We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely experience”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #43 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved being there. Staff made me feel welcome. They were friendly and enthusiastic. Food was decent and I have encountered no delays in receiving them. Room was big enough and comfortable, although the bed felt kind of strange. I am assuming that they have combined two twins. It was not a big deal.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank gencoerdem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear gencoerdem,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate you kind words regarding our team members, who made you feel welcome in a friendly and enthusiastic way.

It is a pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our menu offer and rooms. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced concerning the bed.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,873 - 1,879 of 3,113 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel what u exspect from a hiton , nice staff , good beds , just nice really but u pay for what u get it is one of the more expensive hotels and it is out the city center so its a long walk or taxi or tram the roof bar /breakfast area has nice veiws and the food is good

Thank Giggles961
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear Giggles961,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that we met your expectations regarding the hotel including our beds, Executive Lounge with a beautiful view and breakfast area at our Roberto’s Restaurant.

Our team members appreciate your kind words, who do their utmost to deliver high quality service.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the exclusive South of Amsterdam surrounded by the famous Museumplein, shopping streets and Royal Concert Hall. It is indeed a longer walk to the city centre while it is easily accessible via tram, metro or bus within 10 minutes.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My orchestra has been performing at the Concertgebouw for many years. Each time we ask the musicians their advice as where they want to stay, the answer is always the Hilton. It is an easy walk to the Concertgebouw, the staff is great, the rooms consistent and well designed for the business traveller, the restaurants and bar excellent (although a little pricey) and the location beside a canal means that half the rooms have a nice view. Also, this was the hotel where the famous "Bed-In" by John and Yoko took place so it has great nostalgia for those of us from that time period. You can actually rent this room and they call it a suite but it really isn't. Still, having your picture taken in that room and on that bed? Priceless

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the canal side - it is quieter and picturesque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Dear John K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that the musicians of the Concertgebouw are recommending our hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the South of Amsterdam next to the canal and indeed at walking distance from the Concertgebouw as well as the Museumplein and famous Vondel Park.

It is a pleasure to hear that we met your expectations regarding the rooms as well as business facilities. Our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant is well known for its Italian atmosphere as well as exclusive Italian products.

The hotel has indeed a great history including the John&Yoko Suite, classified as a Suite according to the Dutch Star Classification.

Our team members appreciate your kind words regarding the service.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I typically want to go to a unique experience, but when traveling on business I look for amenities that make wqork easier, give me proximity to meetings as well as after work. This Hilton fits that bill. Clean, good club, nice spa---small but very european, so conmfotable, clean, steam,saune, solarium over looking the cnanl. Hiowever when the weather is nice, dining along the canal is a very Amsterdam treat, and a block awy thee public transportation gets you where you need to go...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBMartiniguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Lindsaybc,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your positive words regarding your experience at the Hilton Amsterdam. It is a pleasure to read that your stay was comfortable and that you were very pleased with the spa facilities.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by beautiful canals and exclusive shopping streets. The Museamplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall are indeed a block away and easily reachable by the public transport. Dining along the canal is indeed a typical Amsterdam’s “treat” and we are glad you have experienced it.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

At the Hilton Amsterdam you will get what you always get at Hilton hotels. A standardized pleasent american business solution, nice and spotless. Dont expect a dutch experience, this is Americana at its best and its worst.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heine Husted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Heine Husted H,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Our Hilton meetings facilities are indeed one of the hotel’s highlights and offer many different event and congress opportunities.

The Hilton Amsterdam has of course American influences as it is part of the American chain. However, the canal side of the hotel is typical Dutch as well as the interior was created by a Dutch designer.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

we recently stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam for a week and it was an excellent stay. The staff were absolutely amazing, and nothing was too much trouble for them. They really made us feel welcome and special in every way possible, and they always delivered genuine service with a smile. We were upgraded to a room overlooking the canal, which offered lovely views. The room was spacious and comfortable and very clean. Although the hotel is not in the city centre, the tram service is convenient and very efficient and the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the tram stop.. The breakfast was superb, and the staff particularly Liena and Jeremy are an asset to the company. They really made a difference to any other hotel we stayed in. I would also like to commend Adrian in the Lounge Bar, service and food were of exceptional quality. We were also treated well by Danny the head concierge who we found made our stay even more memorable by his daily recommendations. Thank you so much for your hospitality. We will definately recommend the hotel

Room Tip: i would definately recommend having a view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLAYTONCOURT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Claytoncourt,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted about your excellent stay at our hotel.

Your review is a great honour for our team members and we thank you for all your compliments regarding the excellent service. The aim of our team members is to strive for service excellence and to constantly exceed guest expectations.

It is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable in the upgraded canal view room and that you enjoyed the Half Moon Lounge as well as our breakfast buffet.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here over a cold snowy three-day weekend. Not great for walking downtown, but it was easy to hop on one of the three tram stops a couple blocks away. The room was OK - it was the view over the canal (we were on the 7th floor facing toward downtown), and the lovely executive lounge that made the hotel special. The lounge is on the top floor with floor to ceiling windows and we had a beautiful view of the snow covered city. Excellent service as well.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jumbotex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear jumbotex,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the lovely winter views from your room and our Executive Lounge.

Our team members do their utmost to deliver quality service and appreciate your kind words regarding the excellent service.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by many exclusive shopping streets, while the city centre is indeed easily accessible via tram.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#51 of 376 in Amsterdam
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#30 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,653 reviews
Centrum
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
Kimpton De Witt Amsterdam
#12 of 376 in Amsterdam
574 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $188 - $593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing