We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Unique excellent dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abyssinia

Abyssinia
Ranked #1,272 of 3,633 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unique excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The food and service was friendly and efficient. The food was Ethiopian. We do not want to spoil a delightful surprise when you dine at this restaurant. We ordered a dish that consisted of a wide variety of ethnic foods which were well prepared and had many different flavours. It was a great experience recommended by our superb host, Peter at the Suite 259 B&B just a block away. We would definitely return on our next visit to Amsterdam.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Al_Travels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Meal, service was alright”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a great food experience. So glad we did not miss it! I was tempted to go three stars only because the service left a bit to be desired. This place gets high marks on the ambiance and decor and music etc. Very authentic. Our server was not all that friendly and never warmed up, all though another server came in half way through and he was great. I agree with a prior reviewer, the service got a bit slower as the evening went on. The food was just delicious and don't miss the banana dessert. We ordered a spicy beef and a mild chicken. They were both great and they vegetables were delicious. I can't recall what it is called- but its basically what we call in the US, bananas foster, flambee. YUM! It was bustling enough as well to have our three year old in tow, although there wasn't much for him to eat, he's rather picky .

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MeganMcReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great staff and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The staff were a little shy at first ( all from Eritrea ) but super friendly after you started talking to them. The food was served on a large platter on what I call sponge bread, like a large soft spongy wrap which you rip off and eat the various portions of food on top. The food was excellent and plenty of it. A treat is the various flavoured beers like mango, delicious but you can only drink one as they are a little sweet but well worth the experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cliff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
184 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best Ethiopian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This is my second time eating here in four days. I love this place. It has extremely clean bathrooms and that says a lot for a restaurant run by an all-male staff. I highly recommend this place. No forks zone!!!

Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonesboro, Georgia
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Amazing Service was given, food was absolutely amazing I highly suggest you go here you wont regret it

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Almaz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abyssinia also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Abyssinia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing