We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Amsterdam
Nearby Hotels
$286
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$292
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $295/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
$384
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$264
$204
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$565
$316
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$85
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,224)
Filter reviews
3,224 results
Traveler rating
1,785
973
305
110
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,785
973
305
110
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungejohn lennonhalf moon loungediamond memberonocanal viewcity centreresidential areaminute walkquiet locationtop floorjunior suitewonderful hotelvan gogh museumtram stopmuseum quarterpublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
2,282 - 2,287 of 3,224 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I celebrated out 25 wedding anniversary this past week in Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel. In my opinion, this was the perfect vacation because the Hilton Amsterdam was the perfect hotel. We rode the train from the airport (AMS) to Amsterdam Zuid Station. Then took the #5 tram to the Apollolaan stop which was a beautiful short walk to the hotel. Not only was it easy for a foreigner, it was cheap! We went to check in where the front staff was extremely nice and personable. They welcomed us as they gave us our room key and offered to answer any questions we may have had. Since we arrive very early in the morning, we opted to reserve a room for the evening before so we would be assured a room at check in. Since my husband is part of the Honors program and has quite alot of points, we were given an upgraded room but honestly, all of the rooms are very nice. We overlooked the marina which was pretty and quiet. The houses on the other side of the canal were beautiful to look at and the view below our room of the boats in the marina looked like a post card picture. The room is well equipped with all of the American amenities. It even had a scale and bath robes. The bathroom was modern and seemed to have an IKEA feel to it. The beds were perfect and you get a pillow menu to choose what you like best. For breakfast, we had the option of going to the 10th floor to the lounge for breakfast or eating in the nice restaurant which both were buffet style. Down stairs in the restaurant (Roberto's) there was a fireplace burning and it was quite cozy. The food in both locations was similar, there was just a bit more downstairs. There were lots of different kinds of cheeses and yogurts and the breads were so delicious. Eggs both scrambled and soft boiled with bacon and mini veal sausages. Perfect to have a big breakfast and then head out for a day of sightseeing. This hotel has the perfect location because we got the feel of being in a beautiful neighborhood very close to 3 tram stops to the city and yet far enough away from the hustle of the city. The ride was short into town yet it was a nice way to see more of the city than if we were staying in the city, which gets extremely crowded and loud the closer to the weekend you get. All in all, the service was outstanding by everyone at the hotel and they seemed to be very happy working here. It surely translated to the overall feel of this beautiful property!

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. Either you overlook the marina or a quiet art park across the street.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickonrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Mickonrun,

It is very kind of you to write an extended and detailed review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

Your review is very much appreciated and we would like to thank you for your kind words. In your review you thoroughly describe your pleasant experiences with our services, facilities and team members, which are greatly valued. We were delighted to read that we could contribute to your 25th wedding anniversary and that you had a pleasant stay.

As you mentioned, trams stops 5, 16 and 24 are only a short walk away from the hotel. Public transport from and to the Hilton Amsterdam as well as in the city centre is highly recommended by the hotel, especially for sightseeing, it is easy, fast, cheap and environmental friendly.

We have seen your nice photos on TripAdvisor. The canal view is indeed magnificent, looking out over the garden with our own marina, the city centre and museum square.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

I stayed at the Hilton Amsterdam on a Friday after a long week of work. Met up with some old friends for a night on the town. The Hilton Amsterdam was a perfect hotel for this. Super efficient check-in and check-out service. Parking right in front of the hotel, at acceptable prices compared to anywhere else in this city. The rooms were beautiful and quite spacious. The view of the city from the room was also great! Looked right over the city over museum square.
The Hilton has a comedy cafe (toomler) located right next(actually beneath it) which is a great start of the evening. And from there the concierge was very helpful in arranging a taxi for us, within seconds.
The bed slept great, with a wide variety of pillows. And in the morning the breakfast was superb after a long night on the town. Refuelled my batteries all the way! The Hilton breakfast is always a treat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear Bman84,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

It gives us great pleasure to read your kind review. We appreciate your positive comments on our check-in/out service, parking, Hilton Breakfast and the hotel rooms. The view over the canal, museum square and Amsterdam city is indeed magnificent.

With a separate entrance, comedy club Toomler is, as you said, underneath our hotel. This is definitely a nice place to start the evening. Toomler has, during the ‘Comedytrain International Summer’, many international comedians from United Kingdom, United States, Ireland and Canada.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

So accessible to the city centre without the tourist overload. I loved staying in Oud Zuid surrounded by gorgeous houses and canals and locals. We did have a bit of an awkward moment with one of the front desk staff upon check in as she was quite rude but we let that one slide and the rest of our stay was hassle free. The room was fantastic and the breakfast was so great, I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nuvigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear Nuvigator,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review of our hotel.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding the location, room and Hilton Breakfast. Oud Zuid is indeed a nice residential area. Especially during the ‘ArtZuid’ exhibition, 30 sculptures by artist from countries including the United States, China, Japan, Brazil, India and South Africa are placed in and around the Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Ok so not close to town but only a 20 minute walk and you're close to Van Gogh museum. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Bar lovely, restaurant excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasoned1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Seasoned1971,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton Amsterdam.

We appreciate your kind words regarding the Team Members, Half Moon Lounge, Roberto’s Restaurant and the cleanliness of our hotel. As you mentioned, the hotel is closely located to the Van Gogh museum and also the Stedelijk museum and the Rijksmuseum are within walking distance of the Hilton Amsterdam.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

My partner booked a trip to Amsterdam for my 40th and told me we was staying at the HIlton, to say I was excited was an understatement. The Hilton definitely does what it says on the tin and was perfect in every way. We stayed here for a long weekend and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendlier. From making sure that they put us in a canal view room as requested to recommending the best restaurants to eat at, they could not have done any more.

The grounds in the Hilton are stunning, we went out there a couple of times to have a drink in the lovely sun and it was heavenly. I felt very privileged to be staying in this hotel. The breakfast buffet was one of the best I have encountered, there was so much food to choose from and the fresh orange juice was to die for. As we were staying in an executive room we had the choice to eat breakfast in the executive lounge. We went up there one morning but it was not really to my taste as the ambience felt rather stilted and not much conversation was going on. We much rather preferred going to the regular breakfast room in Roberto's restaurant.

I was very surprised by some of the reviews I have read for this hotel as some of the reviewers seem to be complaining about every little thing. We had no complaints whatsoever, the only thing I can mention was I had to chase the maid down to get some more toilet paper! I did also mention it was my 40th hoping to get some sort of celebratory drink but to no avail. Nevertheless we did go out to a very fancy seafood restaurant which the concierge recommended to us.

The location of this hotel is very very good, we loved the short stroll to the tram stop and admiring all the wonderful statues which were dotted around once you came out of the hotel. I give this hotel a big thumbs up and hopefully we will get to go back there again one day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bambi6987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAmsterdam, General Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Bambi6987,

Thank you very much for your extended and detailed review of our hotel.

We are very pleased to read that you found our Team Members to be helpful and friendly. Please rest assured I will share your kind comments with them.

The terrace overlooking the garden, marina and canal is indeed a pleasant venue to enjoy the sun and a drink. And we appreciate your kind words on the location of our hotel and the Hilton Breakfast

Your feedback regarding the ambiance of the Executive Lounge will be taken into consideration for future developments.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely,


Roberto Payer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews