We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
BEVERLY HILLS
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second time in this hotel and just like the first time, we were very impressed by the staff. They are very polite, helpful and accommodating. Unfortunately we came at the time of coronation of the new king and hotel was sold out so we couldn't get our usual upgrade. But over all is a very good hotel and I do recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FAY1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear FAY1357,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had another pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our team members which we will gladly share with them. It is their aim to constantly strive for service excellence.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    794
    244
    87
    42
See reviews for
328
998
135
676
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at the Hilton really made our mini break in Amsterdam a memorable experience. Although the hotel is located a little way out of the centre this was compensated by the friendly and helpful staff at the hotel, especially the concierge who made things so easy with excursion arrangements and entrance to the attractions.

The hotel itself, was spotless with keen attention to detail which would be difficult to fault. We booked a room on the canal side of the hotel and the views over Amsterdam were stunning and worth paying the extra. The super size bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept on and ensured a good nights sleep after the busy days walking and tripping about.

The breakfast selection was excellent and gave us a good start to the day in excellent surroundings.

Although the hotel is not central it is only a short walk to the Museum area and a pleasant walk through the park brings you out at the hop on hop off boat service. Trams are very frequent and stop just around the corner from the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor on the canal side which gave excellent views over Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandD_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear JohnandD_13,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We highly appreciate your kind words regarding our team members and especially of our concierge. The aim of our team is to strive for service excellence and we will definitely share your comments with them.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. Indeed these attractions are all walking distance of the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Can't say anything bad about this hotel
Truly had an amazing time. Yes the hotel is out the way, but it's a two min walk to the trap line also the hotel loans you bikes, which seems like the most common means of transport. Kids right up to Grannies & Grandpas are all riding!!! You learn to RESPECT the bike ring just as much as a car horn. Nice big park about 5 mins from the hotel.
Make sure to check out the Red Light District and go blaze in the cafes!
I ASSUMED YOU WERE ALLOWED TO SMOKE ANYWHERE IN AMSTERDAM!
YOU ARE NOT!
Keep it in the district ;)

Cons
No POOL

Pros
Right on the canal
Amazing views from the executive lounge & free net use

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sc0tths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Sc0tths,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a very pleasant stay with us.

Indeed the hotel is located nearby the famous Vondel Park where you can relax and enjoy the beautiful views. The Concert hall, Museum square and exclusive shopping streets are also walking distance from the hotel.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We have spent 2 nights in this hotel. Situated just a few minutes walk from Vondel Park and the Museum Square, 15 minutes by tram from the city centre (Dam Square). Located in a nice and quiet residential area. Staff very friendly at the reception and the bar, room was spacious with a view of the canal. Breakfast very good, large choice, freshly prepared pancakes of guestś choice. staff very warm and welcoming at the breakfast lounge.
Very clean and friendly, just as you expect in Hilton.
The only downside for some travellers could be the position of the safe deposit box in the room, as it is very high located and a person of average height could have problems not reaching it, but seeing what is or is not inside. I am 175 cm and had to find by touch when unloading it or I would need to use a chair to be able to see if I had not left anything inside... It is a tiny little detail though.... It definitely cannot spoil your stay , it just puzzles me....
All in all it must have been one of our Top 5 Hiltons ever.

Room Tip: rooms with a view of the river are great, higher floors get a better view, lower enjoy the river and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear andy s,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you for your warm words regarding our team members. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and we are glad we exceed your expectations.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, it is a perfect location for exploring all Amsterdam has to offer.

Concerning your comment on our safe deposit boxes height, we would like to thank you for this and we will keep it into account for future room lay out developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Yes, the location is not central.

But it is quiet, in nice surroundings (the ugliest building of the area is the hotel itself to be frank) and trams to the center are within easy reach. In addition, the museums area is rather close and you have a nice park not far.

Rooms are comfortable with good sound insulation.

Minibar is terrible, the "automatic" style where you will be charged if you move anything and you dont seem to be authorized to put anything of your own (being medics, your own drinks or some ... gouda for instance). Anyway there is no difficulty in correcting your bill on this point when checking out. But hotels should stop developing that king of equipment. It makes life more complicated for both their customers and their staff, and is depriving clients from a service in the room.

Executive lounge on the top floor should be improved. It is too small (we had to renounce at least once to go there because it was full), and the choice of snack is very poor.

But staff is very nice. From the desk to the breakfast room, we have seen nice people, helpful and smiling.
A specific congratulations for the chef efforts and waiters in the breakfast room, not only for the food quality and diversity provided, but also for their kindness. We have seen them confronted with a very rude client, and they managed an insulting behavior with a lot of professionalism. I would have acted very differently...

Recommended...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavierfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear xavierfrance,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We would like to thank you for your kind words regarding our team members. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and we are glad their efforts where well appreciated.

Concerning our Executive lounge, we will review your comments with our staff as we must ensure prompt replacement of our food offering especially during peak hours.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
289 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This Hilton is a good choice - very nice property - very quiet area. The hotel itself is a modern European style. The rooms are good-size and the bathrooms spacious for Europe.

It is not in the heart of town and also not too near the airport. The airport Hilton is a bit sad - new one under construction so not much being done to update the old. There is a Doubletree next to Centraal station in the heart of town. This Hilton is in a much quieter area.

The easiest way to/from the airport is by taxi. The hotel can set that up for 35 euros each way. To get downtown you hop on a tram and it's about a 10 minute ride. You can hop off at Centraal or Dam Square or the street market etc. Trams come by every 10 minutes - we never waited even that long.

The hotel has a fantastic breakfast - one of the very best I have seen. Hilton Diamonds eat free. There is also a rooftop lounge that is quite nice.

I thought is was a great spot to land after arrival - very quiet and easy to sleep. The only issue I noticed was dinner. They have an Italian restaurant - nice - a bit more than we wanted. The alternative was the bar. The food was a bit eclectic and pricey.

The staff were first rate - everyone I met at every step. Good spot.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sbccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear sbccc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your kind words regarding our team members and our breakfast.

Our team members take great pride in service delivery. We are glad to read that we exceed your expectations.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many attractions such as the Vondel Park, Museum Plein, Concert hall and exclusive shopping streets. This makes a perfect base for exploring all that Amsterdam has to offer.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,179 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#78 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing