We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Woman rule the world” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Rose - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Planet Rose
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Woman rule the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Home made food and a very nice lady managing the restaurant. Nice regae music and I never thought something called yerk balls would taste so good. Go there and enjoy

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hurones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Homemade and delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Such a great Jamaican place (in fact, I think it's the only Jamaican place), just off the touristy path in Amsterdam. Rose is fantastic and the food she prepares is authentic and so yummy. Very reasonable prices - total of 24 euro for drinks, brown stew chicken, some sort of vegetarian ackee dish that my sister had, a large bowl of rice and peas, salad, and plantains. I love festivals... unfortunately she didn't have any that day (the menu changes daily), but she told us to call ahead next time I was coming and she'd put whatever we wanted to eat on the menu for that day.

Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I'm heading straight back to Rose!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barretjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Homemade food. Delicious. Ignore those who state it's far from the centre, because if you're from a large city like London(as I am), 15mins on the tram from Central station or 10minutes from somewhere like Leisdesplien is no distance. Considering she's the only jamaican food establishment I know of in Amsterdam, she is reasonably priced. I've tried the oxtail, stewed chicken, curried chicken and jerk dishes - all delicious! and everyone I have taken there love the restaurant and love Rose.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliagoesdutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Far away from turistic routes this restaurant serves an amazing jerk chicken!!
Location is rather basic but relaxed atmosphere completes my positive opinion!
50€ for 2 jerk chicken, 2 dessert and drinks!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homemade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Homemade jamaican cooking with excellent service and a caribbean vibe! Interiour is simple cafe style, but the food is great and charming miss Rose wil check to see if this is your experience as well!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nessamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Rose also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing