We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Service is fantastic”
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #40 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed at this historic hotel for the weekend in Amsterdam. It was our first trip there. Upon check in, we were greeted with a doorman and offered help with our luggage. The front desk staff then checked us in swiftly and patiently answered all the questions I fired at them. The concierge was away from his desk, but the front desk staff gave us a detailed map and started making recommendations so that we could start enjoying our trip right away. We were recommended restaurants and scenic walks. We took all the advice (and the map!) and got right to work. Every recommendation panned out to be amazing and fully helped us enjoy the city. The hotel has every service you could ask for including a fitness center, but we really did not take advantage of any of these services except the concierge. The room was AMAZINGLY comfortable which was good because we were so exhausted every day from walking all over the city! We had a wonderful canal view and an enormous king size bed with a large bathroom (especially by European standards) that sported a rain shower head. There were plenty of English options on the TV also which is much appreciated. The front desk staff called us 10 minutes after we checked in to make sure the room was perfect and to see if we needed anyting else. The only negative we experienced at the hotel itself is that the internet is way too expensive. Also, we went Saturday to the outside bar overlooking the canal and sat for about 10 minutes and no one came to serve us. There were 3 people working. We were too tired to bring it to their attention so we just headed up to bed Would have been nice to have a night cap tho. The other negative is that the hotel shuttle is expensive for only being 7 miles from the airport. A taxi is a better option. Overall, we were very comfortable and happy at this hotel and with their services. The bell hop also held our bags free of charge while we ran around Amsterdam the last day. It was a great experience in a fun town! If you can afford this place (it is pricey!) stay here because its very centrally located with the musuems and park only a five minute walk away.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grkgal26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear grkgal26

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read your positive words about our services and staff members. Also I want to apologize for the service at our Garden Terrace, rest assure I will take this into action.

Did you know that we also rent bikes at the Concierge? This is a nice way to cruise around Amsterdam and much faster than walking. In only 5 minutes you will be in the Museum district and the Leidseplein.

I just want to inform you that you can also reach the airport by public transportation. Just take the tram 24 or 5 near the hotel to Amsterdam Zuid station and from there the train to Schiphol Airport. See also for more information on our website Amsterdam.hilton.com under the section Maps and Directions.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,937)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 2,937 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Excellent service room was great. Internet costs too high is the only negtive. We arrived from a 24hour flight and were very grateful to be checked in early.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear dpage52

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your feedback about our internet cost. I will share this within the team, as we are now in a process to consider how to improve this service for the guests.

I am glad to hear that our Team Members could give you a room early upon your arrival, this is something we incourage when possible.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Haakon M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband sometimes uses this hotel, when on business, and he was keen that we spend some 'down-time' there as part of our annual vacation.
As he is a diamond member, we were very happy to be up-graded to a junior suite and to enjoy all of the privelges accorded to a HH member.
Service was first class, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was a lovely, relaxing experience. Our room had floor-to-ceiling windows that ran the full length along one wall, giving fantastic views over the canal and across to the city centre.
Breakfasts in the club lounge were very enjoyable, as was relaxing at the terrace bar on the ground floor.
The location is in an upmarket residential area; just a short walk away from a fabulous park and from stylish shops.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Well, the best room would be 702 - The infamous John Lennon suite!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maythorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear maythorne,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

We appreciate your kind words about our facilities and services. I will share your compliments with the team members.

As a Diamond member you get complimentary free internet, 50% bonus point on the base point, a room upgrade based on availability to the next best available room type up to and including Junior Suite room, 1000 HHonors points free breakfast and guaranteed Executive lounge access.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a great hotel. We arrived early from the US on a vacation. We were able to have an early check in which was key. The front desk staff was great. The hotel provided bikes for a great day of touring the city. That is the best way around Amsterdam. Room was beautiful. Very clean, good size and very quiet. Hotel is in a very upscale area not far from the sites. Well worth the area. The hotel sits right on a canal and has outdoor bar and dining. Great! We almost stayed more downtown and glad we didn't. This provided an amazing perspective of the area. For business or pleasure this was top notch. As a Diamond member the executive lounge was great for breakfast and evening cocktails. Located on the roof it was awesome.
All around a great stay. On level with any Four Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Great property.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing canal is best.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Adam K

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.

Your words of appreciation for the Hotel make us very proud. Rest assure that I will share them with our team members and the with the front office members in particular.

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed our bikes which it really is the best way to visit Amsterdam especially on a nice sunny summer day. We are indeed located on a canal where a small harbour marina is located. Our concierge can arrange the rent of a boat if you wan to take a tour of the canals by yourself.

Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We used the hotel as a base for a week-end stay in Amsterdam. The location is good, in a quiet residential street a short tram ride (no 5 or no 24) to the city centre, although the walk to the city via the park only takes around 20 minutes and takes you past some nice artisan neighbourhood cafes for a more authentic Dutch breakfast than the 'all singing all dancing hotel breakfast buffet'. Another top travel tip is that the quickest way to the airport is via Amsterdam Zuid rather than Amsterdam Central and works well if you want to leave your bags at the hotel whilst you make the most of your last day in the city.

The staff were very helpful and the room was of a high quality and the bed was comfortable, however, in my view, the pricing policies were rather out of date.

Yes you can get a good room rate via internet search engines, and if you are using the hotel as merely a place to rest, as we did, it is fine, but be warned:

Internet access was €28 for 24 hours if using a laptop and €9 if using a smartphone, which to me, seems rather high... especially when most cafes we visited in the city offer free wifi and if you wanted to drink the bottle of water in your room, it carried a price tag of €6.95. In our view the numerous cafes in and around the city are a much nicer way to spend your money and use the internet than paying the in room fee...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear LondonDinky,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave an extensive review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with the room, location and staff of the hotel. Our team members take great pride in service delivery as well as quality and we are glad to hear that you experienced that as well.

The location of the hotel is, as you mentioned, in a quiet and residential area with exclusive shopping streets as well as restaurants and bars. The city centre is easily accessible via tram while the location of the hotel offers short walks to the Museumplein.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you might have experienced concerning the pricing policy. We have taken your comments regarding the prices for the room fee and internet service very seriously and we have discussed them within the team for future developments.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend before a trade show where we moved to The American Hotel in central Amsterdam (at the companies' request). This hotel is pristine and in a lovely section of Amsterdam, quiet, beautiful shops and restaurants. The staff is attentive, the rooms lovely...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eyecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Eyecoach
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Hilton Amsterdam on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for kind wors about our team members and our rooms. I will share your compliments with the rest of the team.
The Hotel is located in the ‘Oud Zuid’ neighbourhood, which is Amsterdam finest neighboorhoud for living, shopping and dining and in vogue between the ‘Amsterdammers’.
We hope you enjoyed your stay at The American Hotel as much as you did at the Hilton Amsterdam.
Thank you for staying in the Hilton Amsterdam en we hope to have the oppurtinity to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#27 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,510 reviews
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $155 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing