We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Stay started off badly and stayed that way” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B 1657

B&B 1657
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B 1657
Ranked #163 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Our Stay started off badly and stayed that way”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived on Sunday 30 March at 3.30pm and the room was not ready we were invited to have coffee at the cafe around the corner"we think this is owned by the same people who own the B&B" and we ended up paying for the coffee this is also were you get breakfast.On Monday morning "we had the same problem as ANCHI M" the builders started running up and down the stairs at 7.00am this is not pleasant when you have to use a bathroom that is across the narrow stair landing,if we had known there were builders in we would not have stayed here.On the third night we came back to the B&B and the room and bathroom had not been cleaned and the towels not changed,we went around to the Cafe and the young lady was very apologetic and asked us to come down for a drink "we had been caught by this before and decided to decline"The rooms are not cleaned consistently well and we ended up washing glasses out every night,We were prepared for the City noises you experience,we knew about the seperate bathroom and we also new the stairs were steep and narrow but this is even more difficult when there is wood stacked on one side and plasterboard on the other.The location is fantastic and the rooms are OK but the owners who we never met need to put a bit of effort in, the young lady at the cafe seemed unsuccessfully to try and cover both the B&B and cafe.

Room Tip: It might be quieter at the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulMANX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

When my husband and I first arrived to the B&B, we were in love with its decor - a bit rustic yet modern and cozy. The breakfast was good in the mornings and was prepared for us no matter what time we would come to eat.
From other reviews, we were prepared that our bathroom would be on the other side of the corridor, but since our room was the only one on the first floor, we did not mind .
We stayed for a total of 5 nights, and the first two were great as it was the weekend, but the last three mornings were awful as the hotel owners were renovating the upper floors without informing us, so we had workmen running up and down the narrow stairs from 7 in the morning, dragging stuff around.. Considering how narrow and tiny the staircase is, you can imagine the noise. And ofcourse, crossing over to the bathroom was unpleasant with all that fuss. It was really a disappointment. On the last night we even booked another hotel, but changed our minds as we were to tired to pack our luggage and drag it there in the rain.
The most annoying was that the owners acted as if nothing was wrong and charged us the full price on our stay.
Other than that, the location is really good and I'm sure it would have been a good stay if there were no works, or if we were at least prepared or informed of the renovation so as to choose if we want to put up with that or not... This was a hard review to do as the place is pretty and convenient, but our stay was disappointing. Hopefully we were an isolated case.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anchi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Besides a little confusion upon arrival, as it is not clearly marked as a B&B, it was a wonderful stay. The team here really had a nice presentation and made everything comfortable during my two nights in Amsterdam! Great morning breakfast, tasteful and modern bathroom and bedroom furnishing, with views of Herengracht canal. Starbucks is around the corner, and easy access to the tram and the rest of Amsterdam for tourism or work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at BB1657. Customer service was excellent, we were contacted via email just after booking to explain check in, on arrival in Amsterdam we contacted the owner with our arrival time and was met at the house. Its not obvious that the house is a B&B but as we were met there it wasn't a problem. The room was ready for us as we arrived so we were able to freshen up and drop off our bags before going out to explore. The owners sister gave us some handy tips and a nice little map too. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with large comfortable bed, free mini bar, free wifi and TV with English channels. The bathroom is across the hall but this wasn't really a problem as it was still private and was very well decorated with luxurious double bath and power shower. Breakfast was served in the breakfast room downstairs and was a full range of continental dishes plus eggs cooked to order. It was all very fresh and very well presented.
Location wise the BB was close enough to main areas to be convenient but far enough to be quiet. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sm0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This B&B is a traditional canal house, made into a charming B&B. I was taken with the effort made in modernizing the bathrooms and the simplicity yet comfort of the room furnishings. The breakfast was excellent; fresh orange juice, pastries, eggs, and yoghurt. The stairs are very steep, but Else helped us get our more than ordinary amount of luggage up to the first floor bedroom (which is on the third landing).

I particularly enjoyed the view from our room. You can sit quietly with the complimentary drinks supplied in the small refrigerator and watch a fascinating tableaux of life in Amsterdam. Museums are nearby as are some very good restaurants. Sal, the owner, was lovely. I am an older traveler, so the stairs were a bit of a challenge, but I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B! One suggestion: do not take a vehicle into Amsterdam. Take a taxi to the B&B from the airport (50 euros) and then use local transport, walking, or taxis to move around the city! Lenore (Berkeley, CA)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LDR_phebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

absolutely a great B&B to stay!!
very nice, very clean and modern rooms, view on the canal and great breakfast with fresh orange juice.
With the courtesy of the staff we felt home!
Again, this is a GREAT B/B to stay!
we will come back here for sure!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxkickboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked my stay with the owner operator Sal over the Internet via email. He told me that we had a room for April 28 - May 1, 2013 and he would update his calendar with our booking. He quoted us 405$ for the 3 nights which I thought was reasonable. My husband and I were excited because we will be traveling to Europe for the first time next month and Amsterdam is our first stop. However, one day later and two additional confirmation emails later Sal informed me via email that he had cancelled our reservation because it was the Queens Coronation which is a very busy time for him and he would be increasing the rate to 275$ a night. Additionally, he did not even give us the option to book with him at an increased price. While I can appreciate that room prices increase during festivals and holidays the manner which we were treated was unprofessional. We fortunately did not put out any money but due to the Queens Coronation finding a place has been stressful and challenging to do because it seems almost everything is booked up. Based on this experience I would not recommend this B & B which is unfortunate because it originally looked like a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Ashley_O83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#182 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#106 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
City Hotel Rembrandt Square
#187 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Toon
Hotel Toon
#45 of 329 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Keizers Canal
B&B Keizers Canal
#79 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B 1657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B 1657

Property: B&B 1657
Address: Herengracht 585, 1017 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B 1657 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your B&B 1657 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing