We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel & Good Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #42 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Good Hotel & Good Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The stay was good. especially the service from hotel staff were extremely good. Checking in and out was quick and efficient. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parvish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Parvish,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read about your positive stay at our hotel.

It is a pleasure to know that you felt comfortable in our rooms and that you enjoyed the quiet location.

We appreciate your kind words regarding the “extremely helpful and friendly” service. Our team members do their utmost to deliver high quality service.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,449
    833
    259
    92
    41
See reviews for
364
1,068
140
723
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here whilst on a two day vacation in Amsterdam. Being a gold card member I was instantly upgraded to an executive room on the 9th floor (910) which allowed me access to the executive lounge on the 10th floor. The room was spacious with a great city view. My only gripe was the toileteries which although are standard for Hilton hotels, are quite basic and unbranded in comparison to the Hiltons' competitors.

The lounge bright with panoramic views of the city and the airport in the far distance. A good selection of breakfast items and decent canapés in the evening.

The hotel staff was very accommodating and arranged taxis for me and even loaned me a travel adaptor as I left mine at home. My only issue with the hotel was that it was a bit further out of the city, but at least it was in a quiet area and decent neighbourhood.

Will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank damoritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear damoritz,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the upgrade to the 9th floor with a spacious canal view room.

The American and well-known Peter Thomas Roth products used by Hilton are made for all ages, skin types and are award winning products.

It is a pleasure to read about your Executive Lounge experience while our team members appreciate your kind words regarding the service.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the exclusive South of Amsterdam surrounded by a beautiful canal and at walking distance from the famous Museumplein while the city centre is easily accessible via tram within 10 minutes.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved being there. Staff made me feel welcome. They were friendly and enthusiastic. Food was decent and I have encountered no delays in receiving them. Room was big enough and comfortable, although the bed felt kind of strange. I am assuming that they have combined two twins. It was not a big deal.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gencoerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear gencoerdem,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate you kind words regarding our team members, who made you feel welcome in a friendly and enthusiastic way.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our menu offer and rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced concerning the bed.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel what u exspect from a hiton , nice staff , good beds , just nice really but u pay for what u get it is one of the more expensive hotels and it is out the city center so its a long walk or taxi or tram the roof bar /breakfast area has nice veiws and the food is good

Helpful?
Thank Giggles961
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Giggles961,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that we met your expectations regarding the hotel including our beds, Executive Lounge with a beautiful view and breakfast area at our Roberto’s Restaurant.

Our team members appreciate your kind words, who do their utmost to deliver high quality service.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the exclusive South of Amsterdam surrounded by the famous Museumplein, shopping streets and Royal Concert Hall. It is indeed a longer walk to the city centre while it is easily accessible via tram, metro or bus within 10 minutes.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
505 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My orchestra has been performing at the Concertgebouw for many years. Each time we ask the musicians their advice as where they want to stay, the answer is always the Hilton. It is an easy walk to the Concertgebouw, the staff is great, the rooms consistent and well designed for the business traveller, the restaurants and bar excellent (although a little pricey) and the location beside a canal means that half the rooms have a nice view. Also, this was the hotel where the famous "Bed-In" by John and Yoko took place so it has great nostalgia for those of us from that time period. You can actually rent this room and they call it a suite but it really isn't. Still, having your picture taken in that room and on that bed? Priceless

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the canal side - it is quieter and picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear John K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that the musicians of the Concertgebouw are recommending our hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the South of Amsterdam next to the canal and indeed at walking distance from the Concertgebouw as well as the Museumplein and famous Vondel Park.

It is a pleasure to hear that we met your expectations regarding the rooms as well as business facilities. Our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant is well known for its Italian atmosphere as well as exclusive Italian products.

The hotel has indeed a great history including the John&Yoko Suite, classified as a Suite according to the Dutch Star Classification.

Our team members appreciate your kind words regarding the service.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
313 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I typically want to go to a unique experience, but when traveling on business I look for amenities that make wqork easier, give me proximity to meetings as well as after work. This Hilton fits that bill. Clean, good club, nice spa---small but very european, so conmfotable, clean, steam,saune, solarium over looking the cnanl. Hiowever when the weather is nice, dining along the canal is a very Amsterdam treat, and a block awy thee public transportation gets you where you need to go...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Lindsaybc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your positive words regarding your experience at the Hilton Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to read that your stay was comfortable and that you were very pleased with the spa facilities.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by beautiful canals and exclusive shopping streets. The Museamplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall are indeed a block away and easily reachable by the public transport. Dining along the canal is indeed a typical Amsterdam’s “treat” and we are glad you have experienced it.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

At the Hilton Amsterdam you will get what you always get at Hilton hotels. A standardized pleasent american business solution, nice and spotless. Dont expect a dutch experience, this is Americana at its best and its worst.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heine Husted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Heine Husted H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Our Hilton meetings facilities are indeed one of the hotel’s highlights and offer many different event and congress opportunities.

The Hilton Amsterdam has of course American influences as it is part of the American chain. However, the canal side of the hotel is typical Dutch as well as the interior was created by a Dutch designer.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#83 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#109 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Centrum
Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing