We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”
Review of Tashi Deleg

Tashi Deleg
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Tashi Deleg is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #814 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved it”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We tried to get into an Indonesian restaurant on the corner of Utrechtsestraat and Kerkstraat for the second time and it was full! But the situation turned out better because it caused us to wander down the street and find this little gem of a restaurant. The atmosphere, with a Buddha and prayer arrangement on the side and the soothing music, is truly relaxing. The owner provides wonderful, personal service and the food is quite diverse! One wonders how two such very different parts of the world have come together in one restaurant, and one guesses through a marriage made in the melting pot of Amsterdam? Perhaps, but regardless, come here for a relaxing and delicious meal. We had Rijsstaafl from the Indonesian menu and something delicious (forgot to record it) from the Tibetan menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank niasimoneauthor_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    19
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stumbled across this cosy wee ethnic Tibetan restaurant on Utrecht Straat. The first thing that hits you, when you go in is the mouth watering aroma of herbs and cooking. The waiter recommended a sampler set menu which consisted of 18 ( yes eighteen) wee scrumptious delights varying from mild to hot, a mix of vegetarian, beef and chicken. The flavours were amazing, and the chef can make even cabbage taste gorgeous. The satay, I have to say was the best I have ever tasted. Great atmosphere. Highly recommended for couples who like different oriental ethnic dishes. Great choice of vegetarian dishes.

Helpful?
Thank ShuntyG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cold food, and expensive”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We tryed the indonesian menù for 2 persons. It seems to be good..but when we tasted it it was cold, like it was already made some minutes before. Only the chicken soup was warm (I suggested it). Prices were little higher than the average, and too much for the result. The bill we paid was € 42 for a combo menù with 4 meat appetizer, and 4 vegetables appetizer, 1 mineral water. People were very kind, but the food hasn't been good...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chiarinadnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
287 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Good food & good service with a quiet atmosphere”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food is good, the service is very friendly, the atmosphere is quiet and simple, and the price is reasonable. I would have given it a higher rating, but our food was quite over-salted. Still, we'd go back. For the price/value, the overall experience was great. We had a groupon deal that made the price very reasonable, but we noticed from the menu that the tibetan meal combo also normally has a decent price. I wouldn't recommend ordering the tibetan rice beer. It tasted like vinegar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanderfool44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've been eating spicy SE Asian food all my life and the Ayam Rica Rica with extra Sambal definitely appealed to my tastebuds. The Satay Ayam was less convincing though. It came soaked in heavy peanut sauce, and as such it was impossible to discern and appreciate the tastes of the individual spices of the marinade. In our country we serve it in its original form, with a small bowl of peanut sauce by side.

Service was pretty quick and friendly, but prices were on the high side. €17 for Ayam Rica Rica was overpriced. It does serve two, but there should have been more white rice.

Worth a try if you're passing by this side of Amsterdam, otherwise head for Kantjil & De Tijger, which is cheaper, has a better ambience, and equally good quality food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kittykyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tashi Deleg also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tashi Deleg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing