We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B & B Alexander
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Amsterdam
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Verdi(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Annemarie Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Trianon Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Conservatorium Hotel(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Omega(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Fita(Amsterdam)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
54
16
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
16
2
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 73 reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Booked this b&b for four nights for stay with art lover hubby and 3 year old daughter. Agree with other reviews, warm welcome, very comfortable room, kitchen a great advantage when travelling with a toddler. A travel cot was added to our room and Lil miss was very happy. We had top floor front bedroom with en suite shower bathroom. Room spacious enough to accommodate a cot. Room also benefited from round table and chairs for eating, writing or reading. Folding buggy was was kept in entrance just like at home. Excellent location for travel in from airport (197 bus cheap and efficient), lots of trams and buses into town, but walking easy. Prime location for Van Gogh, Stedjelik and Rijksmuseum and park, if only we could have done a concert also. Delightful residential area (reminded us of Kings Road/Sloane Sq area of London!) with a few brasseries and a posh fish restaurant, plus handy supermarket 2 mins away. Yes the stairs in the house are STEEP! But this is Amsterdam remember! This is a lovely late 19th century family home, so relaxing to come back to after a long day touristing! Great wifi and good tv channel choices. Yes 2 ginger cats, but no complaints of any smoke smells at all. All was clean and comfy. Janneke also kindly kept our bags for us as we had a late return home flight. Could not have been easier to enjoy a full last day, come back get our bags snd jump back on that 197 bus round the corner. Would love to return and happily recommend this to you. Why have an anonymous hotel when you can enjoy the tranquillity of Janneke's elegant home?

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhandf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I found B&B Alexander on Trip Advisor and, based on the reviews, made a booking. I had had several email exchanges with the owner prior to arriving to arrange dates and to provide me with directions on how to find the place from the airport. It was extremely easy as all we had to do was catch a 197 bus right outside the airport terminal for a trip of about 20 minutes (4€) to the Museumplein stop. Once there, all we had to do was walk around the corner.

From the moment we stepped into the place I knew we would not be disappointed. The house was built in 1887, and beautifully appointed with high ceilings with lovely mouldings in all of the rooms and lots of stained glass. Janneke, the owner, met us at the door and escorted us to our room on the top floor. As other reviewers have noted, the stairs are very steep and a bit of a challenge with a heavy suitcase. But that is part of the charm of this B&B so it is not something to complain about. Our room, at the front of the house on the top floor, was nice and large with a big bed, two dressers, a place to hang clothes, a large table and two chairs, and three big windows looking out onto the street. The lighting is good for reading in bed. There was an adjoining good-sized bathroom with toilet, sink and shower - lots of hot water and good pressure. There was a welcoming bottle of wine in the room.

Breakfast is served in the dining room at a time selected by each guest. It consists of a choice of different breads and croissants (bought the same morning), cheese, cold meats, yoghourt, fruit, tea, coffee and juice. Eggs are also prepared on request. There is more than enough to keep you full at least until lunch time if not longer. Wifi is also included and the signal is good.

Each floor of the house also has a small kitchenette that you can use to prepare meals or just coffee or tea. Our kitchenette contained a hot plate, microwave, kettle, coffee maker, fridge, and lots of dishes and cutlery.

There are many restaurants nearby, a large modern supermarket is only 2 minutes walk and major museums (Van Gogh, Rijksmuseum) are only 5 minutes by foot. It took us about 30 minutes to walk to Anne Frank House. And of course the main concert hall - the Concertgebouw, is right behind the B&B. So the location is great as all major points of interest are easily accessible yet it is not right in the heart of the city so it is nice and quiet at night. I should point out that for visitors who do not like to walk there is an excellent public transit service that will take you all over the city. It can be reached only a few steps from the B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BCtourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good welcome and perfect setting for visiting Rijks, Van Gogh and Museumplein as well window shopping,(and buying) canal walks and exploring leafy strees. Lovely family home and good breakfast to set one up for the day with many good resurants close by for evening meals. Bus and trams only a stroll away and advice on hand when needed. I'd love to return. Gillian Mollard

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were staying in this B&B. We had a lovely large room. Toilette and bathroom were on the landing, but private. It was a very good stay, of course different than in a hotel because you have no service (making up of rooms, cleaning bathroom etc). A bit on the expensive side though. There were only a couple of small things to say: the window did not open in our room. It was stuck. We had to turn off the heating because it became too hot. The owner smokes so people not liking the smell of cigarettes in the whole house should abstain. There are two lovely cats in the house, again, people allergic to cats should abstain. There was a small incidence when we were woken up at 8.30h to go to breakfast. That was not so pleasant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sibylle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had a lovely top floor room (room 2) overlooking a quiet street. The room had an en suite bathroom and access to a shared kitchen. The B&B is a lovely traditional terraced house with elegant interior. Janneke was a welcoming host and provided a great breakfast selection. The location is just behind the concert hall and minutes from the Van Gogh and Rijks Museum. It's also on the route for the airport bus, 40 minutes door to door. And close to trams into the city centre.

Room Tip: Room 2 on the top floor it was en suite, looking out the front of the building. It was up 2 flights of steep stairs.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews