We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Better than some London Hiltons” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Amsterdam
Ranked #48 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Better than some London Hiltons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have had the pleasure of staying here on a couple of occasions, and will be returning at the end of November! It's true the hotel is not in the centre of town, but a 15 minute tram ride ( or 25 Euro) is not to much to pay for peace and quiet, I have always found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful and the view of the canal is lovely. I have never been upgraded, but that doesn't bother me as the rooms I have been allocated have been more than acceptable. I think I caught them unawares last time and was sent water and chocolates about 10 minutes after checking in, but that's because I am currently a gold member. Nice touch, it all helps when you are away from home.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dibbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Dibbley,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.
The Hilton Amsterdam is located at the canal, which offers a splendid view over the city, in a peaceful and green neighborhood. Indeed travelling from the hotel to the city centre will take approximately 15 minutes by public transport, I would like to inform you that you can buy tickets for 1 or more days for the public transport in Amsterdam (tram, bus and metro), the price of these cards are € 7.00 for 24 hours, € 11.50 for 48 hours and € 15.50 for 72 hours.
We are very pleased to read that you have experienced the Team Members to be helpful and friendly, as they take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and guest satisfaction at all times.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we are looking forward to welcoming you at the end of November.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,235
    749
    234
    83
    38
See reviews for
303
930
131
632
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Nothing really wrong with this hotel, theres just nothing special about it. There are parts of the hotel that need updating as it looks dated. It's not in walking distance of the centre really, but taxi is about 10 euro. Rooms are average, staff are good and friendly. Overall i was left feeling underwelmed.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossiliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear Rossliverpool,

We are sorry to read that we did not entirely meet your expectations and that the decoration of our rooms was not to your liking.

The Hilton Amsterdam is located in the “Oud-Zuid” neighbourhood, close to the main business centre and the RAI. It is also closely located to the Van Gogh museum and the Rijksmuseum. A trip to the city centre will take approximately 10 minutes.

Thank you for praising our friendly Team Members, as they take great pride in delivering the service of the utmost quality.

We hope to welcome you again and have the opportunity to prove that we can provide you with the 5-star service you deserve.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Desk staff unwilling to help with minor issue. I was told on 2 separate occasions by the desk clerk that he was "too busy" and come back later,( the lobby was empty with no one else in sight! He just could not be bothered! Terrible attitude!) A different desk clerk was able to help later the following day without any issues. Not sure why the original person couldn't help to begin with, as the circumstances the next day were the same, no changes. But for some reason, the next day, it was OK. The property itself was OK. A little out of the way...time spent getting into town(i.e., Dam Square), either walking or tram, could have been better spent actually being IN town. If you are going to do anything in town, just allow for the time to get there and back and be mindful of the tram schedules. The hotel does NOT have a shuttle, which would have been helpful.
As a Gold Honors Member for 20years, I have never experienced such poor service, quite the opposite as the experience of travellingangie. No tarts, no Exec lounge access. Awful experience. Marriott has 2 wonderful properties there..I almost booked..next time I will, definitely!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank snickersau80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear snickersau80,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

As already replied to you personally on 24 October we were unable to upgrade you as the hotel was fully booked. As a valuable HHonors Gold guest you were offered an alternative HHonors benefit being a complimentary breakfast and the possibility to an upgrade for coming days upon availability and as a gesture of goodwill and exception, you were offered access to the Executive Lounge for the duration of your stay.

We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations and again apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

I spent a weekend at the Hilton Amsterdam and must rate it with a 5 overall, although some things are definitely not 5 star. The room was clean, nice pillow menu, generous towels and a comfortable bed made the room a good 4 star room. The tea/coffee maker was very convenient, but the bathrooom has a tub and a shower curtain which is simply not up to date or meets a 5 star hotel.
The view towards the canal is worth the money - go for that if you can!
The reason why I did rate this hotel a 5 star was the service. Extremely friendly, extremely corteus and funny breakfast staff really made our days. The breakfast selection was superb, including gluten free dietary breads and specially prepared food on request. Simply great.
The location is not too far out, and actually in the surrounding of a very nice park - we walked the way downtown and cannot understand people complaining about the distance to the inner city.
Would we return? Yes we would - and that says it all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VfB 1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear VfB 1893,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read your positive comment regarding our hotel rooms, our Hilton Breakfast and the location of the hotel.

Our Team Members take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

We take your comment regarding the bathroom facilities very seriously and we will take it into consideration for future developments.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed there with my wife for few days. The hotel is located in a quiet, green area, close to the business area. You can walk to the museums (15 min) or can take the streetcar three blocks from the hotel. The service is very good, rooms are comfortable, and the small cafeteria at the lobby level is very nice to have breakfast or just to spend some relaxing time drinking coffee or tea. I definitely recommend this hotel either for business or pleasure

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cholupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Dear Cholupo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Hilton Amsterdam.

We are pleased to read that you liked the quiet and green location of the hotel, closely situated to the ‘Museumplein’and the business area of Amsterdam. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Italian breakfast at Issimo.

Thank you for praising our Team Members, as they take great pride in delivering the service of the utmost quality.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
270 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We arrived in Amsterdam at 9am and were lucky enough that Hilton could give us an early check in. They couldn't promise it, of course, until they knew for sure, at the last minute, but it all worked out in the end and it was the start of a great visit with them. If you are flying in, you take the train from Schiphol to station Zuid. Then, from Zuid, you take the #5 tram (and trust me, just plan on taking the tram everywhere and go get a GVB pass for unlimited use) and exit on Apollolaan. I think this is the most economical route to get there as the shuttle was 15Euros per person. It is a 1/4 mile down the road on the right, past the big turtle with the guy on top statue.

The room was a nice size (king bed) and the bathroom was a decent size, giant by European standards. Your room key is key there. You have to use it to get anywhere in the elevators and if you have executive lounge access, you will need it enabled for that. The first day, we checked in early, showered and left for the remainder of the afternoon. If you can swing it, ask for a canal view room. We had it and it was fantastic to look out the window every day and see the canal, which is the heart of Amsterdam. When we returned, they left us a tart on our bed, which was a fantastic surprise that we would be treated to a few more times before the visit was over. We slept great an enjoyed the free wifi that comes with being a Hilton Gold member. Everyone on staff was great from the doormen to the housekeeping staff...I cannot think of a single experience where I did not have a positive feeling in talking with or dealing with this staff. As gold members, we were also given access to the Executive Lounge and it was well worth it. Each day, they do a very nice set up there with chicken skewers, pastry puffs (savory), chips, nuts, cheese, sodas, beer, wine, and a variety of alcohols for drinks. Another absolutely awesome perk to being a gold member is the fantastic buffet breakfast they do each day. We really enjoyed the selection and service every day. They also offer this for those willing to pay for it, as well. It is a good selection of scrambled and boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, hash brown potatoes, beans, toast, croissant, muffins, suikerwafels (which are my absolute new favorite thing in the world), pancakes, fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, cold cereal and cold cuts. They also have tea, coffee, milk and juice available.

Without a doubt, Hilton was a fantastic stay and well worth the points we used to do so. If I ever get back, I look forward to staying here again!! What a great time we had in Amsterdam, in part due to the care Hilton took.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Travellingangie,

Thank you for filling out a detailed review of your stay at the Hilton Amsterdam. The pictures are very much appreciated as well.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind words.

We are pleased to read that the location of the hotel suited you, and that you liked the quiet and nice neighbourhood. Arriving at the hotel with the tram #5 from the Zuid Train Station is indeed the easiest way to access the hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our Team Members. They take great pride in service delivery and we do our utmost to ensure quality and Guest satisfaction at all times.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed our Executive Lounge on the topfloor, from there the view over Amsterdam is magnificent.

It is always a pleasure to see a guest satisfied with our service and our facilities and we are putting all our efforts to offer you an unforgettable stay with us.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We were staying here whilst in Amsterdam for the marathon. Everything was excellent.
The receptionist even remembered our name on the last day!
Our room over looked the river which was lovely, the bed was extremely comfortable, the concierge friendly and more than helpful. The breakfast in the morning was great and included cold meats and cheeses, pastries, cooked breakfast, pancakes and waffles and lots of fruit.
Don't however recommend Roberto's the adjoining restaurant. It was over priced, very slow service and misley portions. I had a pasta main (night before the marathon) that cost 19 euros and was barely a starter portion. It also took over 45 minutes to arrive. Cheapest bottle of wine was 40 euros.
We did however have room service on the second night (being very tired!) and whilst expensive it was very good.
TV in room was not reflective of size of room i.e it was small when the room was large.

Room Tip: Request over looking the river/mini marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0anna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear J0anna12,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel and a Room Tip on TripAdvisor.
Thank you for your positive comment regarding our hotel rooms, the Hilton breakfast and our friendly Team Members.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed the view over the canal which is indeed spectacular.

We regret to read your comments regarding our Italian restaurant Roberto’s and we take your comments very seriously. Please rest assured we will take them into consideration.

Concerning our televisions, I would like to inform you that we are currently in the process of changing them to 37” televisions screens.

Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Amsterdam and we hope to be welcoming you with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Roberto Payer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
De Pijp
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
Hotel Okura Amsterdam
#21 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,042 reviews
Vondelpark
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel
#80 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Radisson Blu Hotel, Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Amsterdam

Property: Hilton Amsterdam
Address: Apollolaan 138, 1077 BG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the Hilton Amsterdam hotel, famous for John Lennon and Yoko Ono's 1969 'bed-in for peace.' An ideal base for exploring the city, this Amsterdam, Netherlands hotel boasts easy access to some of the most exclusive shopping streets, traditional cafes and famous local attractions. Take advantage of the hotel's proximity to Amsterdam's main business district. Host your conference or executive meeting in one of 21 versatile meeting rooms and relax while professional planners take care of the details. Stay productive with modern equipment in the business center and enjoy WiFi throughout the hotel. Unwind in a spacious and contemporary guest room or upgrade to an Executive room and enjoy exclusive access to the stylish Executive Lounge, offering complimentary refreshments and a 360-degree view across Amsterdam's spectacular skyline. Relax with a massage in this Amsterdam hotel's health club featuring a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, and solarium. Re-energize in the fitness center with the latest modern equipment. Admire stunning views of Amsterdam's renowned canals and unwind with a local beer in Half Moon Lounge, with style based on designs by Ralph Lauren. Enjoy elegance and experience while dining on innovative Italian cuisine in the award-winning Roberto's Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Hilton International Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing