We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Planet Rose - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Planet Rose
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Milano
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Far away from turistic routes this restaurant serves an amazing jerk chicken!!
Location is rather basic but relaxed atmosphere completes my positive opinion!
50€ for 2 jerk chicken, 2 dessert and drinks!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank filzino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Homemade”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Homemade jamaican cooking with excellent service and a caribbean vibe! Interiour is simple cafe style, but the food is great and charming miss Rose wil check to see if this is your experience as well!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nessamira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious but Overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Just off the Kinkerstraat, far from the center of town, Jamaican flags fly from a small corner restaurant in the west of the city.
Rose is the owner and cook. She's English, born in Jamaica and half a yiddishe mama. We (me plus wife and two boys) immediately got sense of that from the way she welcomed us in and took an interest in our little family. We ordered a little of everything:
Jerk chicken (marinade was to DIE for).
Brown Stew with lamb (Just OK)
Curry Chicken (Excellent)
We also had a start of little pastries filled with cheese that were good too.
Sides of rice and beans that my kids devoured.
Pretty good review so far, so why only 3 stars you might be wondering? Simple: the price.
15 Euros for not particularly big portions, even with the sides, is steep. Good as it was, 65 euros for two adults and two little kids is, frankly, waaaay too much for what is really no more than basic Jamaican fare and, let's be honest, it would have cost half that over in England, where this stuff is much more common.
Still, the jerk chicken marinade was extraordinary. Worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sircampalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Different & non-touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

This restaurant is quite far removed from the rest of the tourist districts and is a normal Dutch residential area, which was one of the appeals for us.

The staff were friendly and the Jerk chicken was good. The prices were a little more than we had expected and I didn't feel like 16 euros was a fair price for the jerk chicken I got. Not bad food by any stretch just had to pay more than I had expected :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jstevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
419 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excellent Caribbean food – and atmosphere as well!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We would never have chanced upon this restaurant without a recommendation from a friend: it's a cozy, unassuming place a bit west of center, but definitely worth a visit. The jerk chicken, the punches and whole atmosphere were authentically Caribbean, with super-friendly service. We will definitely be going back – and the food was very tasty as well!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Planet Rose also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing