We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“front desk staff +”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #41 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Nice hotel although slightly worn. Notwithstanding room was pretty cool, and bed very comfy.
Hotel is located close to the Rijksmuseum but a little bit far from the city center. Really friendly front desk staff.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Andrew Brooklyn,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to read that you were satisfied with our hotel as well as rooms and that you had a very comfortable stay. It is most important that our guests feel comfortable and welcomed and we are glad to hear that you experienced the same with our front desk team.

As all our team members, the front desk takes great pride in service delivery and quality and we appreciate your kind words.

The hotel is indeed located close to the Rijksmuseum as well as the Concertgebouw and RAI congress center. The city centre is easily accessible via tram and on the way you can find many exlcusive shopping streets and restaurants.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,969)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,835 - 1,841 of 2,969 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have been a regular hilton customer, and have recently got Gold Hilton honors membership, and front this poor experience I was going to cancel my booking with this hotel and stay with another hotel.
Try to avoid dealing with reservation manager Milan worplel, as he is extremely rude, and gives u the impression that he is doing u a favor although we are getting is normal compared to all the hilton hotels I have stayed in including Waldorf Astoria and Conrad hotels which are the highest brands within the hilton. We booked an executive room and requested an upgrade to the junior suite which comes after executive rooms... Anyway got that only after escalating to the GM before canceling all the booking.
Room category: junior suite
Lobby: Very basic, and simple. The hotel allows dogs inside, which I find to be extremely dirty.
lounge: small, very small variety if snacks and drinks. Have been to more than 40 hotels from jan 2012 till now and this was the smallest and with poor food and drink selection. Although my perception was not high due to the general understanding of the Dutch stereotyping of being stingy.
Guest room: average room size with floor to ceiling windows however poor taste of interior
Bathroom: average quality and size
Room service: slow and actually offer u less quantity of whatever u order from housekeeping
Breakfast: average quality and variety.. They have a very courteous waitress (Hana, if I recall) and friendly chef serving pancakes
Concierge: ok
Location: 10 mins by bus from city center attractions
Facilities: haven't used

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Al3alawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Mr. Al Alawi,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your personal review of the Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We were very sorry to read that after all we have done to make your stay comfortable you still did not appreciate our efforts.

We were so kind to upgrade you to a Junior Suite, during a sold out time period. Upgrading to a suite is only given upon availability and this was done as a gesture of goodwill. Your room rate was Euro 149,50 per night, including breakfast.

The lobby, while simple in your eyes, has been designed by Skidmore, Owen & Merrill, one of the top architects in the world, but I understand that this did not meet your approval.

We understand that the style of the suite was not yours but would like to advise you that one of the top designers in Europe, Designers Guild, has designed the room.

Pets are allowed in the room In most of the hotels in Europe and we are proud that we offer the same facility. We secure the hygiene of the room by a special cleaning method and for this the guest is charged an additional fee.

The lounge is maybe small, but offers a beautiful 360 degrees panoramic view over Amsterdam. Our lounge offers a full bar including champagne and snacks. We do not serve a full dinner. I would appreciate if you could advise which kind of drinks you missed?

The size of our Junior Suite is 40 m2 and overlooking our garden and the canal.

We have taken the liberty to review your bill and found that you never ordered room service. Could you please advise us what exactly you mean?

We hope that the guests who read our reply will see the situation from both sides.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

As expected of most Hilton hotels, we had an enjoyable stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. Our room was clean, very comfortable and had lovely views of Amsterdam. The staff are courteous and helpful, and the hotel offers a reasonable selection of facilities including cycle hire (at reasonable prices) and several bar options (less reasonably priced). Disappointingly, internet access is chargeable. The hotel itself is located a little out of the way of the centre of Amsterdam and the sites, but this was not an issue for us as we wanted a bit of peace from time to time. It is a 15 minute cycle/taxi ride to the centre, and a more leisurely stroll by foot. If this is not a problem for you, I am sure you will enjoy your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Leila G,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are extremely delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam and that we met your expectations. We thank you for your kind words regarding the selection of facilities the hotel offers as well as the cleanliness, comfortablility or your room including a beautiful view.
Our team members take great pride in service delivery and quality and we are glad to hear that you experienced that as well.

The hotel is located in the exclusive and residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by the Museumplein, RAI congress centre and Concertgebouw. The city centre is indeed easily accessible via bike and taxi or via tram. The closest tram station is within 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel and is a very easy way to discover Amsterdam.

We are thank you for your feedback concerning the internet prices.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

While on a Trafalgar tour in Amsterdam in early October, we had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for three nights. After an overnight flight, we arrived at the hotel about 9:30 am and our room was not available, nor did we expect it to be. We checked in, though, and requested a canal view with a king size bed. When we did get to our room later in the day, it was canal side with a king bed! The room was large and beautifully attired with a great bathroom with lots of counter space. What nice surprises!

We had buffet breakfasts each morning which were top notch. The food was properly heated and offered an excellent variety. The hot pancakes brought to our table by a waiter was another nice touch. All of our dealings with the staff were first rate and they all were very helpful and professional.

The location of the hotel is outside the city center, but it is in a lovely "suburban" park-like neighborhood that was about a 7-10 minute walk to the nearest tram stop which we used on two occasions with no problems. There is a great tram system in Amsterdam which allows for easy transfers and relatively quick access to the central city.

Our only complaint was that wi-fi was only available for purchase at 10 euros/hour or 27 euros for the day. We thought this was way too expensive. Other than this one item, we highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal side room at a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear Howard62,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read your kind words regarding our large and beautiful hotel rooms including the bathroom and suprises. Furthermore, we are glad to hear that you had every morning a great breakfast experience with an excellent variety and we highly appreciate your compliments about our team members. Our team members take great pride in service delivery and quality and we are happy to hear that you experienced it in the same way.

The hotel is indeed located in the residential and exclusive South of Amsterdam and is surrounded by the Museumplein and many shopping streets while the city centre is easily accessible via tram. The nearest tram station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel.

We take your comment about the internet seriously and have discussed it within our team for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

So, this is a fine, albeit overpriced hotel that is too far away from downtown (35 € cab ride from the airport.) Rooms are nice & roomy; staff is great. But, for the price, I'd expect free wifi & other amenities ( sorry, I'm not impressed with "pillow choices".). Plus, you are on the outskirts of most happenings. I was here for a conference & was bummed that my one night out was limited dieting location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kalisa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Kalisa12,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you were satisfied with our rooms and staff. Our staff does their utmost to deliver professional service and quality.

We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations concerning the prices and location.
The hotel is located in the exclusive and residential South of Amsterdam surrounded by many shopping streets, restaurants and bars. The Museumplein, RAI congress centre and Concertgebouw are in walking distance while the city centre is easily acceccible via public transport.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Hilton is well located and we could easily get around to the main attractions of the city on foot. The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant too. All the staff are very helpful and are always ready to help you. I suggest you choose an apartment facing the canal that has a very beautiful view. Certainly when we get back in Amsterdam to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaspaFer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear GaspaFer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read your positive comments about the location, breakfast and restaurant.

The hotel is located in the quiet and exclusive South of Amsterdam and has many museums and congress center and the Concertgebouw in walking distance while the city centre is easily and fast accessible via tram.

Our award winning Roberto’s Restaurant offers indeed excellent breakfast as well dinner.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the beautiful canal view from your room as well as the helpful staff. Our team does its best to deliver the best service and quality and we are happy to hear that you experienced that as well.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam while we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,533 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#77 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $201 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing