We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Location with Exemplary Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location with Exemplary Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Great location in the Oud-Zuid district of the city; only 20 minites by tram (5, 16 or 24) from Centraal Station. Have stayed on several occasions. Rooms at the front overlook the carpark and a leafy street. Those at the rear overlook the gardens of the hotel and a (generally) peaceful terrace. When we were there there was a party in the garden but it finished at 1am and the double glazing was good. Hotel apologised for the noise and a gift basket appeared in our room with a personal message from the manager.

Excellent Hilton-type breakfast - both Continental (Dutch selection) and full Scottish type.

Couldn't fault any of the staff who were all very helpful. On our final evening we discovered that the Dutch football team were staying in the hotel so it is clearly the place to be!

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the rear of the hotel have a wonderful view of the gardens and the canal; but chec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dfscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear dfscot,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are honored to read your praising words regarding our Team Members, our service, the breakfast and the location of our hotel. Please rest assured I will share your comments within the team.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the ‘Oud Zuid’ area of Amsterdam. The ‘Oud Zuid’ area is indeed a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    792
    244
    87
    42
See reviews for
327
997
135
675
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Spent four nights here and hotel and neighborhood upscale and just charming. Very safe to walk and lovely atmosphere, away from older downtown area. Five minute walk to tram that takes you downtown in less than five minutes. Tram goes right to museum areas directly, with no transfers as well as to the Palace and town square areas. Staff very nice, rooms lovely and well appointed. Beds terrific and bathrooms quite large. Breakfast Buffet outstanding and Italian restaurant excellent. Hotel backs to small canal that it shares with expensive homes. One of our dinner boat tours ended at the hotel!

Room Tip: Canal room hotels are exceptional on the upper floors to get a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizmgmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Lizmgmt,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are honored to hear your compliments regarding the service, our hotelrooms and the location of our hotel. As you mentioned, the hotel is closely located to several museums as the Van Gogh museum, the Stedelijk museum and the Rijksmuseum are all within walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam.

It gives us great pleasure to read your kind words regarding Roberto’s Restaurant, which is indeed one of the best Italian restaurants in Amsterdam. I would like to inform you that Roberto’s Restaurant is awarded by Bib Gourmand and Gault Millau 2012.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

I stayed here for a few weeks whilst on business. The hotel staff looked after us so well, even lending us bikes for our entire stay. The buffet breakfast is worth the visit alone, with fresh cooked meals on requests. The bar is relaxing and not too pricey. Overall a good stay for a corporate holet.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamoomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear miamoomin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your kind words for the staff and services of the Hilton Amsterdam. Our bike rental service is indeed a very fun and handy way to discover Amsterdam. It gives us great pleasure that you enjoyed the bike rental service.

The Hilton Amsterdam provides a beautiful view of Amsterdam. Especially from the Executive Lounge, which provides a panoramic view. Guests staying in our Executive Rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge. Here you can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, cocktails, drinks and snacks.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed a couple of nights at the Amsterdam Hilton. From Central station we took the tram and walked about 1 block from the tram station. It's located a bit out of town in an upscale neighborhood, on a very nice canal. Since we are gold members we received a very nice upgraded room. The check in desk was attentive, friendly, and process was effortless. Our room was very nicely furnished, comfortable, with some good amenities. Bathrooms were modern and very clean. Our favorite part of the hotel was the Conceirge Level where we enjoyed our breakfast and our happy hour snacks. The lounge is on the roof with beautiful view in all directions. Guests were friendly and interactive, and staff was helpful. We even received some tips on where to eat in local restaurants. Finally, upon request, the concierge was not busy, so he gave us a private tour of the famous John Lennon and Yoko Ono suite. We enjoyed our stay and we hope to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrB003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear MrB003,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

It gives us great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your kind words regarding our hotelrooms, service and the location of our hotel.

The executive lounge on the top floor features indeed a beautiful panoramic view of Amsterdam. Guests staying in our Executive Rooms and suites have access to the Executive Lounge. Here you can enjoy a complimentary breakfast, cocktails, drinks and snacks.

It is very good to hear that our concierge assisted you with recommendations of restaurants in the area. There are several restaurants situated in the Cornelis Schuytstraat and Beethovenstraat which are in walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We have been staying at this Hilton since 2003 and can say, along with many other reviewers, that the service,and rooms continue to be excellent. Of particular note is the Executive Lounge. The view is very nice, both in the morning for breakfast and for snacks and drinks in the evening. The regular staff, Franz, Marion and Stefania, and their assistants Raffaela, Jasper and Willjm all provide personal service and keep things running smoothly even when it is busy. Certainly worth it to upgrade to the Executive Floor after a day of meetings or the city to relax and meet some interesting fellow travellers. The only negative this time was very loud music from a party in a banquet room on the canal side which banged away until 2AM on Sunday morning May 10 making it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueal703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Dear Sueal703,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your positive comments regarding the service and hotelrooms. It gives us great pleasure to hear that you are regularly staying with the Hilton Amsterdam as of 2003.

Indeed you have a very good view of the city of Amsterdam from the Executive Lounge wich is located at the 10th floor. The Executive guests have full access to this private area of the hotel and can have breakfast from 7:00 to 10:30 on Monday till Friday and from 7:30 to 11:00 on Saturday and Sunday. The pre dinner snacks are served daily from 18:00 to 20:30 together with some nice aperitif drinks.

We are sorry to hear about the way you have experienced the noise from an event in our garden. We have taken notice of your comment and we will take it into consideration for future events.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at this Hilton for 3 nights on vacation. The hotel lobby is spacious and seems to cater to a large business crowd. Modern, but maybe a little on the sterile side. The rooms were very modern, clean and spacious though. Beds and bedding were brand new and comfy.

The major pluses in my opinion is the hotels location. If your looking for something clean and modern that's 5-10 minutes away from the main city activity, this is your place. Just a couple blocks from the hotel is also a beautiful little neighborhood shopping area with cafes, restaurants, markets, boutiques. Very chic area where locals live. The tram also has a couple stops here, so accessing the rest of the city is very easy.

The only major beef I had with my stay was the 22 euro charge for daily internet access. Seems like a ripoff and a way to simply gouge the customer. I know some hotels charge, and some not at all, but $30 a day I felt taken advantage of.

Overall, enjoyable experience and I will stay there again

Room Tip: Half the rooms face a beautiful canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckeye37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear Buckeye37,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read your positive words regarding the location, our hotelrooms and the interior of our hotel.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in a residential area in the ‘Oud Zuid’ area of Amsterdam. The ‘Oud Zuid’ area is indeed a residential area near to exclusive shopping areas and close to the RAI and other main congress centres. Furthermore, it is only a short walk to the Vondelpark and the Museumplein with renowned museums like the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum.

I would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of providing free WiFi in all public areas.

Thank you for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to give you a warm welcome to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

I arrived, after 6 hours travelling, at the Amsterdam Hilton approximately 8pm. I had a room booked, paid in advance, and am a Hilton Honors member. My intention was to get changed and go out into the city before leaving in the morning.

My room was unavailable. Not just not ready, they didn't have a room for me. Not to worry, they said, they have booked a room for me at the Sheraton at Schipol airport! What would I want with an airport hotel? If I had wanted an airport hotel, I would have booked one, at a cheaper rate, myself. They refused to taxi me there, allow me to shower/change, taxi me back into the city and then back to the hotel again after dinner.

I have been using the Hilton chain a bit recently, had a lovely stay at the Conrad in Istabul last week and am due at the Bayfront in San Diego later today. Well, I'm now keeping my fingers crossed that the Hlton in Amsterdam is a single bad apple in the chain and San Diego will have somewhere for me to sleep, though why I should risk booking with Hilton in future, for personal trips of for congress events, is obviously up for question. There are plenty of hotels happy to accept my loyalty (and my money) and I won't be embarrassed twice.

Room Tip: My tip to get a good room is to book at another hotel, or perhaps try and bribe the manager before a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dmahon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoPayer, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear dmahon2,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hilton Amsterdam on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to hear that not all our services met with your approval. As you might have noticed we took your comment seriously and we gave you a total refund. We are always very greatful to receive reviews of our Hospitality. It is only with the help of guests that we can maintain and improve our high level of service and quality.

Thank you for staying at Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future so that you can receive the service to your approval.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#24 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#79 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bilderberg Garden Hotel
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#34 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#42 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing