons where I've stayed. The room was spacious for a European hotel and the furniture was modern and comfortable. There was a nice pillow selection and the bed was also comfortable. The bathroom was clean and featured several nice amenities - a deep tub, large and soft towels, and an adjustable showerhead so that someone tall like myself can get their head wet. Every part of the hotel was also very clean and well maintained.

I enjoyed the location a great deal, as you're a two-minute walk to Vondel Park and ten minutes through the park puts you right at the Van Gogh Museum. There are several nice restaurants within a short walk of the hotel if you dont' want to trek downtown. It's also a two-minute walk to the tram that takes you into the heart of Amsterdam with a ten minute tram ride. The trams are safe, clean, and operate regularly. This way you can enjoy the bustle of downtown Amsterdam, yet come home to sleep in a peaceful location.

Service was exceptional at all areas of the hotel. From check-in to the bellman, everyone was friendly and tried to make my visit exceptional, which it was. One of our suitcases had a slightly broken handle and the bellman fixed it (without being asked) before bringing it up to our room. When I return to Amsterdam, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear carl0086,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members and cleanliness of the hotel. The aim of our team members is to strive for quality and service excellence. We will gladly share your compliments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam makes a perfect base for exploring all Amsterdam has to offer. It is located in the residential South surrounded by many attractions such as Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. Indeed the Vondel Park is a few minute’s walk from the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice front desk and bell staff.

Room comfortable but not 'deluxe' in my mind (4th floor, canal and distant city views).
Expensive for position in relation to city centre (30mins distant by foot), with additional charges for car park, wifi (E25/24hrs).

Breakfast was marred by brusque challenge by restaurant manageress demanding I pay for breakfast (E27.5) which was confirmed included by reception staff at check-in. Even in the middle of my meal this woman was hassling me to sign for the food; a colleague relented and ended up paying twice! The challenging of other guests, entering the restaurant and relatively heavy security suggests the Hilton Apollolaan has a problem with unwelcome visitors.

Though on business this visit, the hotel would not be my first choice for a weekend break in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wetfoot001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Wetfoot001,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor and for your
positive comment regarding our Front Desk and Bell staff team.

We regret to read about your experience during your breakfast for which we would like to offer our sincere apologies. Unfortunately there had been a misunderstanding during the breakfast registration process, done with the sole intention of welcoming and providing our guests with all our breakfast options. We have addressed the matter with the team to ensure a hassle free process for the future.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews