We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$286
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$274
$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $287/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,224)
Filter reviews
3,224 results
Traveler rating
1,785
973
305
110
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,785
973
305
110
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungejohn lennonhalf moon loungediamond memberonocanal viewcity centreresidential areaminute walkquiet locationtop floorjunior suitewonderful hotelvan gogh museumtram stopmuseum quarterpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
1,970 - 1,975 of 3,224 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in November 2012. Check in was not till the afternoon, but we arrived early and they allowed us to check in straight away which was very convenient. Rooms were comfortable with a view of the canal and staff polite and helpful. The hotel is on the outskirts of the city, but in a pleasant location, and it is only a five minute walk along a canal overlooking exclusive properties to reach the tram stop(7.5 euros a day). The concierge was very helpful, giving us a map of the city and suggestions of things to do. Leidesplein is a good place to eat with many restaurants. The breakfast was very pleasant, with a selection of bacon, sausage, eggs etc, but our highlight was a cheerful chef who came round with wonderful hot pancakes and chocolate sauce and kept plying us with bubbly for breakfast. He really made it an enjoyable experience. The only downside was that our room was near to the lift, which was very noisy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvette741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear yvette741,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read about your experience at our hotel and that you enjoyed our canal view rooms.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam while it is at walking distance from exclusive shopping streets, the famous Museumplein and Vondel Park whereas the city centre is easily accessible via tram.

It is a pleasure to hear about your enjoyable breakfast experience and that our “cheerful chef” in the breakfast room contributed in making the difference.

Our team members do their utmost to deliver high quality service and it will be my pleasure to share your kind words with them.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we look forward into welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I'm staying in this hotel now , I left my room in the morning and we came back around 17:00 and nobody cleaned our room . After I asked to do so they asked us to go out for 20 min so they will do it . They finished after less than 15 so you can understand nobody cleaned nothing ....

Second because its 5stars hotel you charge 27 euro per day for wifi - are you crazy , it's basic service that mostly given for free

Sorry for choosing this hotel

Amit

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tesamit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Amit,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that our Housekeeping team did not meet your expectations. Our rooms should indeed get cleaned every day and we apologize for this inconvenience and have discussed it with our team members. However, the daily cleaning of each room does not take longer than 15 minutes as it does not include a bed sheet change. This is done every three days due to sustainability reasons but if the guest wishes it can be requested daily.

We would like to inform you that our hotel will offer free internet in all public areas of the hotel by the end of January.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel's location has been subjected to debate over and over again. The location is one of the reasons I chose this hotel. We completed our third stays over, say, five years and each time this hotel offered good service, quality room, an elegant atmosphere and -yes- a convenient location in a friendly, urban, tranquille neighbourhood next to public transport (streetcars). The railway station Amsterdam Zuid (four tram stops) offers great value when coming from Schiphol airport or traveling to other destinations in the Netherlands.
Staff has been top notch, some of it went out of their ways. Breakfast experience was great. Room rates can be exorbitantly high, so I would wait until they are reasonable enogh.
I am looking forward to coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Zurich,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoy the good service of our team members, the quality of the room, the elegant atmosphere within the hotel, and our location.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by beautiful canals and exclusive shopping streets. In the South of Amsterdam is also the business district as well as the RAI Congress Centre while the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall are just at walking distance from the hotel.

The city centre is easily accessible via tram or a 20 min walk through the beautiful exclusive neighbourhood with many local restaurants and bars. The railway station Amsterdam Zuid makes it convenient to arrive from the airport as well.

Thank you for being a loyal customer at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend in early December 2012, and we couldn't have been happier with it! I followed the advice of other reviewers and contacted the hotel in advance to reserve a room on a high floor with a canal view. I am a Gold HHonours member, and we were upgraded to a lovely room with a wonderful view over the city!

I have to make particular mention of the excellent service we received. The staff were extremely helpful and spoke flawless English! They went out of their way to help and really made us feel very special during our stay.

The hotel is a little outside the city centre, it must be said, and unless you like to walk, you might want to take a tram into town to go sightseeing. The hotel also has a bike rental service, which we didn't take advantage of this time, but which we thought was a nice touch!

Overall, a great experience! I would definitely recommend it and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance and ask them to reserve you a room on a high floor with a view of the canal. You won't be disappointed!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GannyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear GannyGirl,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read about your great experience and that you enjoyed the upgrade to a nice room with a wonderful city view.

Our team members appreciate your kind words regarding the excellent service and that they contributed to a nice stay at our hotel. The team members take great pride in service delivery and do their utmost to deliver high quality and to make our guests feel special.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and exclusive shopping streets. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport or a longer walk through the beautiful Vondel Park.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for our wedding anniversary over New Years Eve. Booked as I am a hilton gold member and the reviews were good on tripadvisor.
We got upgraded to an executive suite on the 7th floor - room 701. Corner room with a stunning canal view - definitely worth paying for. Disappointed the shower is over the bath, I do like my hotel rooms with a separate shower but this was a small niggle.
We booked dinner in Robertos for NYE/ wedding anniversary and it was wow! Mix up on the wine package and we had asked for an intimate table which was not initially given but we did get moved. I have to say it was worth the money, €150, as they opened up the executive lounge after 11.15pm exclusively for restaurant guests. Awesome! What a view of the fireworks over the city and an excellent atmosphere..! Very, very highly recommend for NYE.
The hotel is a 20 minute walk from the city through a beautiful residential neighbourhood, with some lovely shops and restaurants. Make sure your walk into the city includes P C hooftstraat, Amsterdams answer to Bond Street, London. We loved the walk into the city everyday but the weather was kind to us. I can imagine if it was raining it would be a bind, but the tram stop is only 300 yards away and the hotel sell 1 day tickets. My tip would be to buy a 3 day ticket if there for 3 days though as more cost effective. The hotel is located between the city and the airport so taxis are cheaper. It cost us €35 and the hotel will organise so please contact them.
Breakfasts fantastic and the staff are incredibly attentive.
Anne franks house is a must - book your tickets online as there is a massive queue otherwise! Do venture out from the main area of Amsterdam and visit the 9 streets - de Negen straatjes - what a beautiful area.
I have to say we loved the walk back every evening too, stopping at one of the local residential restaurants on the way.. We were glad to get away from the hustle and bustle of amsterdam.

Room Tip: Get a canal view and suite if you can afford it. 701 was lovely :)
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderingstarsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear wanderingstarsx2,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear about your positive stay during your wedding anniversary and New Year’s Eve. It was our aim to create an excellent atmosphere and unique experience during New Years Eve and are glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations. Our awarded Roberto’s Restaurant is known for exclusive Italian dishes of high quality.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the canal view from your room while we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the shower over the bath.

We thank you for complimenting our breakfast team members, who strive for quality and service excellence and do their utmost to deliver high quality.

The Hilton Amsterdam is indeed located in the residential South of Amsterdam, surrounded by the famous Museumplein, Vondel Park and Royal Concert Hall while the RAI congress centre is at walking distance as well. The city centre is easily accessible via public transport or a longer walk through the beautiful neighbourhood.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews