We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$305
$244
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$293
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$316
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$478
$387
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$204
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $264/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$299
$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$442
$331
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$285
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,223)
Filter reviews
3,223 results
Traveler rating
1,785
973
304
110
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,785
973
304
110
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungejohn lennonhalf moon loungediamond memberonocanal viewcity centreresidential areaminute walkquiet locationtop floorjunior suitewonderful hotelvan gogh museumtram stopmuseum quarterpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
2,016 - 2,021 of 3,223 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have just got back from a trip to the Netherlands and we stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam. We had a lovely room overlooking one of the canals. King size bed (if not bigger) although, bottled water is chargeable so bring your own if you don' want to pay 7 euros for a bottle. The staff here were very friendly in all areas. Breakfasts were superb - the chef was very friendly. Make sure that you keep your "do not disturb" sign on your door whenever you are in your hotel room! I went back for an afternoon nap on one of the days and had the hotel staff knocking and then bursting into my room wanting to restock the mini bar which we hadn't even used! My sleep was interupted and I had gotten quite a fright. I stayed in the Hilton Tooley street in London a few months ago and experienced the same thing. The hotel is about 20 minutes from the centre of Amsterdam so the positives are that it is quiet so you really do get a good night's sleep. I love the pillows!!

Room Tip: I found my room on travelzoo and got a good deal and a free room upgrade. I was on the 3rd floor and it was quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Karen A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It is a great pleasure to read about your compliments regarding our lovely rooms and our team members.
Our team members do their utomost to deliver the highest service and quality. Our team members do check and refill the minibars in the afternoon while most guests are not in their room. We apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced with our room service team members. Should you not want to be disturbed, we always advise to our guests to use the “do not disturb” sign.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet as well as our king size beds and pillows.

The hotel is located in the South of Amsterdam and indeed a 20 minutes walk to the city centre. The centre is easily accessible via public transport within 10 minutes. One of the big advantages of the residential area is the quietness and the short walking distance to the Museumplein and exclusive shopping streets.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. The staff was really friendly and helpful. In case something goes wrong they immedaitly solved it in a way you forget the complaint.
Nice very quite room with lovely view on a riverside.

The restaurant is very affordable but you must follow a 4 couse menu otherwise you will get hungry to bed.
Breakfast is almost perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailor_0871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Sailor_0871,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read about your pleasant stay and your kind words regarding our rooms with beautiful city and canal views.

We highly appreciate your compliments regarding our helpful and friendly team members and Roberto’s Restaurant. Our team members do their utmost to deliver the best service and quality.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked the rmoantic package which was good, though only a pair of beds! Prosecco in an ice bucket, strawberries with chocolate and sugar dips, much apprieciated, a great start to the evening, we decided to eat in the Restaurant which I will review seperately, but the food was fantasic, though service not quite so. Beds were comfy so nearly missed breakfast
The colours and decor in the rooms and corridors seems to still echo the 60's. But the views are quite striking, it is a fair way to centre of town, but in the package we get a late check out 6 which was really useful. Breakfast unfortunately was not so good, all Hilton's seem to do the same now and it needs a chef cooking some fresh poached eggs, you have to ask for decent coffee and then some waiter started telling all in a loud voice that the buffet was closing in ten minutes, not exactly making a relaxing start to your day.

Room Tip: Canalside is good as you see the rooftops of the city
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear alexBath,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the romantic package including all extra amenities and late check-out. It is a pleasure to read that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed the beautiful view.

The design of the Hilton Amsterdam was done by Dutch designers and our Half Moon Lounge is designed by Ralph Lauren while it might reflect some aspects of the 60’s due to the monumental building.

We are sorry to hear that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. We would like to inform you that our guests do have the opportunity to order many other products, such as frech poached eggs which are prepared by our Chef in the kitchen. We take the comments about your breakfast experience very seriously and we have discussed them with our team members.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

this hotel is located in a nice part of town and can be reached from tram stops at (tram 5) or emmastraat (16) or minervaplein (16 i think but not sure) -each of these is only a few mins walk to hotel. unfortunately there were works on the tram lines while we were there which caused some confusion! the canal at the back of the hotel is beautiful. Our room had great views towards the financial district and was spacious. the bed was king sized and very comfortable. We booked our stay for a very reasonable rate on-line and breakfast was included -there was a good choice and on sunday everyone was offered prosecco / mimosas! i recommend ordering lattes/ cappucinos if you like these. You can also order eggs etc although the buffet scrambled eggs were very good (unusual in my opinion!!). Waffles and pancakes also good! One of our party arrived late on the saturday night and Robertos restaurant accommodated us at 10pm - we were delighted as most restaurants in the area closed by then. The dinner was good and dessert delicious - quite expensive but we enjoyed it. All staff were very friendly and i must say we felt very at home during our stay. One downside was the charge for wi-fi, it was about 20 euros per day which we thought was too dear - i believe this is common in hotels in the netherlands but i have never encountered a wi-fi charge like this at home. We found free wi-fi at various tourists spots around town so did not use the hilton wi-fi. Overall a very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: higher floors at front would have nice view over amsterdam
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Claire C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely pleased to read about your enjoyable stay at our hotel. The hotel is indeed located in the beautiful and residential South of Amsterdam. It is in walking distance to several exclusive shopping streets, the famous Museumplein and entertaining Leidseplein. The city centre is, as you mentioned, easily accessible via tram.

We highly appreciate your kind words about our team members, who give great pride in service delivery and who made you feel at home. Our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant offers indeed a great breakfast buffet with good choices and a high quality Italian cuisine.

It is a pleassure to hear that you felt comfortable in our rooms and that you enjoyed the beautiful view.

We thank you for your comments about the internet prices. We take your comment very seriously and have discussed them for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Thank you to the lovely staff at Roberto's restaurant at breakfast each morning. In particular Liene ( hope I spelt that correctly) who had the lovliest smile and cheerful manner and simply could not do enough. It made a wonderful start to the day! No swimming pool was a big disappointment!!

Room Tip: Ask for canal view room!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanna_s_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Joanna_s_c,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read your kind words about our team members. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and do their utmost to ensure high quality and guest satisfaction at all times. We would like to thank you for your compliments and have shared these with our team members.

The Hilton Amsterdam does not have a swimming pool, however the Health Club offers facilities such as fitness equipment, a sauna and steam room.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews