We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of B&B 1657

B&B 1657
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B 1657
Ranked #150 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at BB1657. Customer service was excellent, we were contacted via email just after booking to explain check in, on arrival in Amsterdam we contacted the owner with our arrival time and was met at the house. Its not obvious that the house is a B&B but as we were met there it wasn't a problem. The room was ready for us as we arrived so we were able to freshen up and drop off our bags before going out to explore. The owners sister gave us some handy tips and a nice little map too. The room was spacious and very comfortable, with large comfortable bed, free mini bar, free wifi and TV with English channels. The bathroom is across the hall but this wasn't really a problem as it was still private and was very well decorated with luxurious double bath and power shower. Breakfast was served in the breakfast room downstairs and was a full range of continental dishes plus eggs cooked to order. It was all very fresh and very well presented.
Location wise the BB was close enough to main areas to be convenient but far enough to be quiet. Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sm0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 46 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This B&B is a traditional canal house, made into a charming B&B. I was taken with the effort made in modernizing the bathrooms and the simplicity yet comfort of the room furnishings. The breakfast was excellent; fresh orange juice, pastries, eggs, and yoghurt. The stairs are very steep, but Else helped us get our more than ordinary amount of luggage up to the first floor bedroom (which is on the third landing).

I particularly enjoyed the view from our room. You can sit quietly with the complimentary drinks supplied in the small refrigerator and watch a fascinating tableaux of life in Amsterdam. Museums are nearby as are some very good restaurants. Sal, the owner, was lovely. I am an older traveler, so the stairs were a bit of a challenge, but I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B! One suggestion: do not take a vehicle into Amsterdam. Take a taxi to the B&B from the airport (50 euros) and then use local transport, walking, or taxis to move around the city! Lenore (Berkeley, CA)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDR_phebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

absolutely a great B&B to stay!!
very nice, very clean and modern rooms, view on the canal and great breakfast with fresh orange juice.
With the courtesy of the staff we felt home!
Again, this is a GREAT B/B to stay!
we will come back here for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxkickboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked my stay with the owner operator Sal over the Internet via email. He told me that we had a room for April 28 - May 1, 2013 and he would update his calendar with our booking. He quoted us 405$ for the 3 nights which I thought was reasonable. My husband and I were excited because we will be traveling to Europe for the first time next month and Amsterdam is our first stop. However, one day later and two additional confirmation emails later Sal informed me via email that he had cancelled our reservation because it was the Queens Coronation which is a very busy time for him and he would be increasing the rate to 275$ a night. Additionally, he did not even give us the option to book with him at an increased price. While I can appreciate that room prices increase during festivals and holidays the manner which we were treated was unprofessional. We fortunately did not put out any money but due to the Queens Coronation finding a place has been stressful and challenging to do because it seems almost everything is booked up. Based on this experience I would not recommend this B & B which is unfortunate because it originally looked like a pleasant place to stay.

Stayed: March 2013
8  Thank Ashley_O83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights here at the beginning of our 4 weeks in Europe. We arrived on an early flight from Australia and were able to drop our bags off until we could check in- this was really appreciated as it allowed us to get our bearings and have a bit of a look around the area we were staying. Great location on the canal, we walked from the train station and it took about 20 minutes at an easy pace.
We were looked after by Els who made our stay most enjoyable. She made us the most delicious breakfast each morning and even made arrangements for us on the morning we were leaving early before breakfast was served. Nothing was too much trouble for her. She was able to give us tips about dining nearby and of things to see and do during our stay.
Our room on the first floor was delightful overlooking the canal and the bathroom across the hallway was large and modern. Shampoo and body gel was supplied as was a small fridge with several different types of drinks compliments of the house.
We stayed from Sunday night to Thursday morning and did not have any problems with noise from outside.
We were able to walk to most attractions around the city, but hired bikes from nearby and spent a day riding through the wetlands and then around the city area, great fun. We also visited Haarlem and Zaanse Schans- catching trains to both places.
Amsterdam was a great place to start our journey, and this was enhanced by our fabulous stay at B&B 1657

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdelaideTinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Wife and I stayed for 4 nights. Ok room with private bathroom across the landing (no shower gel or shampoo provided). Towels not changed and make your own bed (comfy and big). Location is a strong point but Friday and Saturday nights were unbearably noisy as taxis wait outside for nightclub revellers which made sleep impossible until well after 4am! It might be quiter in a room on the upper floors (we were in room 1. Nice friendly welcome from Else but this B&B was too expensive for what is on offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlackbladderUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
927 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B 1657? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B 1657

Address: Herengracht 585, 1017 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $139 - $1,105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B 1657 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B 1657 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing